Find companies:
CITY OF SACRAMENTO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

CITY OF SACRAMENTO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of Work and Worth It
Maintenance, Repair, and Facilities (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 21, 2014
Working for the city was a good experience. I had an great supervisor and work along with an good team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice professional environment as a EKG technician
Organize, lead (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 22, 2014
Pros: professional environment
Cons: healthcare
I graduated as a EKG Technician and got my certificate and pass the exam and also have my CPR license contact me if your interested.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a great time working for my supervisor she was an excellent boss. I appreciate the opportunity she gave me that nobody else did.
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: free food on various holidays, birthdays, meetings.
Cons: parking was horrible. (downtown area)
A typical day at work started with updating my boss on her meetings, messages, memos, ext. Then if needed I'd format agendas for meetings. I'd also make sure all of my bosses files and documents were in order. Various typical office tasks was an everyday thing. Any free time I had I spent on the Microsoft Office Training Program, I learned a few tricks – more... to various office programs. Around lunch time I'd go get my boss something to eat if she was still in her meetings, so she can eat before heading to her next meeting. After lunch i'd make sure she had all of her meetings were re-updated, i'd also send out meeting requests if needed. I sorted all of her email to individual folders by person or topic. I'd typically end the day with making sure our office area was clean and organized and made sure all office supplies were stocked for the following day. My co-workers were very kind, there were quiet ones but I was quiet myself, I got along with everyone I never had any issue with a co-worker. They were all very enjoyable to work with and i learned a lot from them with work lessons and life lessons. The hardest part of the job was having to leave it for school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working with the community
Human Service Analyst (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: community
Cons: low pay
Working for a collaborative was great learning experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home at the time, often went to lunch as a team
Typist Clerk II- Building and Fire Permits (Former Employee), Sacramento, caJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: good people, close to home at the time
Cons: temp position, mostly male enviroment
I was a temp for the City, but during that time I learned alot about the permit process and how important it is for people homes and business. I worked with alot of older men, infact I was the only women in the department. But was treated with respect and as an equal. Because I was a temp assigned to help them catch up on back logged work it made it – more... hard to fill the day once we were caught up. I most enjoyed the department dinner night. Once a month we would get together as a team and all go to dinner and get to know each other as people not just co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college or seasonal job
Recreation Aide (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: easy money, summer fun
Cons: supervisors can be selfish
Playing games with kids, How cool is that??

Learned how to manage 55 youths by myself with no issues.

Patience is a virtue.

The kids will remember you forever! that's both a pro and a con.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent First Job
Office Assistant/File Clerk (Former Employee), Sacramento, CADecember 29, 2013
I enjoyed working here as an intern for the WIA program. I was only 16 at the time of my employment, so everyone was nice and was willing to teach me everything that I needed to know in order to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Service Worker (Current Employee), Sacramento, CADecember 19, 2013
Pros: job security, benefits, nice shop
Cons: working around garbage, smell
Love my Job. A typical day is pretty easy. Will usually consist of performing B.I.T inspections and servicing vehicles and trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Parking Enforcement Officer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 19, 2013
Pros: good workplace
Cons: downtime
Getting the job done, to help others, make sure the product is ready, helping when needed, downtime, completeing the task that is priority and on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Internship for someone Fresh out of Highschool
Parks Leader Academy for Youth (Former Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 10, 2013
Pros: good work experience
Cons: tempory & stipend pay
Awesome Job for High school Seniors & for someone looking to gain experience in Politics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with a team environment, where we tried to maintain the cleanliness of outdoor parks and playgrounds.
Youth Aide (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 31, 2013
It very fun and enjoyable to work with my co-workers. We help each other and get our jobs done quickly. We picked up trashes and debriefs around the parks to make the place look more cleaner. The hardest part of the job was the weather; sometime it's too hot to work in an outside environment. So far, I learned how to help other and handle my job properly. – more... I learned how to please my boss by showing up on time and do what my boss told me to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my work with the city of Sacramento
Recreational Leader (Former Employee), 3201 West River dr. Sacramento, Ca. 95833September 29, 2013
Pros: spending time outside the building
Cons: cleaning bathrooms
Every day after breakfast I take the kids out to the playground. They played until lunch time. After that they would take a nap. If the weather was cold we stayed inside the building more but we always made sure we spend some time outdoor. I read them stories twice a day. The director of the facility was a very nice a professional woman. It was nice – more... working for her. My coworkers were all about the same age and we got along really well. The hardest part of the job was we had to clean the bathrooms, mop the floor, and clean up after the kids. The most enjoyable part of the job was played games with the kids and heard their laughter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for a career
Account Technician (Current Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 23, 2013
It depends on the department you work in. My day is different everyday since I assist two departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
ADMINISTRATIVE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), SacramentoAugust 21, 2013
Pros: supportive environment
Everyone at the City is great. The Parking Services Team is like a second family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy atmosphere
Typist Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 23, 2013
Receptionist front desk duties. Co-workers were friendly. Busy office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work for one person
TC III (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 12, 2013
I was expected to open the office, make coffee, sort and deliver mail, a/p, a/c, keep inventory of artwork, clean kitchens, and supervise workers under me. I especially did not enjoy the neighborhood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifeguard Management
Management Senior Guard (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 10, 2013
Pros: fun in the sun, good pay
Cons: long hours
I was taught how to manage other people in a professional setting, and how to schedule shifts around certain things like summer school and summer vacations. I also learned typical lifeguard things like advanced first aid, rescues, and rescue scenarios
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning Parks
Youth Aide (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 30, 2013
Leading a group of people to work together and cleaning the environment and the neighborhood parks. helping the community have enough trees, planting more as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sacramento Start
Program Leader, Americorps Member, Recreation Aide (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 24, 2013
Pros: open nutrition discuss with the children
Cons: no benefits
Monday through Friday I teach a fitness and nutrition curriculum to elementary school children. I would alternate between recreation and nutrition days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City government job
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Sacramento,CAJune 12, 2013
Pros: seasonal job good for students
Cons: can be very physically demanding
Lots of different jobs to do for the city. Lifeguard is pretty cool but does have a high turnover rate due to most of the employies are pretty young.