Find companies:
City of Rochester
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

City of Rochester Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, learning and energetic workplace
Summer of Opportunity Youth Worker (Former Employee), Rochester, NYOctober 3, 2014
Pros: being a role model to the kids
Cons: going to meetings every two weeks
In the morning it would be awfully slow; only two kids would show up. In the afternoon a whole bunch of kids would come in for lunch and ask to play basketball or board games. Throughout my experience here I learned that many of these kids do not have role models, supportive homes, or a lot of clothes to wear or food at home. The hardest part of this – more... job was seeing these kids not act like kids because they looked after the behavior they see at home. The most enjoyable part of this job was working together with my coworkers to be the best role models we can be for these kids. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see below
Seasonal Laborer (Current Employee), rochester nySeptember 18, 2014
I enjoy working out doors. The team that I worked allowed me to utilize leadership skills. This position allows me to interact with the community and get customer feed back to provide better service. The hardest part is the winter months due extreme temperatures. The most enjoyable part of the job there is always a new project to work on every day/so – more... every day is different. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities for Advancement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Riverside CemeterySeptember 10, 2014
Pros: benefits and pension
Cons: sometimes rigid bureaucracy
Hard work, coupled with successful civil service testing, pays off when you work for the City of Rochester. Each department and bureau have unique characteristics, but there is great opportunity to succeed in public service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere changes with each Administration. I weathered 4 while I was there. Extreme deficit did me in.
Purchaser (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJune 21, 2014
Pros: professional team of coworkers. very diverse labor pool and administrators, directors, commissioners.
Cons: each administration rewards supporters with jobs.
Jobs are not safe anywhere. Most administrative departments must cut jobs to meet the mandatory yearly budget cuts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for growth
Administrative Clerical Support Staff (Current Employee), Rochester, NYJune 18, 2014
Pros: busy
Cons: not enough hours in a day
Busy.. Enjoy working for the city of rochester. Co-workers work very well together. Boss listen to our concerns
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding job
Seasonal Laborer (Former Employee), Rochester New YorkMay 30, 2014
Pros: it allows you to become familar with the city and how ones tax dollars are spent
Cons: none i know of
I loved working for my city of Rochester New York ,because it allowed me to help make my city beautiful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is nice to work with and pleasant
City Councilman (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 1, 2014
Pros: nice people
Great place to work where the majority of people share the same views
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parks Department Employment Review
Grounds Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 19, 2014
Pros: almost everything
Cons: old, beat up equipment
This was the best job I ever had, and I wish I was still employed here! The City of Rochester Parks Department was a great place to work! Work hours were great (6:00a.m.-2:00p.m.)! Management was easy to work and get along with. The other employees were fairly helpful, and easy to get along with as well. Had I not had some problems with my drivers license – more... years ago, I imagine I would still be working there today! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for.
HUMAN RESOURCES INTERN/ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Rochester, MIMarch 12, 2014
Worked directly with the HR Manager she made my time there very productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training and teaching others...etc
Executive Assistant to the Assistant Commissioner (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: policies and procedures set in place...national holiday off..etc
Cons: new administration changes and civil service
Currently I enjoy working with a great supervisor, and the ability to work directly with the community and helping with their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basketball, soccer and football programs, pool and workout room
Coach Youth Soccer (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 23, 2014
rating based on part time job, great place to start in order to learn customer service, working with youth and managing records.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security
Park patrol/Security officer (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJanuary 27, 2014
Government job gives a a place where you can take your career in a whole lot of different directions.
If you work in Government, you work for the Nation's upliftment which is your upliftment, and if you work in a private sector, you are spending your time and energy to make a few individuals affluent !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working with kids
Recretional Leader (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: n/a
working with kids was the best and I had a lot of fun getting to know them. Also going on field trips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interactive work place
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 21, 2013
Pros: lots of trainning
supervise pool or beach area in rotations
great co workers
hardest part is when there are no swimmers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Provisional Assistant stationary HVAC Engineer (Former Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 19, 2013
Opportunities with maintenance such as changing filters, belts Repair of Pumps, motors, valves, Generators, chillers, walk in coolers, and cenTraVac units etc . Acquired skills with pool operations and Maintenance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative/Customer Service Support Staff
Administrative Support Staff (Current Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 2, 2013
I rate the City of Rochester as wonderful place to work for. The area that I work with, is dealing with customers whether it's internal or external and let's not forget the personal contact. I enjoy helping people as well as learning new things when it comes to doing my job well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
groundkeeper (Former Employee), Rochester, NYJune 28, 2013
Pros: communication, people person
Cons: its always a job u can come back to
communication
i learned to be a great people person i got along with my team members very well
that hardest part of about the job it was only seasonal
the most enjoyable thing about working with the city it mabe me a stronger team leader and open up alot of communication skill that i didnt know i had my cowroker was very fun to be around and made the – more... job more exciting to wake up and come to everyday – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace for both the staff and the children
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester, NYApril 30, 2013
Pros: working with the children, working as a team
Cons: managing the children if you are not able to do this effectively
Since I have been working for the City of Rochester Summer Recreational programs I have enjoyed myself greatly. I enjoy wokring with the youth and providing them with entertainment and learning over the summer. I like this program because it is set hours weekly with the weekends off. The staff work well together as a team and aim to improve the environment – more... for the youth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My employment with the City of Rochester for the most part was very rewarding.
Property Inspector (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 25, 2013
I dealt with different customers both internal and external. I enjoyed using my customer service skills to satisfy the needs of both customers. Everyday presented different challenges which made my job exciting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice
Light Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 17, 2013
Pros: smooth work flow, weekly pay, the pay
Cons: manual labor, dead animals
Having to deal with and work with people of your hometown is pretty invigorating.