Find companies:
City of Los Angeles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
93 reviews

City of Los Angeles Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace with great co-workers
Communication Information Representative II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 29, 2013
Pros: good benefits and great co-workers
Cons: commuting so far is very overwhelming.
I really enjoyed this job working both with the public and with my co-workers. We had a pleasant and close relationship working and assisting each other daily. I enjoyed assisting the public with their important issues and dealt effectively with there needs; coordinating with other departments when necessary for the information they required. It was – more... a bit of a pressure job; but it kept you motivated and involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and straightforward workplace
Bilingual Student Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 6, 2013
Pros: lots of interaction with people
Cons: short breaks
Long hours of serious work, always maintaining a steady work pace. Allowed to take breaks when lack of voters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stable workplace
Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 28, 2013
Everyday was something new and challenging. I learned how to meet deadlines in a timely and accurate manner. I also learned how to maintain sensitive and confidential files. Working with many people from all walks of life and within every rank, I learned how to commnunicate and work well with others. Although the hardest part of my job was working in – more... a demanding environment, I learned how to handle critical and often conflicting priorities. Learning new assignments and training other employee was the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very nice place to work
Clerk Typist (in-lieu Senior Clerk Typist) (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 17, 2012
If you like your job and know how to deliver the results then it is fun workplace. I like my co-workers, they are my friends.
I enjoy coming to work my office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very helpful people that are willing to work with you
Clerk Typist (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 15, 2012
Pros: always having fund raisers
Cons: part time exempt doesnt have health care or 401k and benefits.
amazing people from different backgrounds of employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Chemist 2 (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 10, 2012
I have enjoyed my time with the City of Los Angeles, my only issues is hiring policy and people don't work as hard as some place where people are not protected by a union.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Community Administrative Support Worker (CASW11) (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 8, 2012
General administrative and support functions; Co-managed receptions desk Answering multi-line and responding to inquiries regarding the WIB and providing information or directing callers to appropriate staff; Maintaining electronic records; Creating and maintaining office files; Receiving, sorting, and distributing inter-office and U.S. mail; Preparation – more... of spreadsheets; Budget preparation and cost analysis; Contract preparation; Reviewing and processing of contractor invoices; Researching media coverage of workforce development issues; Tracking workforce development legislation; Participated in community outreach projects, assist with homework K-12 and Ensuring compliance of non-profit 501(c)(3) with all Federal and State Regulatory agencies – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been a Consultant for the past 24 years
POLA staff (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 16, 2012
Pros: awesome people
Love working on Contracts for the City of Los Angeles and Port of Los Angeles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carpenter - Construction Services
Finish Carpenter (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 23, 2012
Pros: plenty of work
Cons: didn't like crawling through fire station attics
Under supervision, my team manufactured and installed Earthquake bracing in existing fire stations around the City of Los Angeles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free environment with great management and co-workers.
Legal Clerk II (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 17, 2012
The typical day here includes data entry, calls from the public, scanning and processing documents. The work was very routine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
purductive and fun
sweeper operator/equiptment operator (Current Employee), Sunland, CASeptember 13, 2012
Pros: steady employment
Cons: respect from coe worker's qustionable
Plenty of work, equiptment top of the line, excelent service dept, lot's of comerrodery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun workplace
Student Worker (Former Employee), Wilmington, CASeptember 12, 2012
Pros: hour lunch
This job was most enjoyable, due to its friendly enviorment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, yet fun workplace with great supervisors and co-workers.
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Department of Recreation & Parks, LA KidsAugust 29, 2012
Assisted in the planning, organizing, and execution of the girls’ softball academy. Monitored, supervised and ensured the safety of children while at summer camp when expected. Learned patience, the importance of children's safety, and strengthened work ethic. Supervisors and co-workers were a pleasure to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recreation Center
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 29, 2012
Cons: lack of hours
A typical day at work consist of office work, including phone calls, payments for various recreation activities. Depending on the season or day I may work after school programs, day car camps, and classes. My co-working provide a enjoyable environment for everyone to work with. The hardest part of my job is also the most enjoyable because we aim to – more... satisfy the patrons and their children that they leave in our hands to mold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Carpenter Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 21, 2012
its a government job excellent pay, benefits. scheduling was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work full of diversity.
Clerk-Typist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 24, 2012
Productive place to work full of diverse, colorful personalities. Endless opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in proffesional environmet
Intern Architect (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 19, 2012
- working as volunteer
-working full time at beginning and changed to part time up to last year
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ONE BIG FAMILY!!!
Animal License Cancasser (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2012
Pros: we went to lunch anywhere!!!!!
Cons: be laid off and city had no other place for us to go.
A typical as a Canvasser was good. I get to work before 7:00am, we

map out the areawe going to canvass, I(we)walk house to house, block by block informing pets owners about animal lisence or tags, Share information on low cost spay/neuter, collect fee license, just enjoy meeting new people
I've learned how to communicate with all difference kind of – more... peoples
I really love working unsupervised, my coworker are the best, we all were one big happy family, the hardest about the work the weather, it was really hot or raining, i really can't say the most enjoyable part of the because I enjoyed it all – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Place to Work
SENIOR CLERK TYPIST (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 9, 2012
Pros: schedule flexibilty, open door policy of upper managment!
Cons: hard but productive work...
If you like helping people this is the place to work. It can be a challenge with shrinking dollars but at the end of the day you go home knowing that what you've done that day is nothing short of a miracle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall enjoyable.
Communications Operator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 3, 2012
Pros: great training for ladwp.
Cons: four floors underground, no daylight, repetative job.
Four floors underground across from the 911 systems, this office was a great change from my job in retail. I was expected to answer the phone in a timely manner and provide the citizens correct information as to which City office they needed, and the phone number to it. I also was trained to use the Radio dispatch unit to dispatch Trash, Traffic Signal – more... Repair, and Animal Regulations. Police and Fire support unit, so I spoke to many officers and firefighters, as well as the mayor and city council. – less