City of San Jose Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment with positive energy
STAFF TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 22, 2015
Pros: Support
Cons: Low Compensation
I enjoy going to work daily. I interact with various types of people and departments and feel that my opinions and evaluations are taken with seriousness. However, for being located in Silicon Valley the salary is not sufficient to survive there. As a result, my residence is over one hour away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Recreational Leader (Current Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 13, 2015
If you love working outdoors, indoors, and are sports minded this is the job for you. The plus is that you are working with members of the community and also teaching kids new skills everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Environment
GIS Intern (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 31, 2015
I learned a ton working here. As an intern all of the full time staff were ready and willing to help any time. I believe the City is headed in a fine direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and dynamic working environment
Senior Account Clerk (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 23, 2015
Good working place for permanent employee. Co-workers, most are young engineers with full energy, very handful . Team work. Managements are helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Recreation Leader (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 19, 2015
Pros: interacting with people everyday
Cons: none
Working with the city as both a rec leader and front desk staff has been awesome. I have gained so many skills while working these two positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A healthy Company
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 6, 2015
Pros: Healthy Work Environment
Cons: Contract bases
The Boss was a visionary man, whom treated his product, staff and partners like his family and children.The majority of the faculty were of the same mind and were not only helpful toward one another but also focused on the growth of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team oriented environment
Public Works Intern (Current Employee), San Jose, CAApril 26, 2015
I am a utility locator for the City of San Jose. My typical day consists of reviewing active job tickets within the city to determine whether or not we have utilities in the area. If our utilities are – more... present at the site in question it is my job to go to the site in order to locate our utilities. While working in this position I have gained a real understanding of the process behind big capital improvement jobs and developments and even the importance of "Call before you Dig" on small in home repairs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an employee focused workplace with job security.
PLANT MECHANIC (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 4, 2015
Pros: great pay and benefits. possibility of overtime. great co-workers.
Cons: water treatment plants are dangerous places to work and safety is extremely important.
Each day starts with morning meetings to discuss the days major events with input and questions from the appx. 35 mechanics. Work orders are divided into groups by designated sections of the plant and – more... are either handed to or retrieved by the mechanics. Personal tools and plant supplied tools are signed out at maintenance and or the warehouse. Mechanics travel to the job site via electric cart assigned to them or various equipment needed to perform tasks i.e. back hoe, crane, forklift, etc. I learned much about water treatment plant operations and maintenance, and safety. Confined space, s.c.b.a., trenching regulations, oxyacetylene use, c.p.r., fire safety, lock out, tag out electrical procedures and all types of welding, cutting and metal work needed at the plant. Management consisted of a plant manager who held weekly meetings with the plant mechanical supervisor ant the senior mechanics to each section of the plant along with operations and electrical supervisors. Each section would report on equipment repairs and when it would be back in service. My co-workers would assist in completing large projects such as tank overhaul or underground piping projects. Co-workers would also be operations or electricians personnel depending on the type of equipment involved. Getting some projects entirely completed, whether it was getting the materials to complete the job or not let the job linger due to a seniors distraction to other tasks. I always would say, " come on, lets finish the job" whether it's to clean up the mess left behind or motivate individuals. The most enjoyable part of my job was knowing that i took pride in my work and the results will show it and getting the job done in a safe and timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for a student!
Council Assistant Intern for District 7 (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJanuary 23, 2015
I was able to learn a lot while I was here! I was also able to help the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy employees
Park Maintenance worker (Former Employee), San Jose, CANovember 4, 2014
The management motivate you to complete jobs and actually work with you if the job has a deadline.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met some of my best friends there!
Recreation Leader (Current Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 28, 2014
Pros: many centers to choose from
So many different opportunities in so many departments

The kids appreciate what you do for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Marketing, Communications, Training Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: employees
Cons: downsized salary and increased workload with current mayor
There were no typical days - heavy workload, great staff - best part of the job was the ability to conduct Leadership Training and Development, serve on mentoring panels, being a mentor for staff from – more... all departments, implementing a Recognition Program for all departments. Hardest part of the job, not enough time to do all that needed to be done due to serious downsizing. Very family friendly workplace. What I learned is what I taught - leadership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, bad managment
Technical Support Engineer (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 6, 2014
Pros: people, and good food around
Cons: managment
Working for the city was great experience, but the lack of communication from management was a huge draw back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Recreation Leader (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 21, 2014
Pros: helping kids stay out of trouble
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at work would be supervising kids, and creating games or activities that fit there age range which they would have fun participating in. I learned how to be patient with kids. The management – more... team was great because they supported our decisions. My co-workers were fun because we game together with ideas that the kids would have fun with. The hardest part of the job was trying not to yell at the kids. The most enjoyable part of my job being able to help kids that were going through a rough time in their life and making it better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, energetic place to work
Assistant to Deputy Director Economic Development (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: management & team
I worked in the Office of Economic Development with the City of San Jose. The department was fast paced and well run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for a fun library is great!
Library Aide (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 24, 2014
A typical work day consists of sorting books and shelving books. As you grow more knowledgeable you will start to help patrons with questions they have and work on the in-house database the library uses. – more...

What I have learned at the library;
-People skills
-Customer service
-Working with a database

Management is the best, they all want to see a person grew. They are the most friendly bunch of managers I have ever hand.

Co-workers are very friendly and a great bunch of people I have met. They are all hard workers and always willing to lend a hand.

There are no real hard parts about the job, expect for patrons taking out their anger out on you when they have fines.

The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to work with everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for experience
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 13, 2014
Slow advancement, lower pay due to mayor's pay-cuts and increasing mandatory pension contributions. Lab personnel are great to work with, and management is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Specialist II (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMay 23, 2014
After 10 years of working for the City of San Jose, it was an excellent team to work for. I enjoyed my years with them however left to a promotion. If I had the opportunity to go back, I would.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for people who are becoming for teachers, youth-coordinators
Recreation Leader- Youth Site Coordinator (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 1, 2014
Pros: great pay for students and those that want their foot on the door to a government agency.
Cons: takes years or political influence to move up to a position.
Being a youth coordinator, I managed and implented youth recreation programs. I led the day to day operations and agenda for youth. My co-workers were the most genuine and hard-working people I've ever – more... met. I learned how to be an effective leader, and an organized, punctual administrator. The most challenging about the job is having projects after project, but rewarding. The most enjoyable part of the job is at the end of the day is having the positive social and life impact on youth that I served. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of San Jose
Human Resources Division Manager (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJanuary 27, 2014
Great place to work. The City is innovative and transparent with the services that it provides its residents. Highly recommended.