Find companies:
CITY OF MEMPHIS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

CITY OF MEMPHIS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently a city in turmoil.
Police Officer (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 26, 2014
I use to love working for the citizens of Memphis. No matter what the day brought, I looked forward to the next. The current political climate has destroyed the morale of the Police Officers and Firefighters. I will be retiring October 2014.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in my Life
Grant Specialist (Current Employee), Memphis TNMay 17, 2014
Cons: pension plans, no incremental raises.
My day begins with deciding the order of the tasks that I must accomplish for the day. I have learned about Grants compliance, claim reimbursements and the ins and outs of the "Grant World".The management in my office is a remarkable person with so much knowledge concerning Grants. My co-workers are good people who perform their jobs to the best of – more... their abilities. The hardest part of my job is all the research that I do on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I find the missing link and "Bingo" have solved the problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Saving & Public Education
Fire Suppression Specialist (Current Employee), Memphis, TNApril 3, 2014
Pros: several days off
Cons: continuous loss of benefits
24 hours, 3 days a week work schedule
Public interaction and public service provider
High impact work environment
Repetitive heavy lifting
Fast paced work environment
Life changing opportunities
Teaching opportunities
Hazardous work environments
Work in both in and outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loveable job
First Class Steam/Refrigeration Operator (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 24, 2014
Not sure which direction the City will be going to in the next 10 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Escrow Analyst (Current Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 18, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
*Review Portfolio Accounts
*Perform Check Request
*Perform all monetary disbursements
*Transact all Automated Payments
*Balance Receivables
*Communicate with Clients
*Collect outstanding funds
*Communicate with 3rd parties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Accounting Intern (Current Employee), Memphis,TNMarch 11, 2014
A typical day at work is fulfilling my duties each day. I learned more about grants and general accounting aspects. There are times when we have events pertaining to the city and or discounts to games and other entertainment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I.T. contractor
PC support technician Level 2 (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMarch 1, 2014
Pros: able to use skills to benefit a large organization
Cons: culture of little advancement
• Remote PC administration: Windows XP / Win7 – various management tools.
• V.O.I.P. telephone service including Memphis Police, Military, Fire Department..
• Solving issues with modems, scanners, cameras, digital imaging, graphics and all types of electronic and communications hardware and software.
• Active Directory administration and Group policy – more... (GPO) tools.
• Technical end user training and high-level support: multiple mass upgrades and re-imaging government/industrial systems with 100% data integrity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place learned alot and met a lot of people
General Sessions Clerk (Former Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: meeting people
making jackets for jail inmates filing them in the proper places
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Security
Administration / Clerical (Former Employee), Memphis, TNFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: all holidays off
Cons: no ot
This was one of the best Jobs that I've ever had. The people were great and I never had to worry about job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Employment Analyst/Police (Current Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 3, 2013
It is a pleasure to work for the City of Memphis. You can go any where in the organization with your skill set.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and quiet workplace. With very friendly co-workers.
Receptionist/Secretary/Customer Service (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 29, 2013
Pros: good bonuses.
Cons: better management skills
Answering inbound calls from different citizens of Memphis about their garbage services. I learned different and easier ways to use Microsoft Office. The hardest part of the job was dealing real mad customers when it nothing I can do without calling management. If I could solve every problem with out management I would have loved that. The most enjoyable – more... day was ending such productive work day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
PROPERTY AND EVIDENCE ROOM ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 24, 2013
typical day at work was coming in tagging evidence and interacting with a large variety of people.
i learned how to be patient, what certain drugs were and what they looked like, i learned more about a police officers' job and the different things they experienced, how to tag evidence, and what kind of people were in the City of Memphis (criminal wise).
my – more... supervisors were friendly. they did not make it seem like they were superior to me. they got on a more personal and friendly level with everyone.
my coworkers were great. we all enjoyed working together. we knew when to work and when we could joke around.
the hardest part was learning all the details that go with the job.
and i cant really name a specific enjoyable part. i loved everything about my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High speed work environment, but beneficial.
Community Redevelopment Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 20, 2013
Pros: the company offered employee incentives; and secure work environment.
Cons: there was not a lot of room for career growth in the my department.
The work environment was very beneficial. I enjoyed working on projects with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy position
Lab Analyst (Former Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 9, 2013
This position had very long in between down time. I mostly enjoyed coworkers but the laid back position was a little boring to a teenager and early twenty-something. Unfortunately I should have stayed but I did not realize the benefits and regret the decision to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joyful work enviroment
Police Officer (Current Employee), memphis, tnNovember 2, 2013
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: short breaks
I love the job. It is a really great place to work. The benefits are excellent and the leadership is caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and accommodating.
Secretary (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 25, 2013
The people I worked with on this job were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my time working in the program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Service Technician
Field Services Technician (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: understanding how local goverment works.
Cons: lack of benefits.
I was a great experience working for the City of Memphis. I wear many hats at this job. A typical day will involve trouble shooting laptops, desktops, and printers. Remoting in to users systems and resolving tickets. Mangement is revolving door in this enviroment. As soon as relationship the hierarchy would change. I did enjoy meeting the many different – more... people involved in this job. Co-worker are great, could not work around a better bunch. The hardest part for me is to say no to someone important asking me to work on something that is beyond my scope of work. The most enjoyable part of my job is the interaction with all the different entities and people that make up Information Services. Also gaining the knowledge from all specialized groups. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Golf Foreman (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 12, 2013
Pros: good team work
Cons: no overtime, loss of sick time
I was a foreman and worked at three city courses. I worked for the city for 28 years. I was called on by management personnel to assist other managers. I was on call for seven days a week for 28 years. The hardest part was accepting the fact that I was not paid a salary that compensated for the work and time I put in. I was never given an explanation – more... on why I was unable to reach top pay in my area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Government & Network
Workforce Investment Network Employee (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 4, 2013
Pros: holidays, vacation and sick days and bonus days, network
Cons: compensation and very political
Government
Broad Network with all companies in Shelby Co. & Fayette Co.
Business Partnership with Greater Memphis Chamber, State of TN, and local education systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The City of Memphis is a very challenging government to work for.
Vehicle Examiner (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 1, 2013
Pros: caring supervisor, cleanliness, flexiblilty
Cons: not knowing who you would meet next.
I had the opportunity to meet many people with different nationalitis and back grounds. This allowed me to adapt to others cultures. The hardest part of my job was adapting to the weather.

1 2 3

About CITY OF MEMPHIS

The City of Memphis now offers a tax freeze program for eligible senior citizens age 65 or older. Find out information about eligibility – Read more