CITY OF SCHERTZ Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life
Environmental Health Manager (Current Employee) –  Schertz, TXMarch 28, 2017
Great work family balance. Family atmosphere that care about individual employees. Great community and mostly enjoyable place to work. Able to learn through training.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro management big time.
Former Em (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXFebruary 14, 2017
Horrible management, very good old boy system, fit in or get kicked out. They find things to investigate you on if you are not apart of the click.

Some good officers there that really like being officers ,

They protect who they like.
Pros
A few good officers
Cons
Favoritism, micro managed. Empty promises. To many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Emergency Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXJanuary 4, 2016
A great place to work if you can handle stressful situations. Can be very fast paced or very mellow depending on the day. The best part about the workplace is it is a family and there is always someone there to help you if you need it.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
PURCHASING MANAGER (CPM) (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXOctober 16, 2015
I started my career as a police officer until I got injured in the line of duty. Their ability to locate another position for me was what lead to the progression of my career in municipalities.
Pros
great people
Cons
management from time to time
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but not fun at all
Utilities Supervisor-Solid Waste Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXMay 4, 2015
management had it's favorites with those not qualified for the position. they got the job over the person who was qualified for the position.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Water and preventive maintenance department. (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXJuly 24, 2014
Always work together to get the job done and help out other departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people i worked made it fun
Drainage (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXJune 23, 2014
aintain city drainage systems; working with concrete and power tools for repairs.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment is good
POLICE SERGEANT (Current Employee) –  Schertz, TXMarch 2, 2014
The City is a good place to work for. Training is available and co-workers are good to work with. The department is pro-active and the City is growing. This is a good and fun place to work.
Pros
Management is helpful, training is good
Cons
Pay compression, benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job
Animal Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXMarch 28, 2013
Working for a municipality can be difficult at time, but this city was great. They were all about advancing for your learning, and the pay was great along with the benefits. I ran into some major medical issues, and my employer was right there with me the whole time. Never had a employer go that extra mile. Wish I could of stayed with them, and not had to move.
Pros
great team, awesome employer, always family friendly
Cons
being on call, and dealing with unpleasant situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CITY OF SCHERTZ. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

CITY OF SCHERTZ Reviews by Location