City of Peoria Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Part-time - Seasonal (Current Employee) –  Peoria, AZDecember 22, 2015
Great company to work for and also provides you with great experience as well. They have a great training process. Also they provide flexible hours for staff to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Before and after school care (Current Employee) –  Peoria, AZJuly 1, 2015
This job is really good. But I need something better to support my daughter. It is really good for someone that is going to school during the day and can only work about 5 hrs a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Part-time - Seasonal (Current Employee) –  Peoria, AZJune 24, 2015
Its a great place. Trainers made sure we were trained properly on all tasks. We always had meetings to go over operations on a month to month basis.
Pros
Great staff, Flexible hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a volunteer position with Human Resource doing customers service
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Peoria, AZJune 15, 2015
Utilizing my masters degree by volunteering with the Human Resources allows me to keep my skills that I enquired from school and keep my skill set in HR current.
Pros
working with peers
Cons
not a full time position
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a great place to work. Loved the job and my co-workers. Management was more micro management style yet did not communicate well on expectation
Dispatcher/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZMay 11, 2015
Overall a great place to work. Loved the job and my co-workers. Management was more micro management style yet did not communicate well on expectations and areas to improve
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
management style
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Inventory Control Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZApril 28, 2015
A good workplace my direct supervisor was very distant. Most work was very regulated however there was a outstanding group of co-workers.
Pros
consistant job
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exelent work envirment
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZJuly 15, 2014
I learned a lot at this job all my co workers were great people and I loved the part that I got the chance to guide crew and the opportunities job provided though my schedule became my problem.
Pros
loved the envirment
Cons
the schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional work place
TRANSIT DISPATCHER (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZNovember 19, 2013
Heavy phones, taking calls from residents throughout the day for trip requests for following day, great knowledge of the and surrounding city, having to work closely with the elderly and their needs for transportation, having to direct fellow employees as to what their work schedule should be for that particular day. I enjoyed all of my co-workers they work ethics work great. The hardest part of my job was working with the political aspect of the company. I really enjoyed working with the public and helping them with their requests and needs with great satisfaction
Pros
great postion to have helped me work on all of my dispatch sklls
Cons
very demanding customers with specials needs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good people to work with.
Lead Instrument Control Technician (Current Employee) –  Peoria, AZSeptember 18, 2013
Wide range of daily duties. Never a dull day. No day is ever the same.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service satasfaction, Service repairs done in a timely manner
All Staff Services (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZJune 24, 2013
My day would start at 7:30am dressed into uniform and clock in at 6:00am. I learned how to do tire repairs on heavy and light duty vehicles, Scheduled PMs on heavy equipment front to back inspection under unit.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for education major students
Rec Leader III (Current Employee) –  Peoria, AZMay 1, 2013
• Run and organize a before and after school program for ages 5-14
• Plan activities and projects for each day
• Experience working with Microsoft excel, word, PowerPoint…ect.
• Tutor and help children with homework
• Supervise other recreation leaders
• Experience maintaining program documentation, files and records
Pros
fun, fast pace job
Cons
hours, benefits, paid time off
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and learning environment.
Utilities Operator Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZJanuary 30, 2013
There was never a typical day where i volunteered, every day was different, meaning one day i could be fixing a water line, to letting water flow out of fire hydrants.

I learned the basics on how a water system is maintained, how it works.

I had great co-workers, we would have a great time at work and have lots of fun(still getting the job done effectively and efficiently).

There wasnt really a hard part of the job, there was a part of the job though where i would have to go door to door to notify the home owners and tell them i would have to shut there water off for an hour.
Somtimes they would like that.

The most enjoyable part of my job was the job itself doing the work, and getting up in the morning and meeting up with my co-workers.
Pros
freedom, fun work environment.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality people, quality equipment, quality product.
Utility Systems Operator I (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZNovember 20, 2012
The City's Utility Department is top-notch. There's nothing that these people can't do...at any time, 24/7...these people rock!
Pros
too many to list in the space provided.
Cons
too little to note of in the space provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a crossing gard,
School Crossing Gard (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILMarch 18, 2012
I helped grade school age kids cross the busy intersections to get to school. I did this in the morning and the ed of the school day.
Pros
i enjoyed the kids
Cons
i needed more hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture