City of Olathe Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS 66061March 17, 2016
been gainfully employed for over 5 years good benefits and pay. I mostly enjoy working with my coworkers and definitely appreciate the comradery.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, if your single
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  City of OlatheDecember 7, 2012
Good place to work if your SINGLE. Good pay, however with the economy there is a pay freeze with no raises for several years. Good insurance. Can be fun at times. BUT If you have a family you can expect a very high divorce rate, no family time during the holidays and weekends, several midnight shifts, a very long time before you get good days off and forced overtime. You can also count on alot of stress, constant micro managing from your supervisors, citizen complaints, politics affecting your decissions, monday quarterbacking from your co-workers and the trouble of balancing your personal life. I guess if you can handle it then go for it, but its not for everyone.
Pros
ok pay/benefits, independent work, being outside
Cons
balancing family/personal life, shift work and management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Olathe
Assistant HR/Risk Management Director (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KSFebruary 26, 2015
Decent benefits. No worklife balance.

Management needs training and coaching on how to manage people.

The onsite clinic is a definite benefit.
Pros
on site clinic
Cons
culture
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work with a great group but management changes are taking place
Senior Desktop Technician (Current Employee) –  100 W Sante Fe, Olathe, KS 66061October 30, 2015
Our group works well together and help each other when needed. The new manager has seperated us and is very hush hush.

We miss being on the ball and knowing what each other are doing and being able to step in when needed.
Pros
Great city and great customers
Cons
Long drive and some times no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work with fun events for employees.
Revenue Clerk (Former Employee) –  100 W. Santa FeFebruary 16, 2012
The City of Olathe was a great place to work when I was employed there. My boss and supervisor's were easy to talk to, and they had morning meetings that involved all of us. Plenty of opportunities to get involved in extra curricular activities to make a difference too. I became involved with C.E.R.T. that focused on improving communications within the city departments.
Pros
an hour for lunch and great benefits
Cons
had to work over to get a job finished sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Olathe,KsJanuary 20, 2015
If I need anything management is on top of the issue, I work independently and ask for assistance if needed. I work alone so I do not have any coworkers I work with daily, except contact with my supervisor if I need assistance with something or need supplies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Signs and Marking Technician (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSJune 9, 2014
A full day of planned and response work

Learned infastrcture process

Co-Workers were fair to excellent

Management was basically hands free and expected you to do your job w/ little supervision

Maintaining data base

Quitting time
Pros
a lot of freedom to do your job
Cons
not always a lot of support when known problems reoccured
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iworked there for almost five years, it was steady work,I had problems at home the last two years with family issues
Street Maintenance Worker I (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSMarch 20, 2012
Igained aolt of experience there, they teach you how to get your CDL give you oppertunities in equipment Iliked when it snowed that was overtime
Pros
steady work
Cons
pay increases were not what i expected
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Setting the standard for excellence
Assistant Director (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KSJune 29, 2014
Olathe is serious about developing employees and ensuring their well-being. They routinely solicit employee input and measure engagement.
Pros
many learning and wellness programs.
Cons
tight budget that requires innovative solutions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Human Resources Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Olathe KSMarch 5, 2013
A very busy place to work but it makes day moves very fast...I love that you stay busy all day so time goes by quickly. I love the diversity of the co-workers and the ability to meet new people everyday!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture