Find companies:
City of Philadelphia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
90 reviews

City of Philadelphia Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly environment for females.
Police Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 5, 2013
Pros: helping people
Cons: not female friendly
When I worked the job was not really family friendly toward women or single mothers. I learned that this was really a male dominated field. Management was not really friendly and was predjuiced.
The hardest part of the job was not being able to talk to someone about my needs and the help I needed. The enjoyble part of the job was helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temp position that worked well for me at the time.
Clerical Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 8, 2013
Pros: nice working atmosphere.
Cons: sometimes working late hours.
My typical day was doing your normal administrative and receptionist work. What I learned was how to work well with other and to be patient. My co-workers were really good people. The hardest part about that job was when a co-worker didn't do their part at work and their slack had to be taken up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at Work
Clerk Typist II (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 2, 2013
All day at work I input information into the computer. I use two state databases to get information about the individuals and their families
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a sense of stability.
Construction Projects Technician (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 30, 2013
Pros: flexibility to make your own schedule.
Cons: low salary.
Half of my day is in the field inspecting construction sites for their stormwater management and the other half is spent writing reports and emailing them to the construction project's contacts. I learned how to manage my time according to my work load. I also learned
how to interpret the appropriate regulations and ordinances governing the construction – more... of public works, structures, fixtures, and installations and recommend corrective action regarding violations. Management and co-workers are readily willing to help and assist whenever and wherever they are needed. The hardest part of the job is motivating contractors to adhere to contractual agreements and regulations which is a significant aspect of the job.The most enjoyable part of the job is completing a "Post Construction Inspection" where is a project has been compliant with all of the contractual, specification and permit requirements required for that particular project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Fun, For Safety, For All
Assistant Recreation Leader (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, good management
Cons: off peak hours.
The City of Philadelphia playgrounds provides an atmosphere that is conducive to people from all walks of life. I get the opportunity to communicate with people from the age of 5 to 50. Most of my time is spent working with children. On a typical day, you can find me playing chess with one of the neighborhood kids. Meals are distributed on a daily basis. – more... Light office duties are performed as needed. I get the opportunity to help out with special events as needed. During the summer, I assist in the running of our day camp. The hours are flexible. Management is very easy to work with. Salary is good. Being that it is a playground, when the weather is bad, there is less to do. When the weather is good, there are more people who flock to the playground. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Division of Juvenile Justice (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: good security
Cons: short breaks, shift work
Working for the City of Philadelphia for the Division of Juvenile Justice was a good experience. It showed me a different side of this world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Division of Juvenile Justice (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: good security
Cons: short breaks, shift work
Working for the City of Philadelphia for the Division of Juvenile Justice was a good experience. It showed me a different side of this world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer/Employee Relationships
Supervisor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 13, 2013
Pros: paid vacay and holidays
My team was great. A well-oiled machine.
The most enjoyable part of the job was definitely the customers.
Everyone was friendly and patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The City of Philadephia
Departmental Payroll Clerk (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 6, 2013
A typical day at work is to follow a methodical system in getting my job completed. I have learned from working in several departments within the City of Philadelphia, that there is a tremendous need of control from managers. The amount of micro-managing is over whelming, which leaves no room for employees to demonstrate their own talents. The control – more... of management helps me to strive harder in showing my abilities to lead by example. As for my co-workers, we are team players trying to get a finish product for the City of Philadelphia. We are open minded willing and excepting of one another's input. The hardest part of the job is to focus on keeping time management into play, because the job is so demanding for the many payroll functions. However, the demand for attention in so many directions still leave opportunity for completing task. The most enjoyable part of the position, is to complete the payroll functions efficiently, with minimum, or no mistakes. This gives me great joy to see the response for those who we are processing checks for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Bail Clerk (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 2, 2013
Help look up bail information and processes bail bonds. I have learned about the court system and how it works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work/life
Housing & Fire Inspector II (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 16, 2013
Pros: ok benefits
Cons: very political no advancements
Need good benefits its a good place to work. You can do a 9-5 and go home. There is not much advancement unless you are liked, very political.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful temp job,
Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 2, 2013
Working for the City of Philadelphia i learned alot to help me to upgrade my skills. I had a Wonderful superviser in the Personel Department where i worked i was able to handle the work load at a good pace answer many phone lines and take messages for my boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved finding peoples police reports that were a challenge
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: helping people, always being busy, great hours
Cons: there were really no cons to my job
I opened the office every morning got the cash register up and running then checked the answering machine and called all the customers back from the previous day. Did all the mail and answered the phone calls helped at the front desk when needed. Looked up police reports for people who did not have the required District Control number. Called each police – more... district for reports that we didn't have and needed. I was the acting supervisor when she was out had to do the time sheets and post payments to customers web site accounts. I had to do daily,weekly and monthly reports for the office. My co-workers and I had a good relationship we worked as a team when needed. My supervisor was strict but down to earth . The hardest part of the job was talking to parents who lost their children to violence or a car accident . The most enjoyable part of the job was getting all my work done by the end of the day and making sure all my customers had what they needed . i learned patience when dealing with people who were frustrated and at a loss not knowing how to go about getting what they needed for any given circumstance . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved loved loved
clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 21, 2013
Pros: training
Cons: only a temperary position
This was a very unique position working in the city Commissioners office, learning the different phases of the voter registration process. Ther was allways something to learn with made the job very interresting and made the day go fast!. The coworkers and Managment were very friendly of which made a very plesant working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprofessional atmosphere.
Central Personnel - HR Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 5, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: too much animosity amongst the employees
Very unprofessinal atmposphere to advancement your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for Advancement
Youth Detention Counselor (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 3, 2013
Pros: free meals
Cons: 8 day work schedule
the hardest part of the job is dealing with residents who have emotional and psychological issues. Many are very volatile. The work days should be changed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good basketball team and grade school program
Detention Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PA 1500 jfk blvdJuly 24, 2013
Pros: i adapt easily
Cons: work accessively
Very aggressive residence, good work environment, I've learned excellent observation skills, and social and I've improved my overall job performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day dealin with th children and parents
School Crossing Guard (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 23, 2013
Escorted the children across the street, and recorded license numbers of vehicles disregarding traffic signals and reported to the police. The hardest part of the day was when the traffic lights were out and there wasn't a police there to tell the cars when to go. The most enjoyable part was helping the children on the way to and from school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to learn and advance career
Customer Collection Representative (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 9, 2013
The joy of assisting and helping the public with various City activities, while learning interesting taxes and city regulations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wroking for the City
Pharmacy technician (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 7, 2013
I rather enjoyed working for the city I gained valuable experience for not only the Pharmacy tech world but for any job the would follow after wards.