Find companies:
City of Portsmouth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

City of Portsmouth Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Urban Forestry tech assistant (Current Employee), Portsmouth, NHAugust 29, 2014
Great staff and great location. There's a lot to learn and management is very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Counselor (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAAugust 22, 2014
Great beginning job to allow you to gain experience. More training and development needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN ATMOSPHERE
MUSEUM SERVICE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAJune 24, 2014
Pros: meeting great people
Cons: short breaks, a lot of standing
GREAT CO-WORKERS, SUPERVISORS, AND GREAT PLACE TO GAIN AND SHARPEN COMMUNICATION SKILLS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
ICC and VA State Certified Permit Technician (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAMay 2, 2014
Growing city population over 100,000 increase developments and projects. Excellent!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Assistant (Current Employee), Portsmouth, NHApril 29, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: union dictates advancement
One of the best cities in all of the United States to work in. Smart personnel willing to do whatever it takes to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was okay
Office Specialist (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAMarch 8, 2014
like the job
co-workers was okay
customer services
enjoy the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work day
Fiscal Support Specialist II (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VAJanuary 10, 2014
My job consist of data entry and customer service. I learn how to do payroll. My co-workers work under my supervision. The hardest part of the job is counting the money. The most enjoyable part of my job is dealing with happy customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy fast pace
Trash Man (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAAugust 20, 2013
Pros: i like that i was able to learn the city an mt bifferent people ever day
Cons: i didn't like working in bad weather conditions
Required a lot of driving in different neighborhoods. Homeowners were very nice and courteous. Being able to get off during the day and spend time with family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed type of work, learned how to deal with different groups of people
Records Technician I (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAJuly 25, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: cannot leave work station during break time
learned how to handle sensitive information and prioritization, there was team work on the shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun city job
Human Resource Assistant (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAMay 21, 2012
I learned various duties in the workplace ranging from interviewing to job posting. I also did new employee orientations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security with great Benefits.
Clerk II (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VADecember 14, 2011
Pros: helping people.
Cons: not enough time in a day to complete work load.
Enjoyed working with the city it gave me much pleasure to be able to help others. I also loved the job security very nice benefits and lots of job advancement. Management could have used more help we were always short handed but I learned to make the most of it I was part of a team and the team worked together. Leaving was very hard for me my husband – more... took a job here in Georgia in turn I had to relocate. Over all I feel work with the City was a great learning experience for me one I will never forget. Always remembering I never know everything and it's always room for learning new things. – less