Find companies:
City of Rochester
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

City of Rochester Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere changes with each Administration. I weathered 4 while I was there. Extreme deficit did me in.
Purchaser (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJune 21, 2014
Pros: professional team of coworkers. very diverse labor pool and administrators, directors, commissioners.
Cons: each administration rewards supporters with jobs.
Jobs are not safe anywhere. Most administrative departments must cut jobs to meet the mandatory yearly budget cuts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for growth
Administrative Clerical Support Staff (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJune 18, 2014
Pros: busy
Cons: not enough hours in a day
Busy.. Enjoy working for the city of rochester. Co-workers work very well together. Boss listen to our concerns
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding job
Seasonal Laborer (Former Employee), Rochester New YorkMay 30, 2014
Pros: it allows you to become familar with the city and how ones tax dollars are spent
Cons: none i know of
I loved working for my city of Rochester New York ,because it allowed me to help make my city beautiful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic opportunity
Intern - IT Department Network Division (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMay 23, 2014
I was able to be part of a huge project that involved replacing all of the network equipment at each Fire station and Police station in the city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parks Department Employment Review
Grounds Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 19, 2014
Pros: almost everything
Cons: old, beat up equipment
This was the best job I ever had, and I wish I was still employed here! The City of Rochester Parks Department was a great place to work! Work hours were great (6:00a.m.-2:00p.m.)! Management was easy to work and get along with. The other employees were fairly helpful, and easy to get along with as well. Had I not had some problems with my drivers license – more... years ago, I imagine I would still be working there today! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for.
HUMAN RESOURCES INTERN/ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Rochester, MIMarch 12, 2014
Worked directly with the HR Manager she made my time there very productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training and teaching others...etc
Executive Assistant to the Assistant Commissioner (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: policies and procedures set in place...national holiday off..etc
Cons: new administration changes and civil service
Currently I enjoy working with a great supervisor, and the ability to work directly with the community and helping with their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basketball, soccer and football programs, pool and workout room
Coach Youth Soccer (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 23, 2014
rating based on part time job, great place to start in order to learn customer service, working with youth and managing records.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security
Park patrol/Security officer (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 27, 2014
Government job gives a a place where you can take your career in a whole lot of different directions.
If you work in Government, you work for the Nation's upliftment which is your upliftment, and if you work in a private sector, you are spending your time and energy to make a few individuals affluent !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working with kids
Recretional Leader (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: n/a
working with kids was the best and I had a lot of fun getting to know them. Also going on field trips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interactive work place
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 21, 2013
Pros: lots of trainning
supervise pool or beach area in rotations
great co workers
hardest part is when there are no swimmers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative/Customer Service Support Staff
Administrative Support Staff (Current Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 2, 2013
I rate the City of Rochester as wonderful place to work for. The area that I work with, is dealing with customers whether it's internal or external and let's not forget the personal contact. I enjoy helping people as well as learning new things when it comes to doing my job well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
groundkeeper (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJune 28, 2013
Pros: communication, people person
Cons: its always a job u can come back to
communication
i learned to be a great people person i got along with my team members very well
that hardest part of about the job it was only seasonal
the most enjoyable thing about working with the city it mabe me a stronger team leader and open up alot of communication skill that i didnt know i had my cowroker was very fun to be around and made the – more... job more exciting to wake up and come to everyday – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace for both the staff and the children
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYApril 30, 2013
Pros: working with the children, working as a team
Cons: managing the children if you are not able to do this effectively
Since I have been working for the City of Rochester Summer Recreational programs I have enjoyed myself greatly. I enjoy wokring with the youth and providing them with entertainment and learning over the summer. I like this program because it is set hours weekly with the weekends off. The staff work well together as a team and aim to improve the environment – more... for the youth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My employment with the City of Rochester for the most part was very rewarding.
Property Inspector (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 25, 2013
I dealt with different customers both internal and external. I enjoyed using my customer service skills to satisfy the needs of both customers. Everyday presented different challenges which made my job exciting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice
Light Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 17, 2013
Pros: smooth work flow, weekly pay, the pay
Cons: manual labor, dead animals
Having to deal with and work with people of your hometown is pretty invigorating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kinda have good things haapn to you when working for the city of rochester.
Senior Recreation Assist & Coach (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 7, 2013
Fast pace centers where things can change or happen at any given moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working around children is fantastic
Locker Room Attendant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: you could leave the job for lunch and lunch would be an hour
Cons: it would be really hot on the pool deck because there weren't any windows
When i first would get there, i would check everything to make sure things are safe. I learned how to interact with older children. Management was excellent and very helpful. My co-workers were awesome and always happy and fun to be around. The hardest part of the job was sitting in the locker room for about an hour, since i am such an active person, – more... i love to move. The most enjoyable part was the children that would come to swim – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with people in the community.
Recreation Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: fun fun people in that neighborhood.
Cons: wasn't enough full time positions.
This was my favorite job to work because I was able to work with and meet so many people. The rec. center had so many things going on like sports, field trips, cook outs and parties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal
Ground Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Rochester, NYDecember 19, 2012
Pros: hours.
Cons: seasonal
Working here was great. The fact that they only offerred seasonal to new employees is the let down.