Find companies:
City of Los Angeles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
92 reviews

City of Los Angeles Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comments
Management Analyst I (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 25, 2013
Pros: benefit package, which includes not only salary, but pension, medical and dental insurance as well as other investment opportunities.
Cons: lack of career opportunities and the pay was very stagnate over the past few years.
My career with the City of Los Angeles was very positive and I really do not have anything negative to say that I have decided to make a change in careers due to personal choice. I have a wish to work at a job, which not only pays well, but offers plenty of career advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Political
Educational Coordinator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 22, 2013
It's a very easy job but you can really go out of your mind. It's very political and if you get on someone's bad side, you will be the center of conversation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a very helpedfull department
Communication Information Representative (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: great benefits and pay
Cons: very hard to move up when your stuck on a classification
Great place to start a career. Always looked forward to working with professional people. Loved the challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly place to work
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee), San Pedro, CAAugust 26, 2013
The Harbor Department helps generate a lot of revenue for the City and working there amazing. Very friendly atmosphere and the people are very helpful. Great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unjust and problematic environment workforce.
Traffic Officer II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 16, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: unjust.
Unjust working environment with unsafe working conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits and retirement
Construction Assistant/ Buyer (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 30, 2013
Buy construction materials for construction projects, create purchase orders and call vendors for best pricing. Review pricing quotes and place orders based on best pricing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and deadline driven position requiring wide knowledge of construction.
Contract Administration Inspector (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 30, 2013
Pros: great career and changing environment.
Cons: very heavy responsibility, personal liability.
I worked as a Contract Administration Inspector which entailed an extremely comprehensive knowledge of construction practices, techniques, local and state codes, as well as an ethical, authoritative quality. We were in charge of public works improvements such as paving, curb and gutter, underground pipeline placement, and large-scale municipal improvements, – more... such as civil infrastructure like Police and Fire stations.
We were the on-site eyes and mediator between the contractors and the City of Los Angeles. It was a great experience that forced me to constantly learn and improve and update my knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace, Very Professional and Organized.
Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: benefits for full time employees.
This was overalll a great place to work at. Co-workers were always very professional, friendly and productive. Everything got done in a timely manner. Every single day was enjoyable, especially because everyone worked together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Down to business
Clerk Typist (Payroll) (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: complimentary tickets for cool events
Cons: selling out to aeg
LACC is a great place to work. It's down to business here! City employment is always very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional work envornment
Clerk Typist (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 18, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I love my job!!!!
work with 2 other co-workers that are great!!!
the teamwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Security Officer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 7, 2013
I Love Working for the city of Los Angeles. Meet a lot of great people in my 13yrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Wastewater operator 11 (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 4, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: job now boring
I do alot of troubleshooting which is main function. I overlook 5 operators and their processes. Help them and write Work requests and direct trades on equipment needing repair or Lubing or other work. At Hyperion we have constant construction going on. I work with contractors and oversee their work. I make sure all workers I work with are working safe – more... and enforce and perform many safety procedures. I get along with my co-workers well. Most enjoyable part of job is the many friends made and seeing problems solved. I get along with my co-workers operators, trade people and managers really well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time at City of Los Angeles, great job, great people, great ;management. However, this was a 6 month temp. assignment, I knew it would
City Clerk (Temp. position) (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 4, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime.
Cons: not full time permanant position
Arrive to work, we did something different daily, would receive our job assignment, this job is about flexibility, the management was excellent, very easy to get along with. My co-workers were awesome people, felt like a real team. Hardest part of the job would have to be the temperature of the building, cold outside, cold inside, hot outside, hot inside. – more... I love this job, if I had my choice I would have loved to stay permanently
. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the City....
Civil Engineering Associate II (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 24, 2013
Government job...what can I say. Lots of lazy people, the people who actually work are swamped because they're working for two or three other people. But the benefits are great and the pay is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Always learning new things and meeting new people.
Assistant Park Services Attendant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 20, 2013
Working at Griffith Observatory has been amazing so far. I deal with all sorts of people, especially tourist. My customer service skills have improved greatly in this place. Working here has prepared me to work in any environment just because of how much diversity there is in this place. I have learned how to work under difficult situations and not – more... panic. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love the outdoors
Special Program Assistant II (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 19, 2013
Pros: it's only part time
Cons: it's only part time
This is a good place to work I have been here for 14 years. If you like the outdoors and interacting with the public you will like working for Rec and Parks.

My day starts at 6am and ends at 10 am being that I am a part-timer (only draw back). I open and prepare child care facility for use by child care staff and the children daily. I ensure the sand – more... box is free from trash and any harmful materials daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
City Craft Asst (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 14, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
- Conveyance of all new City Facility’s: Including but not limited to obtaining all necessary documentation while working in unison with various city departments in ensuring that all new City Facilities have been constructed within all City Building & Safety Rules and Regulations

- LAFD Regulation 4: Assisted with providing proper Fire Life Safety – more... maintenance for all occupied City Facilities; Including but not limited to annual LAFD Regulation 4 inspections to determine the status of any/all Fire Life Safety Systems

- Assisting with the maintenance of City wide used software; Preparing material/work requisitions, time and equipment inventory, tracking and identifying building systems, and work progress reports – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect work/life balance.
Crossing Guard (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 24, 2013
Pros: off on weekends, and holidays.
Cons: no school, no work.
Work from 7-8:30am` leave, and go do whatever I want. Come back at 2-3:30, and im done for the day. We get paid 2 extra hours every shift, so it all works out. Its a independent position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent industry to work for.
AUTO BODY/MECHANICAL REPAIRER (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 22, 2013
Pros: job was steady.
Cons: everyone makes the same salary within the job classification.
This was a great place to work for. You were rewarded for extra effort on the job. I started as an office trainee, promoted to Mechanical helper, Auto body builder, Mechanic, Welder, Supervisor, and Manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace with great co-workers
Communication Information Representative II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 29, 2013
Pros: good benefits and great co-workers
Cons: commuting so far is very overwhelming.
I really enjoyed this job working both with the public and with my co-workers. We had a pleasant and close relationship working and assisting each other daily. I enjoyed assisting the public with their important issues and dealt effectively with there needs; coordinating with other departments when necessary for the information they required. It was – more... a bit of a pressure job; but it kept you motivated and involved. – less