City of West Palm Beach Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great city to work for.
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLApril 18, 2017
The City of West Palm Beach is a great place to work.
The benefits are great, co-workers are good people,
but the managers over the sanitation department
were despicable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Utility Locator Leader/Lead Leak Detection (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMarch 28, 2017
If you are looking to start a career, here is where you want to start. training is endless. Its about you, and how far you want to go. The employee are very friendly and welcoming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with excellent benefits.
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 24, 2017
Offers excellent benefits; health, vision, dental, vacation time, sick time, holiday pay. Also offers professional development, through online and in person trainings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please read: fast food is better! Sanitation departmen is overwhelmingly incompetently managed
Sanitation Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLAugust 13, 2016
I worked in this department over 3 years and was attackf by management the entire time of my employment simply for displaying leadership and strong work ethic far above managements! "Never out shine the master" sums up the experience. The equipmen is poorly maintained and you are forced out by hr for reporting work injuries. Apply anywhere other than the sanitation department! Management is completely incompetent and disassociated from humanity! They retaliate against you, they are actively engaged in nepotism, favoritism, creating negative false character flags, etc etc. Blind leading the blind! If you love your family and physical well being then apply anywhere else except the sanitation department!T these are bible facts! Short stafff and poorly managed
Pros
Plenty of OT and good benefits
Cons
Not a good working environment due to incompetent management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job required Excellence in all areas-great to work for.
Recreation Specialist (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJune 30, 2016
I would have 144 middle school students a day and I learned their respect by being genuine, respectful, caring, a good listener, and provided great assistance to aid students to problem solve their many issues. I managed lesson plans, evaluations, workshops, and daily routine procedures through the computer. My co-workers were great and I loved my job. The hardest part of the job was fitting lunch into my schedule. The most enjoyable part of the job was my personal relationship with administration staff, students, and co-workers.
Pros
Lunch time, excellent technology and equipment, my own computer
Cons
Short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An IT department that is maturing
Messaging Administrator (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 30, 2016
After a bit of an upheaval in 2015, the IT department at the City of West Palm Beach has been steadily growing, and is adding talented and capable IT pros. The director of the department genuinely cares about her people, making sure that her employees (contract or perm) get the tools and resources needed to get our jobs done. Altogether it's a fun environment, where I've enjoyed 6+ months of employ. I've had a chance to learn a bit about Microsoft Exchange administration and will assist in the migration from Lotus Notes to Office 365. My co-workers are a good bunch of people, who come to me with all sorts of great questions about my corner of the environment, instead of just "tossing things over the fence".
Pros
Positive managers, free snacks at department meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career.
Utility Maintenance Worker I/Trainee (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 27, 2016
I learned a lot at the City of WPB and will recommend anyone to apply. I obtained many certificates and licenses during my time there.
Pros
Ability to learn different aspects of the job.
Cons
Having to work in extensive heat during summer time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great City
Recreation Specialist (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 17, 2016
Excellent work environment.

Great employees.

Very flexible.

Most enjoyable part of the job is the environment you work it. The City of West Palm Beach is a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place learn and develop new skills through "Training"/Workshops
Program Coordinator*; Rec Leader*; Rec Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLOctober 20, 2015
Working with City of West Palm Beach - Parks & Recreation, one will learn skills that can prepare them to work in almost any position. Each Center has its different "Community demographics", but common factors when interacting with people; this broadens one's ability to expand their knowledge "culturally", with various age groups, lifestyles, backgrounds, etc. Working in Parks & Recreation helps the "worker" to grow and develop, being able to work in group/team settings, handle various, spontaneous "difficult" situations, enhance personal "responsibility"/accountability assets, time management, exercise "initiative" and innovation often, learn about City Government, and develop and maintain relationships with Community Organizations, Agencies, Programs, Youth, etc. Working in 'Recreation' allows one to enjoy many "leisure activities", Sporting events, "Fun" Centers, outdoor activities, while getting paid! It also helps one develop a "sense of community" during many emergency situations, such as 'Hurricanes' in South Florida, when helping with the distribution of "emergency" supplies; helping many youth develop "life"/social skills, excel in school, through Programming made available at Recreation Centers. Training/Workshops are incomparable, (i.e. CPR/AED/First Aid; CDL; Ethics; Self Improvement, EOP; FEMA, etc.); Educational/Degree advancement; Job Promotion Opportunities; Benefits/Retirement. Many enjoyable, lasting "memories" and friendships with co-workers, patrons, Community, and City-Sponsored Events "downtown", have been created working with City of West Palm Beach.
Pros
Training/Workshops; "leisure activities";City-Sponsored Events; "reasonable salaries"
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non productive utilities dept
GPS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  charlotte stAugust 4, 2015
Management is still an unsafe matter personnel running some areas of the dept have never performed the duties but are always ready to cut or fire personnel for circumstantial issues
Pros
benefits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMarch 10, 2015
I enjoyed working with this company. Great benefits and pay. I also enjoyed working with the students and my fellow co workers. they are always welling to give a helping hand
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the City of West Palm Beach
Acquisitions Specialist, Secretary (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 25, 2015
My work day was so full until I had to set an alarm so that I would not go over my time. I learned to organize my day and co-workers would seek me for knowledge. Hardest part of the job was stopping to take breaks (not lunch). Most enjoyable part of the job was completed tasks.
Pros
Working without the constant supervision of a boss
Cons
Raises were not consistent therefore pay was not that great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun great working place
recreaion (Current Employee) –  west palm beach floridaFebruary 18, 2015
you can gain I a lot of knowledge in parks and recreation that you wouldn't know and take it with you to help guide you and many didn't experience thru life
Pros
good experience
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Fountain Guard & Customer Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLAugust 14, 2014
I loved working with the city. the only reason for leaving is they had no hours to give and not many positions to apply for.
Pros
None
Cons
everything is great about the city of west palm beach
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Government Job
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  West Palm BeachAugust 14, 2014
Negative Attitudes. Declining compensation and benefit package (no raises in 6+ years). Great for entry into the job market and gaining experience. Hard-working, ambitious individuals will most certainly leave after 2 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Exercise
Parking Enforcement Officer (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJuly 23, 2014
So far the job is o.k. A lot of walking which is great for your health
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You never know what each day will bring
Zoning Technician (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJune 28, 2014
Stressful
Things changes when you least expect it
Never manages
Low morale
stressful to get through each day
Learning new things
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FloridaJune 10, 2014
A fast paced intensive environment that offered a unique opportunity to provide exceptional customer services through a high volume of interaction. This position allows for the opportunity to make a difference in the community
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great department to work for but City Goverment has control.
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLApril 24, 2014
4 on 4 off shift. Supervisors are helpful Higher ups only care about what the mayor wants.
Pros
Great Experiance
Cons
Upper level supervisor staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and culture challenge
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLApril 10, 2014
I don't think any day in Safety is typical. Joining the City is a challenge, I am starting the safety program from group zero, as the safety position was empty for five years. I review incident reports and help to map out Root Causes for each incident and report findings to Department Directors.
Pros
Something new every day
Cons
It's been this way for a long time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of West Palm Beach. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

City of West Palm Beach Reviews by Location