Find companies:
City of Los Angeles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

City of Los Angeles Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been a Consultant for the past 24 years
POLA staff (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 16, 2012
Pros: awesome people
Love working on Contracts for the City of Los Angeles and Port of Los Angeles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carpenter - Construction Services
Finish Carpenter (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 23, 2012
Pros: plenty of work
Cons: didn't like crawling through fire station attics
Under supervision, my team manufactured and installed Earthquake bracing in existing fire stations around the City of Los Angeles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free environment with great management and co-workers.
Legal Clerk II (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 17, 2012
The typical day here includes data entry, calls from the public, scanning and processing documents. The work was very routine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
purductive and fun
sweeper operator/equiptment operator (Current Employee), Sunland, CASeptember 13, 2012
Pros: steady employment
Cons: respect from coe worker's qustionable
Plenty of work, equiptment top of the line, excelent service dept, lot's of comerrodery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun workplace
Student Worker (Former Employee), Wilmington, CASeptember 12, 2012
Pros: hour lunch
This job was most enjoyable, due to its friendly enviorment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, yet fun workplace with great supervisors and co-workers.
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Department of Recreation & Parks, LA KidsAugust 29, 2012
Assisted in the planning, organizing, and execution of the girls’ softball academy. Monitored, supervised and ensured the safety of children while at summer camp when expected. Learned patience, the importance of children's safety, and strengthened work ethic. Supervisors and co-workers were a pleasure to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recreation Center
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 29, 2012
Cons: lack of hours
A typical day at work consist of office work, including phone calls, payments for various recreation activities. Depending on the season or day I may work after school programs, day car camps, and classes. My co-working provide a enjoyable environment for everyone to work with. The hardest part of my job is also the most enjoyable because we aim to – more... satisfy the patrons and their children that they leave in our hands to mold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Carpenter Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 21, 2012
its a government job excellent pay, benefits. scheduling was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work full of diversity.
Clerk-Typist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 24, 2012
Productive place to work full of diverse, colorful personalities. Endless opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in proffesional environmet
Intern Architect (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 19, 2012
- working as volunteer
-working full time at beginning and changed to part time up to last year
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ONE BIG FAMILY!!!
Animal License Cancasser (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2012
Pros: we went to lunch anywhere!!!!!
Cons: be laid off and city had no other place for us to go.
A typical as a Canvasser was good. I get to work before 7:00am, we

map out the areawe going to canvass, I(we)walk house to house, block by block informing pets owners about animal lisence or tags, Share information on low cost spay/neuter, collect fee license, just enjoy meeting new people
I've learned how to communicate with all difference kind of – more... peoples
I really love working unsupervised, my coworker are the best, we all were one big happy family, the hardest about the work the weather, it was really hot or raining, i really can't say the most enjoyable part of the because I enjoyed it all – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Place to Work
SENIOR CLERK TYPIST (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 9, 2012
Pros: schedule flexibilty, open door policy of upper managment!
Cons: hard but productive work...
If you like helping people this is the place to work. It can be a challenge with shrinking dollars but at the end of the day you go home knowing that what you've done that day is nothing short of a miracle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall enjoyable.
Communications Operator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 3, 2012
Pros: great training for ladwp.
Cons: four floors underground, no daylight, repetative job.
Four floors underground across from the 911 systems, this office was a great change from my job in retail. I was expected to answer the phone in a timely manner and provide the citizens correct information as to which City office they needed, and the phone number to it. I also was trained to use the Radio dispatch unit to dispatch Trash, Traffic Signal – more... Repair, and Animal Regulations. Police and Fire support unit, so I spoke to many officers and firefighters, as well as the mayor and city council. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, secure work environment
Project Coordinator/Environmental Scientist (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 19, 2012
Good, secure work environment

Great section to work for.

Great hands-on experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with a great environment to learn
Project Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 1, 2012
Pros: working and interacting with my co-workers
Cons: the cafeteria and career opportunity for advancement is stalemate
Overall I enjoy my day of work. I enjoy the projects that I work on as well as working with my co-workers. I get the chance to go out in the field and learn the practical knowledge that I need to learn as well as working from the office to work on the administrative detail. The challenging aspect about the job are interacting with different personalities – more... and different opinions but from that challenge, it has also been the most enjoyable because it has allowed me to learn an abundance of tremendous information – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a lovely park
Recreation Assistant II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 31, 2012
A typical day at work consisted of making bank deposits for the previous day, updating the mailing list, answering phones, and talking to public. I learned how a staffed recreational park runs along with a summer camp. My manager and co-workers were amazing and so helpful. The hardest part of my job was keeping updated on new park regulations since – more... I only worked there during my summer break while in high school. The most enjoyable part of my job was simply going to work everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing surprised you here.
Supervisor/Senior Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 30, 2012
I have learned so much from this Department it has given me the knowledge I need to in order to advance my career. Every day was a new day each it came with its own problems and tasks. I was lucky to have had the honor to work with so many professional and amazing people over the years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place to Work
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Branford st, Pacoima CA, 91311May 29, 2012
Responsibilities include supervising sports leagues. Providing Customer Service and answering patron’s questions and resolving conflict. Setting up summer day camp for children ages 5-12 years and planning their day to day activities. Involved in budgeting, staffing and organizing weekly field trips for day camp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Senior Clerk Typist (Former Employee), los angeles, caMay 18, 2012
Pros: great pay
Cons: budget problems
great people
great schedules
great pay
great benefit

i learned customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
programmer analyst (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 14, 2012
Pros: friendly
Cons: traveling
enjoyable, good people and hard work. management were fair but always changing, after 30 years a few things