Find companies:
City of Phoenix
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

City of Phoenix Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintenance
Trades Helper (TH) (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 2, 2014
doing yard work , basic up keep of sites.
plumbing
electrical
painting
drywall
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer oriented
Case Worker I promotion (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 24, 2014
A typical day at work for me consist of doing classroom visits, I have a case load of 80 families and parents come to my office to discuss their family goals and helping them achieve their goals by providing them with community resources available.
I have learned that each family and their members have to be treated individually and that I really enjoy – more... working with the different cultures.
Our management division is always supportive and is open to new ideas as long as it for the benefit of the families in our program.
I have 10 co-workers in the same office and we all offer a unique approach to working with families and we work as a team and are supportive of each other.
The hardest part of the job for me knows that there are situations and circumstances that cannot be change no matter how hard we work because they are out of our control.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when the families reach their goals. This is a big deal for me because I am bilingual and I can see the progress with some families up close and I get to work with them for 2 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place of employment, with good benifits, and advancement.
Airport Operations Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 22, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay, people
Cons: sometimes you were required to be very flexable in work environments, and or duty hours.
I was employed by the City of Phoenix for the past 22 years. During that time period I was a Park Ranger and later became an Operations Assistand at Sky Harbor Airport. The Ranger position was very enjoyable, because you had a lot of freedom to apply your abilities in many different areas, from Law Inforcement, too Horseback riding and/or Educating – more... the public on environemental issues. While an Operations Assistant I performed mainly customer service duties, safety, and security. This enabled me to make many aquintances with folks from all over the world, and was the most interesting part of the job. Both jobs were at times tedious but enjoyable. Spending long hours on foot, horseback, or in a vehicle, was the hardest part, but it was well worth the experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Information Technology
User Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 19, 2014
This is a great place to work and looking for something else in my town of Goodyear, Arizona.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always a good day at work
Groundskeeper (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 10, 2014
Pros: very calming, working for the city had great benefits
Cons: not enough people to help take care of the tournaments
show up grab a gator and run the horse trails, checking for any signs of motorized activity or homeless people. if there is anything going on I was to inform in superior and then handled from there. Then back to maintaining the soccer and diamond back little league facility. Hardest part of my job was keeping the park clean when there were thousands – more... of people there for the soccer tournaments. Reach 11 was a very calming place to come to work cause of its size. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere
Clerk II (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: great working environment
Cons: nepotism
It was a pleasure to work for the Water Services Dept. But working as a city temp, I had no benefits. Although I had applied for a permanent position several times, I was passed over in favor of a candidate with no prior knowledge or experience because of nepotism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and a great experience
Police Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJanuary 7, 2014
working along side people and learning a new experience of everyday. My coworkers made everyday a different experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace.
Research Intern (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJanuary 5, 2014
A laid back work environment focused on academic approaches to long-term projects.
Used GIS to supplement other research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most excellente!!!
SUPPORT SVC AIDE (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 19, 2013
Pros: best in the city
Cons: phoenix is very hot in july - september
The best job ever!!!
Very pro education, all the benefits known to the free world that are exceptable by the public. Leaving was the hardest part of the job!!!
The pay is a very comfortable living wage, it all matters on the education and job title!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun atmosphere
Event Leader (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 5, 2013
Pros: get to set up special events, free tickets, work with all kids of people from all over the world, great benifits. great pay.
Cons: graveyard shift.
cleaning, set up and take down event work. lots of fun but working graveyard gets to you after a while.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned something new all the time and challeging work.
Field Technician (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 31, 2013
2 weeks out of the month you read water meters for customers bill, one week you would do maintenance on the meters and the last week you would run a route. A route would be answering service calls like why is my water pressure low, or to turn on or off someones water. We would test water quality or help with a water concern someone had., like a broken – more... pipe or water line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Enjoyable and Rewarding
Council Aide (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 29, 2013
Pros: public speaking, attending neighborhood meetings
Cons: na
A typical day was working with internal staff to finding ways to answer our constituent request for sercvices. I learned through cooperation no task is to be or to small.
My co-workers and I worked well together.
Hardest part of my job not being able to help or find solutons to citizens complaints.
Most enjoyable part was knowing I had performed my – more... duties to the best of my ablity. When the Councilman went to neighborhood meetings the community spoke highly of the services his office was providing for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy place to work, but that's how I like it
Property Specialist (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 23, 2013
Pros: benefits, retirement, pension
Cons: no real option for advancement, hiring freezes, lay offs
On a typical day I may receive requests for a new lease or license, prepare, place market rent search from appraisal section or calculate short term rent with predetermined process. Prepare and execute leases, lease amendments, etc. Receive notification that a property was acquired for demolition; inspect property: take photos, order utility abandonments, – more... board up, fencing. Follow up with vendors or work being performed on rental properties, sign relocations, etc. The management is supportive of their employees. City employees always strive for diverseness, cultural awareness, and getting to know one another on a more personal level. I enjoy the "hard parts" of my job so I really have nothing negative to say. I enjoy the wide variety of things that I am responsible for and am sure I left out a LOT of little things on my responsibilities but there are just too many to list : ) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits , okay pay
Utility Technician-Water Distribution (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 15, 2013
I learn to fix and replace water distribution systems such as mains,hydrants and services. I also got training in equipment operations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i did have fun traveling all over maricopa county
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 19, 2013
Pros: got a lot of feed back on my performace
Cons: having to work out in the rain
I Enjoyed working for city of phoenix i love my job helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn customer service.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 31, 2013
Pros: great place to be.
Cons: no cons to report.
Great place to have in our community.And a good place to learn job skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ect.ect.
Senior GIS Technician (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 16, 2013
Pros: ect. ect.
Cons: ect. ect.
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Recreation Leader 7 (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 19, 2013
Pros: you can watch your children grow with all the activities they offer
Cons: no parttime benifits
I just love working for this organization. Been with them 12yrs. nothing better than working in a great atmosphere and family oriented facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Victim to Restructuring
Senior GIS Technician (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: city benefits package
Cons: poor management
Since I was a probationary employee (for the first year) I was an at-will employee. I fell victim to restructuring within the department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting people with voting process
Elections Clerk (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 12, 2012
Pros: i felt job was rewarding since i was assisting people.
Cons: job was temporary
My typical day at work involved assisting the people with the voting process, which meant directing them to the voting boot, taking their information to make sure that they were eligible to work, as well as answering any questions that they might have.