Clackamas County Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Urinalysis tech (Former Employee) –  Oregon City, ORSeptember 3, 2016
My job started as an internship and turned into a job. It wasn't what I wanted to do, but I met some interesting people and worked with great people as well. The pay was great and they were amazing with my school and family schedule.
Pros
Benefits and great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program Aide
Program Aide (Former Employee) –  Clackamas, ORNovember 16, 2016
Best place to work! Management was easy to work with. I was able to help many, many people receive energy assistance, some had there power off. Very rewarding!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the variety of jobs with this position!
Program Aide 2 - Temporary (Current Employee) –  Oregon City, ORJanuary 4, 2016
A typical day is answering the incoming OHP Behavioral Health client line and providing clients with Health Provider name/names to assist their particular needs.

- Daily faxes, re-name, scan to DB and send copy off to the Various Care coordinators.

- Schedule meetings for various BH team members

- Various copy projects, ie..manuals, also assisting various depts. with specific projects

- Preparing vouchers for various BH team members.

- General clerical duties & records management

Again, I like the variety of my job and the environment. All of the team members are great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Oregon City, OR 97045July 19, 2016
Government work. New variety of contracts daily. Worked mostly with Facilities Mgt. and capitol assets purchasing such as Sheriffs vehicles, and emergency equipment.
Pros
Worked 4 tens.
Cons
New manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would work here again
Health Team Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clackamas, ORMay 20, 2015
I worked in the Health Centers division. The staff I worked with were very hard to work with as a new employee. It felt very high school ish and there was employee favoritism from one manager. Then the layoffs came and the ones laid off were the ones that seemed to work the best.

Working for Clackamas County was not bad, I would not work in the Health Centers again though. Pay was ok, benefits were great but hours and time off are not flexible unless you have paid time off.
Pros
Government, Benefits
Cons
Co-workers, flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
County Slogan: How Much Can We Underutilized Our Staff?
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Oregon City, ORJuly 17, 2014
This place is terrible if you actually want to do something with your life. Everyone's nice, but I could literally get away with working for 2 hours a day, and I'd still get a merit increase. The work they give me is a joke, and managers never listen to a thing us lower level employees have to say. The benefits are good, but the pay is peanuts compared to what I would get anywhere else. There is no potential to move anywhere, and forget developing the employees.
Pros
If you brown-nose the right people, you might be ok
Cons
Incredibly political and bureaucratic
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Specialist 1
Office Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oregon CityMay 20, 2014
Performed general office duties including typing, filing, faxing and copying
Maintained detailed business records
Received and filed confidential paper work in customer files
Demonstrated excellent organizational and time management skills
Utilized all office equipment including copier and fax machine
Collected, sorted, distributed and prepared mail, messages and courier deliveries
Was this review helpful?Yes2No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities to serve
Senior Planner (Former Employee) –  Clackamas, ORJune 30, 2014
Opportunity to support elected and appointed leaders. Complex bureaucracy and variety of projects and needs. Allowed me to work hard and develop professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits, politics galore
Customer service / office mgt (Current Employee) –  Oregon City, ORApril 29, 2014
Government or any public employment is stock full of "yes, sir’s”. If you can do that and develop a well balanced sense of duty and apathy, public employment is for you.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can get ahead, you will be all right
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Oregon City, ORJune 7, 2013
Tough place to work, you feel like they want nothing but to eat you alive and throw you to the wolves- survive it, and life will be wonderful and you will make friends, break when they rip you apart and they will have you for dinner.
Pros
actual breaks
Cons
constantly being torn down
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Backwards County
Community Relations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Oregon City, ORJune 23, 2014
This county defines government dysfunction. There are some highlights, but that is outweighed by commissioners who believe they can do and say what they want and by county leadership that turns the other way.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work and daily challenges
Account Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Oregon City, ORJuly 31, 2013
We have a small finance group for the county, and the challenge is cross training with the other team members. It is rewarding in that new skills are picked up constantly in a fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a volunteer position.
Speaker/Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Clackamas County Juvenile Justice ServicesFebruary 11, 2014
Many things about the job contributed to skill growth. The distance to facilitations was sometimes challenging due to traffic at the appointed hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very advanced, reliable working enivornoment.
Owner/Chef (Former Employee) –  Milwaukie, OregonJanuary 3, 2012
Would love for the restaurant to still be open, It was a wonderful place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job and position
Senior Citizen's Council (Former Employee) –  Oregon City, ORFebruary 3, 2013
Program Head amazing learned many ways to help people in need
Pros
communication
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Clackamas County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

Clackamas County Reviews by Location