Find companies:
City of Oakland
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

City of Oakland Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be stressful but at same time fun
Parking Enforcement Officer (Former Employee), OaklandJuly 15, 2014
riding around giving parking tickets. Needs to work on things with union to get the department back on track
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Administrative assistant II (Current Employee), Oakland, CAMay 1, 2014
I like working for the City, it is a great place to work.
Management is fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture and good experience with enter the work field.
RECREATIONAL LEADER I (Current Employee), Montclair, CAJanuary 27, 2014
I have loved working for the City of Oakland for the last 7 years. Its great to have a hands on approach to help raise the future of Oakland, a great and prosperous city within America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Sports Official PT (Current Employee), Oakland C.A.October 5, 2013
Pros: see review
Cons: see review
Part time working for a city can be very complicated not because of the pay. 18.50 hour is above average; however, the hours that are given are not acceptable for an adult who is looking to pay off school and afford mortgage/rent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well known large company to work for and gain experience with
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Oakland, CAOctober 3, 2013
Pros: several job promotions. great pay, great benefits, a lot of knowledge gained
Cons: lay offs
Our all the company is a all around decent company. There are many departments which make up the company so it is a lot of team work that goes into keeping such a large and relevant house hold name a float. The co-workers I worked with were nice people, but the managing team for that particular department was sometimes difficult to work for. The positive – more... thing is that you learned a lot, this department did promote a lot and if you were fortunate enough to dodge the lay offs then it was great job stability and benefits. The hardest part was the work related stress that came from those in superior positions as well as the "not knowing" if I will be working today and laid off tomorrow environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Summer Job
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Oakland, CASeptember 27, 2013
Pros: friendly staff ennviroment
Cons: constantly in the sun
The most enjoyable part of the job is being in the sun and by the pool. The hardest part is when it gets too hot and the pool gets overpacked with people. the job taught me important responsibilities that slacking off will results in patrons getting injured.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A grate place to work with a nice recording studio
Master Control Operator (Former Employee), Oakland ca.August 28, 2013
Pros: lots of over time
Cons: the city of oakland just did not know how to apply budgets.
My job was to record video over the air.Every day i learned a different posistion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empowering work place for recreators
Recreation Leader (Current Employee), Oakland, CAJuly 12, 2013
High level of engagement with the community and youth. Great opportunity to contribute to the eff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not alot guaranteed hour for Partime
Recreational leader 1 (Former Employee), Oakland CAJuly 5, 2013
Sometime i had good hours sometimes i had 5 hours a week.
The best part of the job was that i got speed alot of time helping children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Paid Internship (Former Employee), Oakland, CAMay 18, 2013
Pros: coworkers are helpful
Cons: tasks are routine
Filing, Making labels, Maintained Files

Coworkers helpful

Tasks are manageble
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a summer job
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Oakland, CAJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: everything!!!
Cons: n/a
I had a great time working at The City of Oakland there is nothing bad i can say about this job. I learned sooo much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmentally concious workplace with innovative ideas.
Environmental Services Clerk (Current Employee), Oakland, CANovember 20, 2012
Most of my day consists of answering the City of Oakland's recycling hotline, data entry and staff support. I have learned about the major impact waste and recycling has on the environment. The management is helpful and organized. Most of the office works with little supervision. The hardest part of the job is event organizing when it is prepared at – more... the last minute by the organizer. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that i am helping educate residents on recycling practices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace and Professional
Public Service Representative (Former Employee), Oakland, CAOctober 14, 2012
This employer values their employees. You are exposed to various elements as a part of your duties and a rich city demographics. If you're willing to learn, they are willing to teach you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PERS Retirement
Human Resources Analyst (Current Employee), Oakland, CAOctober 3, 2012
Pros: public transportation
Cons: furloughs, morale, security
Currently having mandatory shut down days = 20% paycut. HR has been cut by over 50% in staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discount on phone bill for working at the city of oakland
Fire Suppression Inspector (Former Employee), Oakland, CAJuly 13, 2012
Pros: discounts that come with the job
Cons: no medical benefits
Start the day with 35+ phone calls customer service is really important in this job. After that is off to the streets to take on the 50 inspections for the day. After 25 inspection I report back to manger to check in. The support system amoung my co-workers couldn't be any better evryone helps each other.The hardest part of my job is making good decision – more... when it comes to the gray area of the law. The most enjoyable part of my job is the community contact dealing with the public – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, co-workers were great
Custodian (Former Employee), Oakland, CAJune 18, 2012
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: no room for advancement with company
Fun place to work everyone was great hours were flexible, but pay was not good and no room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Redevelopment Agceny was great to work for - learned a lot
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Oakland,June 4, 2012
Pros: working with great dedicated people
Cons: higher administration
I would still be working for the City of Oakland - Redevelopment Agency but the governor of CA eliminated all Redevelopment Agencies in the State of CA. Working for the Redevelopment Agecny was great. I loved the work and the people I worked with. I worked as an executive assistant for the Director of the Redevelopment Agency and we had a great working – more... relationship.
As I did with other staff members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoy my job
Recreation Leader I (Current Employee), Oakland, CAMay 11, 2012
Pros: they provide lots of activities for kids, such as dance and art classes
Cons: no full- time work available
Great place to work. The hours are just limited. co- workers are easy to get along with, and work as a team. The hardest part is dealing with un-happy people. when they come to the shows late and their seats are taken.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pruductive workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Oakland, CaliforniaMarch 13, 2012
Pros: flixible schedule
Cons: no job security
Civil serivice. Diverse. Working with inner city children. Non-profit. Good Part-time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Recreation Leader PT 1 (Former Employee), Oakland, CAFebruary 13, 2012
Having the opportunity to work with children is always fun. I loved this job I had amazing co-workers and a supervisors. The hours were flexible while I was in college and I worked with wonderful people.