City of Savannah Employee Reviews

Showing all 46 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Permit Specialist (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAMay 6, 2014
Good company to work for, plenty of chances for advancement, benefits a plus.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal position
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAApril 30, 2014
Great environment and positive coworkers which made the position enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lawn Care Supervisor
Lawn Care Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Park Ave.February 25, 2014
I arrive to work at 7:30 a.m. get the daily agenda from manger & further information if any. Then the worker arrive to work at 8 a.m. , I help them unload the equipment from trailer. After unloading the equipment, I let everyone know the task for to day and the address for the lawns to cut. Then I break everyone into two groups and we take care of all lawns on the agenda.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for the City
Communications Officer (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GeorgiaFebruary 21, 2014
The City of Savannah was a great company to work for. But Communications Dept is awful. Rotating shifts.
Pros
benefits
Cons
micromanaged to death
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family
Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 31, 2013
Great company! Excellent work environment. More like family. Very helpful. Treats everyone like family
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A staff committed to seeing the city's youth succeed.
Education Specialist (Former Employee) –  SavannahNovember 5, 2013
The City's Pre-Apprentice program changed lives! The staff was very committed to giving the students the best of the best from the community. Program Director was very resourceful and had a great way with the kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Senior Network Technician (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 19, 2013
Fast Paced, A good group within the department to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
server (Former Employee) –  pigeon forgeJune 20, 2013
enjoyed working here, management is really well trained and a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Antiquated corporate culture; no room for advancement.
Sr Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJune 13, 2013
Management micro manages. Mediocrity is the norm. Able to learn a lot without the benefit of formal training. Hardest part of the job is getting the buy in from other departments throughout the project life cycle.

The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing users embrace new system implementation.
Pros
benefits are ok.
Cons
no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pray that you don't work in the Water Dept
Former Cashier Water Dept (Current Employee) –  SCCPDApril 6, 2013
The cashier position is an entry level position. You do not take breaks. The environment is customer driven and very busy. Co-workers can be very nice, but are afraid of the supervisor. The supervisor has been there forever and all she does is clip coupons all day. She is very, very nosey and wants to make sure you are not going to get her job. She shows favortism to male workers. So if you are an intelligent female, forget it. That's why there are mainly young men working there. The supervisor does not get along with her supervisor, but pretends to. The training that you get is not adequate or thorough.... learn quick and don't talk to anyone. Oh, make sure u brown-nose with the supervisor and cater to her, you may last longer.
Pros
benefits, hours, professional atmosphere
Cons
no breaks, jealous & insecure management, intimidated coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes28No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Deputy Marshal (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJanuary 31, 2013
A great place to work,with great supervisors and fellow employees!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJanuary 29, 2013
Good place to work! Learning multitude of things. The opportunity for advancement always presented itself.
Pros
meeting different people
Cons
overload of work at times
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Administrative clerk (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJanuary 18, 2013
A typical day at work. I have learned more about the city that I live in. I have learned about some state and federal laws that I did not know.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love It
Tech Page/Library Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GANovember 14, 2012
It was enjoyable working with this company. Benefits where great and the people were wonderful to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Savannah Fire
Firefighter (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAOctober 10, 2012
You will fight fire if you are at the right station.
I learned a lot here.
Management is good, they pay per performance. such as if you obtain a license or certificate, you get extra pay.
Pros
good city, good crews
Cons
very little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, poor resource management
Firefighter (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAOctober 7, 2012
Since starting this career, the City of Savannah has changed my career path by adding educational requirements.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job as Parking attendant
parking services/ attendant (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAOctober 7, 2012
I work a 12hr shift on Sat and Sun from 5am to 5pm. I like working with all different ethinic background and being in a Team Player environment.
I luv my job, and benefits, but there is really not much advancement, and need a full-Time job.
Pros
good benefits, stable environment
Cons
part-time, litttle advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for college students
Recreational Leader (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 20, 2012
Love working in sports and children. The people love what they do! The job is great for college students. This was a great job! You would love working there if you love sports. The staff is very friendly. There's nothing hard about this job. This job is time consuming. I learned to be a people person and enjoyed going to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting place for an Intern
Volunteer/ Intern (Current Employee) –  Savannah City HallJuly 16, 2012
The environment is very interesting and fun. I'm working on archiving the "Oral History Project for Ellis Square" which is located in the Historic District of Savannah, GA. I am catorgorizing the information gathered for later research use.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good group of people
Senior Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 15, 2012
This job was like no other. This is a waist water treatment plant. You not only had to worry about the mechanicl hazards there was the bio hazards and chemical hazards. I enjoyed the employees.
Pros
medical and dental
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture