City of Orlando Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace if everything goes as planned,
Youth Counselor (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 6, 2017
We work with kids kids all day long , everything about the job is what benefits the kids and the communities they live in . If kids aren’t your thing, do NOT apply . The point of the job is almost to have fun all day but there’s so much more to it and the counselors don’t get paid nearly enough.
Pros
You get a free membership to any rec center gyms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Youth Counselor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 23, 2017
For my 5 years with the city it was nothing but the best. I learned a lot and lost a lot but it was all worth it. I enjoyed my time with the city and I wouldn't trade it for nothing.
Pros
Free trips, fun times, learn leadership skills
Cons
Don't pay enough for the work you do
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 21, 2017
Non stressful
Fun place to work
Good people around
Get to know your area
Always moving around
Outside work
Little supervision
Not hard labor
Good manegement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage Purchasing of goods and services for City Departments
Purchasing Agent III (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 15, 2017
Administered craddle to grave contracting process.
Monitored and evaluated vendor selection process. Draft contracts. amendments, change orders as needed.
Maintain direct contact with vendors and other stakeholders.
Prepared detailed reports on status of contracts.
Develop and publish solicitation documents
Pros
Demanding work but very pleasant environment
Cons
Understaffed purchasing department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked different departments within organization
Administrative secretary (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 6, 2017
First time experience to workings in a government environment, worked in various departments, learned responsibilities as a recording secretary for agendas presented to city council.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Could be hectic work environment at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy jobs
Youth Counselor (Current Employee) –  3955 W.D Judge DriveSeptember 11, 2017
Easy to stay employed long periods of times. Meet new people. Fun friendly environment. Children friendly environments. Not a long term job. Great as a second job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The can start out very fast depending on what is going on for the day.
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 8, 2017
Great place to work and room to advance. Nice people a typical day can be different each day. The department has a staff of over 80 members who work closely together. Workplace culture is diverse. The hardest part of the job is many personalities. Most enjoyable is working with everyone and meeting different people.
Pros
Great benefit, co-workers, ability to grow, work with all levels
Cons
More competetive salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace
SPORTS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 7, 2017
Friendly co-workers/good atmosphere
Enjoyable tasks
Good management
Good balance between your work life and personal life
Variety of work
Feeling that your work is worthwhile
Feeling that your contribution truly makes a difference
Being part of a successful team
Recognition of your achievements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to balance work with other after work activities. (ie. Religious)
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 25, 2017
Worked 8 hours a day. Obtained CDL Class B with Tanker Endorsement. Majority of Management were very supportive. Enjoyed serving the City of Orlando. Seeking further employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work
Youth Counselor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 17, 2017
I love working with kids. I love helping kids building up their self-esteem. I love helping the children with their school work. I love helping the community with less fortunate children or family.
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I've Ever Had
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 16, 2017
Very Liberal office interactions
Open door policy
Freedom of speech encouraged
Diverse group of associates
Very political at times
A lot of travelling around the city
Culture was very different from any other job I've had back in Atlanta
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 5, 2017
This was my first job. It taught me about professionalism. Taught me how to work with others and how to effectively communicate so that the entire task is complete.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you can learn from each employer at the city different traits
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 28, 2017
don't pay enough to live off of and they don't like to give breaks are lunch working in the heat as needed. to many want to be bosses and not enough real bosses.
Pros
uniforms
Cons
wrong payratew for skilled employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest, reliable, and rewarding work with great benefits
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 6, 2017
Dependability as long as you keep your nose clean, rewarding work, and friendly environment. you can transfer to many other departments once inside and can go as far as you take it.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and informative job
Survey Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 5, 2017
There is a lot needed to learn and retain in order to advance in this job. This is a skill required job. Long hours are spent outside, in the sun. There is also a lot of walking depending on the site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The City Beautiful
SAFETY SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 4, 2017
It's a lovely place to work. Great people. I enjoy getting to teach many different departments and inspect all over the City. I have a super work partner who makes it fun as well!
Pros
Good benefits.
Cons
Not much chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Code Enforcement Officer II (Current Employee) –  OrlandoApril 18, 2017
Job security at the City is high, but the pay is low. Unless you can advance yourself to higher positions, your pay increases are minimal at best. Management is great, most are passionate about their jobs.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heartbreaking job
911 Operator (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 7, 2017
Being a 911 Operator was the hardest, most heartbreaking job I've ever had. I praise the people that can stick with it, but it wasn't the right fit for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for it's many opportunities for work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 2, 2017
I love the fact that Orlando has so many opportunities to get hired and work for many different fields of work. I learned that basically anywhere you can work and enjoy based off the environment and surroundings of that area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun Workplace
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 17, 2016
This was my first job and my favorite because I grew up in the camp so becoming a counselor was a dream of mine. A typical day was always fun, from working with the kids and the co-workers are always filled with joy. The management was great and very dependable. The hardest part was finding fun thing for the kids that they haven't already done. Playing with the kids and teaching them was the most enjoyable part.
Pros
Benefits, Good hours
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Orlando. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 72 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

City of Orlando Reviews by Location