Find companies:
City of Philadelphia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
97 reviews

City of Philadelphia Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are a lot of good things, outside being one of the best.
Police Officer (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: good people and good officer's
Cons: just the opposite from above
My career with the police department has been nothing but great. The few bad experiences I have had with this job certainly do not out weigh the good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
minimal supervision. allowed to make your own decisions.
Court Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: minimal supervision.
Cons: work load was sometimes very heavy.
Best part of the job you got to work with different judges and experience various types of cases. I learned alot of independence and to make crucial decisions. Co-workers were always available to help out. Hardest part was trying to listen to some very horrible situations as the trials were going on. Most enjoyable part seeing justice being served.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for City of Philadelphia for a total of 28 years until retirement. Enjoyed all my time there.
Tax Enforcement Administrator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: excellent healthcare, great managers, felt my work was appreciated by them.
Work day started at 8:00 AM. Would talk with my supervisors to see what agenda was for the day. Review list for any problems that may have come up for sheriff sales. Go over any other work which would come to me during course of week such as hardship agreement, payments or settlements. Learned that I truly enjoyed helping taxpayers resolve issues with – more... real estate tax. My interaction with management was very good. Felt that managers trusted my decisions and gave me complete authority. Knew that if I would come to them if there were any problems. Doing a particular illness, managers worked with me to ensure that I was able to work to the best of my abilities. Again, for the most part I got along with my co-works. I believe the hardest part of my job was during my illness. Sometimes very hard to work due to constant pain, but felt that working helped me to deal with issues at the time. The most enjoyable part of my job was feeling that a taxpayer was satisfied with results of settlements or any advise given in reference to taxes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience.
Administrative Technician (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 15, 2014
A typical work is very busy and productive. There is always work that has to be done to help the families we provide service too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gives job security
Supervisor (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 26, 2013
City of Philadelphia does provide job security in this unpredictable job industry. There is however, little growth for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Laborer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 12, 2013
i love this job the hardest part of this job was geting to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
PMA 1 (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 11, 2013
Typical day at work consisted of tallying retail department stores' merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly environment for females.
Police Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 5, 2013
Pros: helping people
Cons: not female friendly
When I worked the job was not really family friendly toward women or single mothers. I learned that this was really a male dominated field. Management was not really friendly and was predjuiced.
The hardest part of the job was not being able to talk to someone about my needs and the help I needed. The enjoyble part of the job was helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temp position that worked well for me at the time.
Clerical Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 8, 2013
Pros: nice working atmosphere.
Cons: sometimes working late hours.
My typical day was doing your normal administrative and receptionist work. What I learned was how to work well with other and to be patient. My co-workers were really good people. The hardest part about that job was when a co-worker didn't do their part at work and their slack had to be taken up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at Work
Clerk Typist II (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 2, 2013
All day at work I input information into the computer. I use two state databases to get information about the individuals and their families
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with a sense of stability.
Construction Projects Technician (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 30, 2013
Pros: flexibility to make your own schedule.
Cons: low salary.
Half of my day is in the field inspecting construction sites for their stormwater management and the other half is spent writing reports and emailing them to the construction project's contacts. I learned how to manage my time according to my work load. I also learned
how to interpret the appropriate regulations and ordinances governing the construction – more... of public works, structures, fixtures, and installations and recommend corrective action regarding violations. Management and co-workers are readily willing to help and assist whenever and wherever they are needed. The hardest part of the job is motivating contractors to adhere to contractual agreements and regulations which is a significant aspect of the job.The most enjoyable part of the job is completing a "Post Construction Inspection" where is a project has been compliant with all of the contractual, specification and permit requirements required for that particular project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Fun, For Safety, For All
Assistant Recreation Leader (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 28, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, good management
Cons: off peak hours.
The City of Philadelphia playgrounds provides an atmosphere that is conducive to people from all walks of life. I get the opportunity to communicate with people from the age of 5 to 50. Most of my time is spent working with children. On a typical day, you can find me playing chess with one of the neighborhood kids. Meals are distributed on a daily basis. – more... Light office duties are performed as needed. I get the opportunity to help out with special events as needed. During the summer, I assist in the running of our day camp. The hours are flexible. Management is very easy to work with. Salary is good. Being that it is a playground, when the weather is bad, there is less to do. When the weather is good, there are more people who flock to the playground. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Division of Juvenile Justice (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: good security
Cons: short breaks, shift work
Working for the City of Philadelphia for the Division of Juvenile Justice was a good experience. It showed me a different side of this world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Division of Juvenile Justice (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: good security
Cons: short breaks, shift work
Working for the City of Philadelphia for the Division of Juvenile Justice was a good experience. It showed me a different side of this world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer/Employee Relationships
Supervisor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 13, 2013
Pros: paid vacay and holidays
My team was great. A well-oiled machine.
The most enjoyable part of the job was definitely the customers.
Everyone was friendly and patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The City of Philadephia
Departmental Payroll Clerk (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 6, 2013
A typical day at work is to follow a methodical system in getting my job completed. I have learned from working in several departments within the City of Philadelphia, that there is a tremendous need of control from managers. The amount of micro-managing is over whelming, which leaves no room for employees to demonstrate their own talents. The control – more... of management helps me to strive harder in showing my abilities to lead by example. As for my co-workers, we are team players trying to get a finish product for the City of Philadelphia. We are open minded willing and excepting of one another's input. The hardest part of the job is to focus on keeping time management into play, because the job is so demanding for the many payroll functions. However, the demand for attention in so many directions still leave opportunity for completing task. The most enjoyable part of the position, is to complete the payroll functions efficiently, with minimum, or no mistakes. This gives me great joy to see the response for those who we are processing checks for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Bail Clerk (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 2, 2013
Help look up bail information and processes bail bonds. I have learned about the court system and how it works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work/life
Housing & Fire Inspector II (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 16, 2013
Pros: ok benefits
Cons: very political no advancements
Need good benefits its a good place to work. You can do a 9-5 and go home. There is not much advancement unless you are liked, very political.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful temp job,
Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 2, 2013
Working for the City of Philadelphia i learned alot to help me to upgrade my skills. I had a Wonderful superviser in the Personel Department where i worked i was able to handle the work load at a good pace answer many phone lines and take messages for my boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved finding peoples police reports that were a challenge
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: helping people, always being busy, great hours
Cons: there were really no cons to my job
I opened the office every morning got the cash register up and running then checked the answering machine and called all the customers back from the previous day. Did all the mail and answered the phone calls helped at the front desk when needed. Looked up police reports for people who did not have the required District Control number. Called each police – more... district for reports that we didn't have and needed. I was the acting supervisor when she was out had to do the time sheets and post payments to customers web site accounts. I had to do daily,weekly and monthly reports for the office. My co-workers and I had a good relationship we worked as a team when needed. My supervisor was strict but down to earth . The hardest part of the job was talking to parents who lost their children to violence or a car accident . The most enjoyable part of the job was getting all my work done by the end of the day and making sure all my customers had what they needed . i learned patience when dealing with people who were frustrated and at a loss not knowing how to go about getting what they needed for any given circumstance . – less