Find companies:
City of Los Angeles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
82 reviews

City of Los Angeles Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun workplace
Student Worker (Former Employee), Wilmington, CASeptember 12, 2012
Pros: hour lunch
This job was most enjoyable, due to its friendly enviorment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, yet fun workplace with great supervisors and co-workers.
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Department of Recreation & Parks, LA KidsAugust 29, 2012
Assisted in the planning, organizing, and execution of the girls’ softball academy. Monitored, supervised and ensured the safety of children while at summer camp when expected. Learned patience, the importance of children's safety, and strengthened work ethic. Supervisors and co-workers were a pleasure to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recreation Center
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 29, 2012
Cons: lack of hours
A typical day at work consist of office work, including phone calls, payments for various recreation activities. Depending on the season or day I may work after school programs, day car camps, and classes. My co-working provide a enjoyable environment for everyone to work with. The hardest part of my job is also the most enjoyable because we aim to – more... satisfy the patrons and their children that they leave in our hands to mold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Carpenter Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 21, 2012
its a government job excellent pay, benefits. scheduling was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work full of diversity.
Clerk-Typist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 24, 2012
Productive place to work full of diverse, colorful personalities. Endless opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in proffesional environmet
Intern Architect (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 19, 2012
- working as volunteer
-working full time at beginning and changed to part time up to last year
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ONE BIG FAMILY!!!
Animal License Cancasser (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2012
Pros: we went to lunch anywhere!!!!!
Cons: be laid off and city had no other place for us to go.
A typical as a Canvasser was good. I get to work before 7:00am, we

map out the areawe going to canvass, I(we)walk house to house, block by block informing pets owners about animal lisence or tags, Share information on low cost spay/neuter, collect fee license, just enjoy meeting new people
I've learned how to communicate with all difference kind of – more... peoples
I really love working unsupervised, my coworker are the best, we all were one big happy family, the hardest about the work the weather, it was really hot or raining, i really can't say the most enjoyable part of the because I enjoyed it all – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Place to Work
SENIOR CLERK TYPIST (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 9, 2012
Pros: schedule flexibilty, open door policy of upper managment!
Cons: hard but productive work...
If you like helping people this is the place to work. It can be a challenge with shrinking dollars but at the end of the day you go home knowing that what you've done that day is nothing short of a miracle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall enjoyable.
Communications Operator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 3, 2012
Pros: great training for ladwp.
Cons: four floors underground, no daylight, repetative job.
Four floors underground across from the 911 systems, this office was a great change from my job in retail. I was expected to answer the phone in a timely manner and provide the citizens correct information as to which City office they needed, and the phone number to it. I also was trained to use the Radio dispatch unit to dispatch Trash, Traffic Signal – more... Repair, and Animal Regulations. Police and Fire support unit, so I spoke to many officers and firefighters, as well as the mayor and city council. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, secure work environment
Project Coordinator/Environmental Scientist (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 19, 2012
Good, secure work environment

Great section to work for.

Great hands-on experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with a great environment to learn
Project Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 1, 2012
Pros: working and interacting with my co-workers
Cons: the cafeteria and career opportunity for advancement is stalemate
Overall I enjoy my day of work. I enjoy the projects that I work on as well as working with my co-workers. I get the chance to go out in the field and learn the practical knowledge that I need to learn as well as working from the office to work on the administrative detail. The challenging aspect about the job are interacting with different personalities – more... and different opinions but from that challenge, it has also been the most enjoyable because it has allowed me to learn an abundance of tremendous information – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a lovely park
Recreation Assistant II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 31, 2012
A typical day at work consisted of making bank deposits for the previous day, updating the mailing list, answering phones, and talking to public. I learned how a staffed recreational park runs along with a summer camp. My manager and co-workers were amazing and so helpful. The hardest part of my job was keeping updated on new park regulations since – more... I only worked there during my summer break while in high school. The most enjoyable part of my job was simply going to work everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing surprised you here.
Supervisor/Senior Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 30, 2012
I have learned so much from this Department it has given me the knowledge I need to in order to advance my career. Every day was a new day each it came with its own problems and tasks. I was lucky to have had the honor to work with so many professional and amazing people over the years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place to Work
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Branford st, Pacoima CA, 91311May 29, 2012
Responsibilities include supervising sports leagues. Providing Customer Service and answering patron’s questions and resolving conflict. Setting up summer day camp for children ages 5-12 years and planning their day to day activities. Involved in budgeting, staffing and organizing weekly field trips for day camp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Senior Clerk Typist (Former Employee), los angeles, caMay 18, 2012
Pros: great pay
Cons: budget problems
great people
great schedules
great pay
great benefit

i learned customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
programmer analyst (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 14, 2012
Pros: friendly
Cons: traveling
enjoyable, good people and hard work. management were fair but always changing, after 30 years a few things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and highly interactive with business associates in the field.
Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 2, 2012
Pros: working outside, interacting with business associates on-site, p.r.
Cons: the pay
On average my day would begin by clocking in first then proceeding with my daily errands throughout Los Angeles County. I have learned how to be interactive within communities that make up Los Angeles County and I also expanded my public relation skill set. The hardest part of the job was fighting horrible Los Angeles traffic to drop off packages. As – more... far as the most enjoyable part of the job would be actually doing my job efficiently and professionally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work, great benefits, retirement
Quality Control Analyst (Former Employee), Sun Valley, NVApril 28, 2012
Pros: great benefits, retirment, fun place, day care available thru company
Cons: long hours of work needing overtime
Typical lab work, learned and improved laboratory, communication skills, great manager and coworkers of dicerse cutural background, hardest part was long hours of overtime, enjoyed all tasks of lab operation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The City of LA was a pleasant place to work.
Accounting Clerk II/Asst. Supervisor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CaApril 17, 2012
Pros: good benefits and pay.
Cons: difficult to promote after a certain level.
I had three different positions with the City of Los Angeles. Clerk Typist, Accounting Clerk I and Accounting Clerk II. I worked in the City Controller's Office in the Voluntary Benefits dept. as a Clerk Typist. I promoted to Public Works, Bureau of Accounting, Payroll dept. as an Accounting Clerk I. I was promoted back to the City Controller's Office – more... in the Voluntary Benefits dept. as an Accounting Clerk II. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working
Wastewater Treatment Operator III (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 21, 2012
Progressive, help in personal development, excellent Health, penson, vacation benefit