City of Wichita Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With the right people in place and maybe a significant pay raise it could be an awesome place to work, I can see the city losing a lot of great people
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 3, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job for me is meeting new people and building lasting friendships. When given the chance I have learned quite a bit under the leadership of one said supervisor by the name of Andre Wilson of the Northeast sub, this guy is amazing and will do whatever it takes to make sure the guys under his leadership get the proper training in order to perform their day to day duties. The hardest part of the job is dealing with some of my co-workers that may have personal problems and bring them to work. That to me kills the moral of any workplace!! I strongly believe that ALL individuals that work for the city should still get random drug tests because our lives depend on safety and a clear mind when dealing with heavy equipment and the public.
Pros
work hours, benefits, the ability to move around to different departments..
Cons
Short lunches, poor comunication between co-workers, and no one to report a complaint to without feeling like the victim.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay and great beneifts
Service Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJune 2, 2015
great pay and great benefits and managers are great and very knowledgeable. They allow you to do many different things so that you can learn more.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work (for government employment)
Facility Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJanuary 5, 2015
Enjoyed working for the city but have to remember that doing things following the step-by-step procedures are mandatory even if you can do it quicker and more efficiently otherwise. As with any government employment the three most important letters are CYA.
Pros
structured work environment and benefit package.
Cons
strict adherence to p&p and those can (and do) change often.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer severs
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSDecember 19, 2014
Working for the city is a hard job. Loved working with the public but hated the fax that the transit department dose not follow city policy the handling of the employee should be better then it is
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physical and dirty
Water Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 19, 2014
installing and fixing water mains and service lines

Learned how to use all kinds of tools effectively

Management was very sketchy and very unfair

Co-workers very easy to work with got along with them very good.

Digging around utilities

Running the backhoe
Pros
good benifits
Cons
the elements
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment can be stressful. I have gained life long friends.
Docket Specialist Municipal Court (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 13, 2014
A typical day, begins rather quietly at 7:00 am, but eventually picks up and can be quite hectic..The most enjoyable part of my job is being in the court room, and being able to a help a customer when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment with basketball court.
Custodian/Gym activities monitor (Former Employee) –  1329 E 16th St N, Wichita, KS 67214February 7, 2014
i performed all custodial duty's during the day from sweeping, mopping, vacum, clean restrooms my co workers were friendly.
the hardest part of the job was cleaning the toilets and the best part of the job was monitoring the gym
Pros
free lunches and two brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a terrible place to work if you can get on there.
Laborer- Water & Sewer department (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSDecember 11, 2013
good job just VERY repetitive. You get to work with a wide variety of people, it is "paid for 8, then hit the gate" type job.
Pros
decent pay, great benefits.
Cons
snow season
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and benefits
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Wichita falls,TXOctober 31, 2013
Meeting in morning and get assigned to what jobs that need to be done. Job would always change putting in new water lines, hydrants, New customer taps, Meters, and fix what ever main leaks where going on. Co workers would get together on big projects to help maintain water lose.
Hardest part of job Long hours being on call at times but paid off with the over time as well money went towards retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment with wonderful people.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSNovember 14, 2012
Lots to stay busy, people from every walk of life come together to share an experience of information, education, entertainment and business needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1

Want to know more about City of Wichita?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Customer Service Clerk (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 12, 2012
*normal eight hour shift with lunchh and 2 breaks
*became a team lead and trainer of my area
*management is mostly open and listens
*co-workers are for the most part fantastic
*the hardest part of my job is knowing that there is not anywhere to move up
*gaining a tremendous amount of knowledge and skills
Cons
unable to move up in pay grade without longterm commitment education etc. doesn't help with pay
Was this review helpful?Yes16No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management was poor
POLICE OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 4, 2012
Adversarial. Never felt like the city managers were behind thier employees.
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
upper management on a witch hunt.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experince
Docket Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wichita, ksAugust 9, 2012
Job duties same as Trial Clerk (St. of Ks)
Management was very hands on and helpfull.
all co-workers were team players
Mad customers were the hardest part of the job.
Everyone got along (all women). A plesant working enviroment.
Pros
work enviroment
Cons
unhappy people (customers)
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORKPLACE, VERY LAID BACK
Recreation Leader (Former Employee) –  WICHITA, KSMay 8, 2012
AT THIS PARTICULAR JOB I HAD A BLAST HELPING THE KIDS WITH HOMEWORK IN THE AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAM AND HELPING WITH THEIR SITUATUIONS. WE PLAYED A LOT OF GAMES AND JUST HAD A LOT OF FUN. MANAGEMENT WAS GREAT AS WELL AS THE COWORKERS!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wored for the city of Wichita for 8 1/2 years enjoyed it..great job.
Equipment Operator II (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSApril 5, 2012
8 1/2 years, enjoyed every moment there, but I had to move, moved from Kansas to Texas. and started a new life there..
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Manager
Computer Security Manager (contract) (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 27, 2012
They forgot to provide the equipment that was needed for the job-- like a car --- office ---- phone.
After 9 months of working there I was still driving my own car using my cell phone and working on any flat area I could find
Pros
listed above
Cons
listed above
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture