City of Scottsdale Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace!
Site Supervisor, Mohave Middle School (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZOctober 16, 2015
Great leadership and fun work! This was one of my favorite jobs. I enjoyed teaching and inspiring kids. The management was some of the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 16, 2015
I really enjoyed my experience working at the City of Scottsdale. I learned quite a bit, there was never a dull moment and the city gave me raises every year with the exception of the last year when the city had a freeze, however, I continued to have a job.
Pros
Lots of opportunity to grow and learnd
Cons
some management was not always best management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best of the Best
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 2, 2015
The most rewarding job in my career - working with the most talented and dedicated people. Top notch talent and state of the art equipment dedicated to providing visitors and citizens the best experience possible.
Pros
Management, Safety, Quality, Communication
Cons
The HEAT - it's a 24*7 job and it is hot in AZ!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Youth Basketball Coach (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJune 20, 2015
coached elementary school kids in basketball. Gained valuable experience being able to lead and set good examples for a younger group of people. I enjoyed having fun enhancing skills in the sport of basketball and teaching. The hardest part of this job was controlling the kids at times. I really enjoyed working with my co-workers, and we have developed a friendship outside of work. Management did a great job in setting me up for success by providing materials and guidelines in how to handle the kids when they got restless at times.
Pros
time went by fast, very fun job
Cons
driving distance, frustration with kids at points.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Police Officer Recruit
Police Officer Recruit (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJune 18, 2015
Excellent career and great employer. The City of Scottsdale is a great place to work for and they have a great culture and people focused staff.
Pros
Great location, excellent people.
Cons
High risk career. Personal safety on the line.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale AZJune 15, 2015
Worked there for 12 years and loved every minute of it. Worked with a great group of professionals.

Loved working with the public.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Human Resources team
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJune 7, 2015
I interned in the Human Resources Department for one semester of graduate school. The HR team is professional, helpful, and knowledgeable, in addition to being easy to work with. They all really care about their jobs and about their internal customers.

During this time, I interacted with employees from many City of Scottsdale departments. Without exception, they made me feel welcomed and relevant.

I highly recommend working here.
Pros
Great co-workers, good perks such as fitness facility access
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Scottsdale is a good place to work
POLICE OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMay 12, 2015
The City of Scottsdale is a good place to work. There are many positions and good benefits. Politics plays important role in job advancement and pay raises. Overall a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work long term
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMarch 22, 2015
The job is a great job with security and benefits to working here. The management and counsel however are not friendly nor do they typically back what the employees do.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZFebruary 24, 2015
A typical day is maintaining and landscaping of the city property. I learned a lot about how to maintain the care of all plants. The management and co-workers were easy to get along with and great to work with.
Pros
great work hours
Cons
work week schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and enjoyable workplace with an excellent staff.
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZFebruary 12, 2015
I learned many skills to prepare myself to take a management position. I worked with people and became very confident and independent in dealing with any obstacles in the public.I loved my coworkers and enjoyed each shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work Environment
Project Management Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZOctober 20, 2014
Great places to eat! I learned about Capital Project Management. Flexible work hours, which was nice.
Pros
great restaurants
Cons
lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Scottsdale
Recreation Leader II (Former Employee) –  ScottsdaleAugust 7, 2014
Great learning experience working with the City of Scottsdale!
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with a variety of different software
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJuly 24, 2014
Great place to work, especially in customer service. Very friendly co-workers, great opportunity to learn new things
Pros
wide variety of duties
Cons
need to realize my own limitations
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, minimal supervision needed
Volleyball Referee (Former Employee) –  ScottsdaleApril 30, 2014
I knew the rules already so I didn't need much supervision. Wasn't there long enough to get to know co-workers. Hardest part was being patient with the parents who complained about the rules because it was not a serious league (2nd-6th grade). Enjoyable getting to share my knowledge and work with kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning expierence
Telemetry Controls Specialist/Networking (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZApril 16, 2014
Hands on Technology with the newest equipment when dealing with water resource
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
o
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  scottsdale azFebruary 9, 2014
like it.
learned a lot.
great employer.
0.

operated many different types of office equipment. mechanical equipment. dealt with courts. wrote citations. supervied large staffs.
Pros
o
Cons
0
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Treatment Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale,AzDecember 23, 2013
Fantastic work experience.Great place to live.Wonderful people and work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent city.
Program Management Consultant (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 17, 2013
Excellent city administration, populated by true professionals that care about doing their job and serving the city and it's residents.
Pros
easy to work with is a major plus
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facing challenges, tumultuous...
Environmental Sustainability Analyst (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZAugust 21, 2013
Regular budgeting issues making job security increasingly challenging.
Pros
great employees, good benefits
Cons
tumultuous...
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture