Find companies:
City Of Raleigh
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

City Of Raleigh Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and safe environment
Recreation Leader (Current Employee), John Chavis CenterJune 17, 2014
Wonderful environment to work in ,exciting people to work with as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), RaleighJune 13, 2014
Loved working with kids... I was happy and i had work life balance. Just low income
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Secure place to work
Assistant Recreation Superintendent (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 16, 2014
Pros: support system, friends, growth, benefits
Cons: long hours, emergencies
A good place to start a career and grow with. Growing a career in the many positions that are offered in local government, gives a person a stable foundation to build on. It gives many experiences to learn from and an opportunity to make lasting friends and networking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
water division downtown
Financial Representative (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 8, 2014
water division--management was not the best. enjoyed educating customers on how water is calculated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had a great inner workings and great facilities.
Lifeguard / Cashier (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCMarch 25, 2014
Pros: we could swim whenever we wanted and at numerous facilities anytime of the year.
Cons: we had to purchase our own insurance packages.
A typical day for me was making sure our facility was properply maintained, our guests were happy, I learned how to be proactive but cautious, my managment was top of the line and my co-workers and I would support our entire group. The hardest part of the job was seeing patrons in pain and the most enjoyable part of the job would most likely be knowing – more... at a moments notice I could rely on my crew to jump into action. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I had never taken the position
Natural Resources Specialist (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: horrible work environment. power trips are what is considered professional behavior.
Job description did not coincide with daily duties well beyond being reasonably flexible. Management does not like input, shut up and do what you're told regardless of your training. Management is not receptive to ideas, static environment. The hardest part of working here was trying to figure out day to day what was too much and what wasn't enough. – more... They are flying by the seat of their pants. I did learn a lot about what the benchmarks for a poor work environment and weak management are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
theater enjoyment; socializing with public; camaraderie with co-workers
Theater Usher (Part-time/prn) (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: ability to see the events.
Cons: none. thoroughly enjoyed the job.
Reviewing theater company's guidelines for event; preparing (stuffing) programs for event; ushering guests to seats; providing assistance if needed to guests, ie, location of rest rooms, food stations; scanning or tearing tickets for event; stuffing inserts into programs. Co-workers meshed together to provide the guests with a memorable theater experience. – more... There was no "hardest part" of employment. Most enjoyable was greeting the theater guests and being a part of the theater excitement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fast paced work enviorment
Counselor (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJanuary 30, 2014
Typical work day includes the supervision of youth ages 6-12 years of age. Documenting and writing daily reports, creating lesson plans and organizing activities are the essential job duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spacious clean and good management
Recreational Instructor (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJanuary 21, 2014
More details coming soon..More details coming soon..More details coming soon..More details coming soon..More details coming soon..More details coming soon..More details coming soon..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I found the city of Raleigh an enjoyable place to work.
Counselor, City of Raleigh, Summer Camps (Former Employee), RaleighJanuary 11, 2014
Responsible for the safe supervision of children enrolled in the School-Age program by assisting with age appropriate activities and planning activities as needed. Greeted children and parents in a professional manner. Exhibit professional attitudes, striving to understand various family situations and keeping all information confidential. Carried out – more... all procedures for emergencies and building evacuations. Maintained a safe and clean work environment for children, parents and staff. Attended departmental meetings and trainings sessions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summertime
Junior Counselor @ Campbell Community Center (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCDecember 23, 2013
It was very fun. Considering it was my first job, i loved everything about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people I worked with there
PATCH LABORER & LEAF CREW (Former Employee), City of RaleighNovember 20, 2013
Pros: learn things that i didn't know
There were a variety of jobs that I did but I enjoyed my job. There was a lot of responsibility and I was glad to do what was needed to get the job done. Making sure that when chemicals were mixed it was according to OSHA Guidelines and were stored safely
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Traffic Signs Graphic Technician (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 17, 2013
I love the my co-workers here and we all get along! I must say it has been a secure.Compared some parts of the private jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most co-workers are great. Management has its pros & cons. Maintenance work is enjoyable.
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), raleigh ncOctober 9, 2013
I supervise & assist four employees. We perform a variety of jobs ranging from maintenance to custodial. We install/repair windows, plumbing fixtures, doors,locks, lights, deck & building structures. We perform trades such as electrical,plumbing, hvac/r, carpentry, masonry & etc.We operate sweepers, blowers, ground keeping equipment, pressure washing – more... equipment, power tools and use hand tools. Perform preventive maintenance on equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet challenging
Program Specialist (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 5, 2013
I have an amazing supervisor that has been a great mentor for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Equipment Operator I (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 2, 2013
great job. left due to military. was very well rounded in helping assist with my day to day life!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Overall
Road Crew (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJune 24, 2013
Pros: fun environment, great labor work, excellent peers
Cons: an old supervisor who is now to my knowledge retired
I Worked Here as a teen in a summer program and i was a pretty good job, great employees who were very friendly and most of them where hard workers other than 1 or 2 on the lazy side the only real problem was a supervisor who was usually a cool guy but had times where he could be disrespectful to employees i believe he has retired now if so i would – more... recommend this job to any of my friends down on their luck or just in need of work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Accounts Receivable Specialist (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCApril 6, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Great place to work, I like it here. Great office environment....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and family-oriented
Recreation Aide/Recreation Instructor (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 21, 2013
Everyone that walks through the door joins the City of Raleigh family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with diverse park locations and great staff
Director (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: very laid back
Cons: no breaks
I have been with the city for going on 7 years now. I started at the bottom and have moved up to a director of a program. I love the nice people, the good conversation and the positive attitude of the patrons.

City Of Raleigh Photos