Find companies:
City of Philadelphia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

City of Philadelphia Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Food Coordinator(Supervisor) (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 28, 2014
I had the greatest experience working for this division of the city. It gave me a great appreciation for the food services provided to our youth and also helped me to gain advantages in areas of social responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits, Excellent Management.
File Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits.
Cons: no cons.
Study smooth day, Leadership skills, Excellent Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced
Medical Assistant/phlebotomist (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 18, 2014
i really love the type of work that i do! i enjoy being helpful to my patients and being able to make their day go just a little better, thats my joy. so it doesnt matter what im going through in my personal life being the best at my job for my patients just makes my problems not an issue while im here!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment for many database systems.
Data Services Support Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 3, 2014
Pros: very helpful supervisory training.
Cons: stressful constant interaction with difficult customers.
Highly professional supervisory oversight and a strong relationship with supervisors in training development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm
Summer Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 1, 2014
Calm day. i learned to use a buffer. management is busy and keep order. co-workers are great and helpful. hardest day is a rainy day but my best days are when the parks were clean with no debris
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, fast pace environment
Police Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: money, benefits, community, promotional advancement, options of transferring to various special units, training.
Cons: work in all types of weather, holidays and various hours.
With 14 year experience there are many highs and lows. There is no typical day since every situation is extremely unpredictable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enjoyed working for the city of phila
Revenue Assessment Clerk (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: n/a
Retrieving clients account information. Entering data in system.

How passionate every one treated.

Responsible for all Bilingual translations

Management was excellent in tune with everyone needs whether was part-time level or full time level.

I honestly have to say nothing was hard. Everyone was so understanding and helpful.

Knowing that everyone was genuine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: an entire lunch for a dollar everyday, sometimes there are down times where work may be a bit slow paced
Cons: location very close to interstate, winters are hectic because streets may not be shoveled
I do not work inside the prison. I work with the Executive department for all Administration. Most of the people I have met outside of the prison were very office friendly and willing to help each other in any way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Laborer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 12, 2014
Co-workers were great, management didn't respect you neither peers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good part time job
school crossing guard (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: no over time
its a great work place .. you work close to home. the children needs your help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Municipal Goverment
311 Call Center Agent (Current Employee), City HallJune 19, 2014
Pros: information on city departments
Cons: contract negotiation w/mayor, healthcare, mandatory overtime
A typical day at work is busy and most often times hectic and exhausting. Working with the constituents of the city of Philadelphia can be very taxing because many city departments are not functioning as effectively as they should, which leaves the residents very frustrated and the frustration in often directed towards the 311 call center agents.

Working in the 311 call center has taught me a lot about city services and departments and their daily operating functions.

The co-workers are a great group of people, always willing to offer help and support.

The hardest part of the job, is attempting to provide information to residents that are so irate that they refuse to listen.

The most enjoyable part of the job, is receiving a call back from a resident expressing their satisfaction for a resolved issue and accommodating me for my exceptional customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Business Oriented Workplace.
Data Services Support Clerk (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 29, 2014
Pros: hour lunch breaks and two 15 minute breaks, health and dental benefits, paid vacation, sick leave
Cons: you only get four or five step increases in pay but after that, your raises are based on whatever contracts the union agrees to with the city
A typical day at work is having enough work to last me through the day and enjoying the company of my co-workers.
I have learned that you have to make sure you have a good work ethic because people look at that and your work ethic may determine how far you advance in the workplace.
My co-workers are good people to work with for the most part but sometimes I wish some of my co-workers would stop complaining about everything and just do what the job requires.
The hardest part of the job is sometimes working around people that make a big deal about every little thing.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the work I do. I enjoy entering data into the computers and it makes life so much more enjoyable when you can go to a job you don't mind doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stale
Auditor I (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 29, 2014
Not good place to work at all, Too much politics, bad for growth, very bad career choice, cold co workers, harsh office politics. Ignorant and incompetent staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
Manager, Risk Management Services (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 12, 2014
Worked with many insurance brokers and carriers, on behalf of City of Philadelphia, School District of Philadelphia and a number of social service entities supported by the city. Worked directly with departments to assist with Insurance and Risk Management needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Customer Sevice Rep (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 21, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Very busy on the phones and entering information to the computer.
To a lot about handling stress customers.
Management where great and my co-workers were great to work with.
Hardest part of the job none.
Most enjoyable part of the job was being able to calm customers and help them in there situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 19, 2014
I love my job as well as my co-workers, I have learned a lot. Management could be better but overall a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Coordinator
Food Coordinator (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 31, 2014
Monitor play streets, check meals for spoilage, check and sign documents for each week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Priuctive PLace to work
Fire Lieutenant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: working in a team
Cons: seeing others hurt
I was able to gain experience in leading a group of others. It was a great experience in working with others. I was able to see families saved and help them to be rescued.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Court Interviewer & Monitoring Asst (Part-time) (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: i got a pension and i was just part time
Cons: it's a municipal job, no bells and whistles . . . at all
It goes without saying that governments have to hire their own. You can't outsource it India. If we could governments would run better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can not predict the unknown.
Philadelphia Police Officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 15, 2014
Pros: working with the public and pay
Cons: long hours
Busy not much time for breaks always busy. You are your own man in this line of work. You are held accountable for your actions.