Find companies:
Clear Channel Media + Entertainment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Clear Channel Media + Entertainment Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and fun place to work.
Promotions Assistant (Current Employee), Saint Louis Park, MNJuly 5, 2014
Working for Clear Channel Media + Entertainment is great. Each day is different from the last. On an average day I oversee interns, update webpages and provide support to the Promotions Directors.

I have learned the art of multi-tasking and how to handle high pressure situations. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with talent and assisting – more... with large concerts/events affiliated with each station. Balancing office work and events off-site is challenging, but I love it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive Environment, not enough hours
Promotions Assistant and Part Time programming (Former Employee), West Palm Beach, FLJune 26, 2014
Pros: learning experience, sometimes free concert tickets
Cons: not enough hours
I loved working at Clear Channel, there were so many different things I learned. Typically, if we had an event, I would make sure I came prepared and loaded up all the equipment for the event. I had to coordinate with others as well to make sure the event was in place. If I was running the board, I had to make sure my tech was at the event so we could – more... put on the broadcast.

Management always made sure we were operating efficiently and took care of us the best they could. My coworkers were reliable and easy to work with. The hardest part of the job was getting everyone to be on the same page as far as clients and management, techs and talent. There were a lot of people to keep track of but we did a good job. The most enjoyable part of the job was going to events and meeting listeners and representing the stations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Account Executive (Former Employee), Charleston, SCJune 18, 2014
Pros: exiting industry
Cons: too corporate
Great sales team
Great resources
Great Stations
Hardest part of the job was keeping up with all the internal reports and reviews needed on top of numerous meetings that kept the flow of productivity down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Network Radio Traffic Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 14, 2014
Fun and cool office, not always room to move depending on what department you are in, but easy to network and branch out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining, but detail oriented
National Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 12, 2014
A mostly entertaining environment in the radio industry.

A typical day at work includes checking emails throughout the day, entering orders, communicating with clients and stations around the country, and organizing information.

Co-workers are generally very good at their jobs.

