City of Sarasota Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good place to work.
Senior Planner (Current Employee) –  Sarasota, FLApril 22, 2017
This is a very busy place to work. I wish any applicant the best of luck.At this point I am looking to advance and try new projects. I have been with the city over ten years and want to move forward in my work.
Pros
New projects all the time.
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Landscape Technician (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLApril 17, 2017
Management needs to be able to get training for full or part time employees that desire to move up in the company.
They are very flexible when you need time off but they do not offer parttime employees the benefit of insurance of any type. Even of they had a dental plan it would be great. But I can understand that with the Affordable Care Act, it is cheaper for most part time persons to purchase their own.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work with room for upgrades
Crew Leader II (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJanuary 20, 2016
New technology -Challenges to get management to understand workers needs and vice versa. Morale is tight rope walk to keep all happy. Emergency situations was most challenging. Project completions with all parties satisfied.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freindly co-workers and a knowledgeable staff
Horticulturist (Former Employee) –  Sarasota FLMarch 17, 2014
One of the best jobs I ever had even though I did not have many. The co-workers were awesome and the management always ready to lend a hand, yes, meaning they actually did something rather then sit in there office and just look busy. The team and I took care of Sarasota's common areas such as the medians and parks. We planted trees policed the area for garbage or junk, replaced trees and flora when took out by a vehicles. All and all It was a great experience don't really know why I left for the army guess my age was moving quicker than my plans.
Pros
Great people
Cons
made me drive a big truck with a horid smell
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people to work with
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sarasota, FLOctober 21, 2013
Excellent atmostphere and profeesionals to work with.

Constantly learning new ideas and programs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil service can be tough
Sarasota Employee (Former Employee) –  SARASOTA, FLOctober 7, 2013
But the experience is priceless and has helped me gain perspective and the ablity to function in any environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good Experience
Student Employee (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLNovember 15, 2012
Fun learning experience which taught/prepared me for the real world and working envrionments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Great Experience
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLMay 21, 2012
I Learned Many New Programs On The Computer it required alot of patience,i met alot of important people it brung me out of shyness ive learned t.v production how to edit & create videos! it was a fun & great experience!
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 14Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Sarasota. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.5
Culture
3.3

City of Sarasota Reviews by Location