City of Miami Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
about the city of miami
Recreation Aide (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 27, 2016
well this is the first job that I ever inquired I started off as a volunteer then moved up the latter slowly but surely, the city of Miami allowed me to learn and progress before they had given me a professional position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends which department you work in
Public Facilities Representative (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 30, 2016
i worked in public facilities, there was a lot of down time during the week. but on the weekend the marina was packed. the boat owners were friendly for the most part.
Pros
great location
Cons
th epay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding working place for me because I love the work.
Parks Recreation, Park Manager (Current Employee) –  city of Miami ,FlJune 20, 2016
Very good service provider, that meets the needs of it's patrons. As we are open to community to help improve our day to day operation.While always seeking ways to better our self.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cancer is not your friend
Sr. Forensic Auditor (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLMay 4, 2016
I survived breast cancer and had it not been for this organization, I probably would not be typing this right now. Watching fellow cancer victims pass away was heart wrenching at times but to see a survivor end cancer treatments was the reward.
Pros
Courage under fire
Cons
Seeing cancer patients evolve into the next world
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Miami
Law Clerk (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 9, 2016
As an intern, they were flexible with hours so that I could balance school and working. I definitely recommend working here for great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and a fun place to work.
Law Clerk (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 12, 2016
The City of Miami City Attorney's Office is a great place to work. Management respects all of its employees. The atmosphere is fun yet professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration is worse than high school
Litigation Assistant Office of the City Attorney (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 8, 2016
Don't waste your time. There is no stability and the benefits are sparse compared to the amount of time and work required. Especially when you can work some where else and be paid what you're worth.
Pros
None
Cons
No stability. Horrible morale. Low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Litigation Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 28, 2016
Enjoyed the work and the people. As a new company, was given an opportunity to assist with implementation and development of deceptive sales program.

Except for management's engagement in unhealthy team competition, co-workers were great. Still keep in touch with co-workers to date.

Hardest part of the job was the bureaucracy.

Helping customers and living up to the company's brand in the mind of customers was the most enjoyable part of my job. Knowing that I helped play a part in rescuing the customer for consumer fraud was rewarding.
Pros
Great food, emphasis on health
Cons
Management engage in retaliation and HR not very supportive or protective of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small company owner's farm
Budget Analyst (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 6, 2016
Review drawings,
Email communications, meeting, shop visit.
Management not so great
Co workers great most of them
hardest part of job dealing with small company frame of mind
Inspections with client to meet tight deadline and deliver product
Pros
wider scope of things
Cons
jack of all trays master of non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and amazing
Summer Worker (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 2, 2015
Working at the city of Miami was so much fun and working was easy and the day when by fast. And the pay was amazing also. All I had to do was make copies and file. Only because I was a summer worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working with the kids.
Recreational Aide 1 Leader (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 6, 2015
On a typical at my job I get to meet different type of people, teach the kids new things, learn and teach my co-workers new games for the kids. The hardest part about my job is that its part time so I cant do more of what I love. the most enjoyable part is seeing the look in the kids face when they get the right answer or win a game.
Pros
affordale care
Cons
no transportation to get the kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Recreation Aide III (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 18, 2015
The Job was a temporary position which lasted only for two months.The park manager and my co workers were very helpful and would always be there for me when I needed there assistance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with a ping pong table and basketball courts
Park Counselor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 4, 2015
Supervision of children in after-school care; assist with homework; supervise and monitor games and activities; take attendance; monitor pickups at the end of the day and keep park building neat and tidy; assist with copying and filing, answer phones.
I learned how to be responsible and how to be a exceptional guardian.
The management staff was respectful and responsible.
I enjoyed working with the other park counselors and we enjoyed spending time with them.
The hardest part was leaving the park for the day.
The most enjoyable part of the job was spending time with the kids and counselors
Pros
Free snacks, flexible hours
Cons
Leaving everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Senior Clerk (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 29, 2015
Fun place to work,good co-workers everyone gets along , a secure place to work at,the hours are grate,easy to leran your job and the things you do the job site is nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Miami, OKMarch 8, 2015
I worked at the incinerator when it was active. the benefits were awesome. MY job was rough and hot sometimes. we processed and burned garbage.
Pros
the fellow employees
Cons
i worked with garbage, very stinky, and dirty
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employment and benefits.
Adminstration Assistant to Director (Former Employee) –  Downwtown MiamiFebruary 18, 2015
Technical and management positions requiring a great deal of flexibility and collaboration. Excellent experience, great staff and environment.
Pros
icentives
Cons
long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting seeing under the carpet of Miami life.
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 24, 2014
I enjoyed the academy while in training. Found the actual job to be not suited to me. Too many surprises and uncertainty.
This is a job for a big man, not a 5'4" woman.
Pros
excellent learning experience.
Cons
long shifts, court appearances, too much for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would go back
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 17, 2014
If our family lived in Miami, we would go back. But with a kid, it's just not going to cut it. Pay sucked because of the pay freezes and cuts but it was fun. Loved being a PO there, great co-workers but there are a lot of shady people in management. (Many of them have pending investigations on them). No wonder people don't trust police officers there, but that being said it was a good place, great memories.
Pros
everything except pay
Cons
pay and shady co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Collection Clerk (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 6, 2014
I love my job and I love helping others. My job is to provide and make sure my customers leave with a healthy smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different and interesting
Bayfront Park Mgmt. Trust - Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 6, 2014
Over all an excellent company to work for. Meet famous artist, different events every week, always renovating or managing a different project.
Pros
great environment
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.0
Culture
4.0

City of Miami Reviews by Location