Details are very important in this position, which is something that – more... I learned more about from when I started. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not fun anymore
DIGITAL CONTENT COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 3, 2014
Pros: great company to start your career
Cons: the pay is very disappointing; no merit increases, not even a cost of living increase
I don't feel as though I'm fairly compensated for the work that I do. Pay and benefits aren't up to snuff, and I believe that that is a reflection of corporate policies outside of the control of anybody I work with directly. I believe the company values profit over people, and profit over product--as many of our stations carry nationally syndicated – more... programming that moves away from the strength of radio. Staff in all departments is spread too thin, and more responsibilities are heaped onto individuals with no increase in pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship experience
Marketing and Promotions Intern (Former Employee), Burbank, CAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: fun events, great staff, pleasant working environment
Cons: internships unpaid
Plenty of things to learn and do as an intern. A lot of office duties as well as involvement in radio events. Very fun and worthwhile experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We get stuff done, while having fun!
Promotions Director, WXTB & WFUS (Previously WMTX) (Current Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 8, 2013
It is a work hard, play hard environment. We are one big family that works as a team to be the best in the market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company
Employee (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 2, 2013
Pros: health, dental, investment options
To me, it is an average multi-million dollar corporation where there are a few perks and the workers are all under paid and over worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom Line is More Important than Employee Retention
Senior Sales Administrator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2013
I have learned a great deal, grown within myself and have gained a many positive experiences from working at Clear Channel. My co-workers are great people to work with and the brand of Clear Channel is almost fool proof. However, the executive team at Clear Channel has shown they are really only concerned about the bottom line. The turn over-rate has – more... been unnecessarily high. The main complaint seems to be lack of training, lack of advancement and lack of raises in compensation. Clear Channel has not given a cost of living raise in over five years. They do offer benefit packages which is a plus, but it only goes so far when your sales assistants do not make enough to cover the insurance rate. I gave the company 2 stars because of how they treat their employees. They have the potential to be a great company to work for but they need a lot of work to get there. They need to understand that human capital is a very important thing and should probably invest some of their time and money into keeping the very talented people they have, at their company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Account Executive (Current Employee), Hamden, CTJuly 8, 2013
Pros: free perks
Cons: no expense reimbursement
Clear Channel Media + Entertainment is a fun place to work. You can succeed if you work hard and stay focused. Highs and lows.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Coworkers, company ...not so much
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee), ALJune 14, 2013
Pros: work schedule flexibiliity
Cons: lack of training/compensation
Training process needs to be improved and uniformed. Enjoyed the flexibility with daily affairs. The market is tough to grow business beacuse of overlapping prospects with coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Promotions Coordinator (Current Employee), Nashville, TNApril 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch sometimes
Fun enviroment to work in, but the ball must never be dropped or you might be dropped. Great place to start off at and learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Account Executive (Current Employee), Portsmouth, NHMarch 10, 2013
Clear Channel Media+Entertainment is a wonderful place to work - it allows you to be very creative and management supports employees - great benefits package as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are just a number
Account Executive (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: available plastic silverware
Cons: everything else
They make it almost impossible for you to make money. With commission changes happening 3 times within one year (End of Jan 2012- Jan 2013) and other means which are too ridiculous to even explain. The environment is very cliquey between managers and managers and certain account executives. CC is about growth and development for them, not you. 100% – more... Commission, no car, phone or lunch allowance. Plus they are in debt. Good luck – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a difficult position.
National Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 6, 2013
This is an entry-level position, so it's not difficult. Management is great, and very clear about what they need from you. Stable workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 26, 2013
Good people to work with. Hard to move up within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management team in Charlotte, NC. Positive-encouraging environment.
Account Executive (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 7, 2012
Pros: lots of opportunities for free tickets and free food from advertisers, very social job
Cons: high pressure to close business (typical for sales)
Radio advertising sales is a detail oriented job. Research, cold-calling, lots of driving, talking to everyone. Making the sale is only part of the process. Copywriting, production, order entry, credit terms,presentations, promotions and collections are all part of the job.

The managers in Charlotte are very encouraging and supportive. They are constantly – more... rolling out new things to sell.

The co-workers are all very hard working. Weak links are revealed right away.

Hardest part of the job is getting thru the order booking, credit system for new clients based on the software they use. It is cumbersome and has too many steps to be able to work quickly. It can take up to three days to put in a first time order.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me is cold-calling outside the office, finding out the clients needs and presenting result driven marketing plans and doing interactive promotions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People at top are growing
Promotions (Current Employee), IANovember 5, 2012
Radio is changing with very little concern for those who actually do the work. Lots of delegation but no reward for those who are actually behind the scenes and make things work. Insurance is bad, turning into data and contest entry and corporate is taking over with all their quarterly contesting so local clients are put on the back burner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Bad Management
PROMOTIONS COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: free movies passes and tickets to concerts, parties, casual work environment
Cons: over worked, under paid; poor management; no room for development or growth; great co-workers
My experience at Clear Channel started out well, but due to a lot of organizational changes in order to cut budget during the down economy, has turned the company sour and the employees bitter.

As with any corporate job, you are just a number and can be replaced. Clear Channel Chicago makes you well aware of this as they have a high turnover rate in – more... comparison to most companies. I attribute this to low employee morale and managers without sufficient training. This is at least true in the Chicago cluster. I can't say I've heard the same in other markets.

A typical day was never the same. Things always are changing with media updates and never ending client needs. Which makes it fresh and new, but unless you have an upper management role you will not be compensated accordingly. Hours are long, stressful and go well beyond a typical 9 to 5.

On the bright side, I gained a countless number of skills and knowledge as far as the execution of service. My favorite part of the job are the many friendships, professional contacts and mentors I continue to keep in contact with. – less