Find companies:
City of Los Angeles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 reviews

City of Los Angeles Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time at City of Los Angeles, great job, great people, great ;management. However, this was a 6 month temp. assignment, I knew it would
City Clerk (Temp. position) (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 4, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime.
Cons: not full time permanant position
Arrive to work, we did something different daily, would receive our job assignment, this job is about flexibility, the management was excellent, very easy to get along with. My co-workers were awesome people, felt like a real team. Hardest part of the job would have to be the temperature of the building, cold outside, cold inside, hot outside, hot inside. – more... I love this job, if I had my choice I would have loved to stay permanently
. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the City....
Civil Engineering Associate II (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 24, 2013
Government job...what can I say. Lots of lazy people, the people who actually work are swamped because they're working for two or three other people. But the benefits are great and the pay is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Always learning new things and meeting new people.
Assistant Park Services Attendant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 20, 2013
Working at Griffith Observatory has been amazing so far. I deal with all sorts of people, especially tourist. My customer service skills have improved greatly in this place. Working here has prepared me to work in any environment just because of how much diversity there is in this place. I have learned how to work under difficult situations and not – more... panic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love the outdoors
Special Program Assistant II (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 19, 2013
Pros: it's only part time
Cons: it's only part time
This is a good place to work I have been here for 14 years. If you like the outdoors and interacting with the public you will like working for Rec and Parks.

My day starts at 6am and ends at 10 am being that I am a part-timer (only draw back). I open and prepare child care facility for use by child care staff and the children daily. I ensure the sand – more... box is free from trash and any harmful materials daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
City Craft Asst (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 14, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
- Conveyance of all new City Facility’s: Including but not limited to obtaining all necessary documentation while working in unison with various city departments in ensuring that all new City Facilities have been constructed within all City Building & Safety Rules and Regulations

- LAFD Regulation 4: Assisted with providing proper Fire Life Safety – more... maintenance for all occupied City Facilities; Including but not limited to annual LAFD Regulation 4 inspections to determine the status of any/all Fire Life Safety Systems

- Assisting with the maintenance of City wide used software; Preparing material/work requisitions, time and equipment inventory, tracking and identifying building systems, and work progress reports – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect work/life balance.
Crossing Guard (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 24, 2013
Pros: off on weekends, and holidays.
Cons: no school, no work.
Work from 7-8:30am` leave, and go do whatever I want. Come back at 2-3:30, and im done for the day. We get paid 2 extra hours every shift, so it all works out. Its a independent position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent industry to work for.
AUTO BODY/MECHANICAL REPAIRER (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 22, 2013
Pros: job was steady.
Cons: everyone makes the same salary within the job classification.
This was a great place to work for. You were rewarded for extra effort on the job. I started as an office trainee, promoted to Mechanical helper, Auto body builder, Mechanic, Welder, Supervisor, and Manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace with great co-workers
Communication Information Representative II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 29, 2013
Pros: good benefits and great co-workers
Cons: commuting so far is very overwhelming.
I really enjoyed this job working both with the public and with my co-workers. We had a pleasant and close relationship working and assisting each other daily. I enjoyed assisting the public with their important issues and dealt effectively with there needs; coordinating with other departments when necessary for the information they required. It was – more... a bit of a pressure job; but it kept you motivated and involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and straightforward workplace
Bilingual Student Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 6, 2013
Pros: lots of interaction with people
Cons: short breaks
Long hours of serious work, always maintaining a steady work pace. Allowed to take breaks when lack of voters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stable workplace
Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 28, 2013
Everyday was something new and challenging. I learned how to meet deadlines in a timely and accurate manner. I also learned how to maintain sensitive and confidential files. Working with many people from all walks of life and within every rank, I learned how to commnunicate and work well with others. Although the hardest part of my job was working in – more... a demanding environment, I learned how to handle critical and often conflicting priorities. Learning new assignments and training other employee was the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very nice place to work
Clerk Typist (in-lieu Senior Clerk Typist) (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 17, 2012
If you like your job and know how to deliver the results then it is fun workplace. I like my co-workers, they are my friends.
I enjoy coming to work my office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very helpful people that are willing to work with you
Clerk Typist (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 15, 2012
Pros: always having fund raisers
Cons: part time exempt doesnt have health care or 401k and benefits.
amazing people from different backgrounds of employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Chemist 2 (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 10, 2012
I have enjoyed my time with the City of Los Angeles, my only issues is hiring policy and people don't work as hard as some place where people are not protected by a union.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Community Administrative Support Worker (CASW11) (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 8, 2012
General administrative and support functions; Co-managed receptions desk Answering multi-line and responding to inquiries regarding the WIB and providing information or directing callers to appropriate staff; Maintaining electronic records; Creating and maintaining office files; Receiving, sorting, and distributing inter-office and U.S. mail; Preparation – more... of spreadsheets; Budget preparation and cost analysis; Contract preparation; Reviewing and processing of contractor invoices; Researching media coverage of workforce development issues; Tracking workforce development legislation; Participated in community outreach projects, assist with homework K-12 and Ensuring compliance of non-profit 501(c)(3) with all Federal and State Regulatory agencies – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been a Consultant for the past 24 years
POLA staff (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 16, 2012
Pros: awesome people
Love working on Contracts for the City of Los Angeles and Port of Los Angeles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carpenter - Construction Services
Finish Carpenter (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 23, 2012
Pros: plenty of work
Cons: didn't like crawling through fire station attics
Under supervision, my team manufactured and installed Earthquake bracing in existing fire stations around the City of Los Angeles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free environment with great management and co-workers.
Legal Clerk II (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 17, 2012
The typical day here includes data entry, calls from the public, scanning and processing documents. The work was very routine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
purductive and fun
sweeper operator/equiptment operator (Current Employee), Sunland, CASeptember 13, 2012
Pros: steady employment
Cons: respect from coe worker's qustionable
Plenty of work, equiptment top of the line, excelent service dept, lot's of comerrodery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun workplace
Student Worker (Former Employee), Wilmington, CASeptember 12, 2012
Pros: hour lunch
This job was most enjoyable, due to its friendly enviorment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, yet fun workplace with great supervisors and co-workers.
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Department of Recreation & Parks, LA KidsAugust 29, 2012
Assisted in the planning, organizing, and execution of the girls’ softball academy. Monitored, supervised and ensured the safety of children while at summer camp when expected. Learned patience, the importance of children's safety, and strengthened work ethic. Supervisors and co-workers were a pleasure to work with.