CME Group Employee Reviews

Found 104 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet a lot of characters
TRADER/BROKER (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 17, 2017
Face pace work place,high stress at times.Great location in loop.Near public transportation.Very male dominated place,lots of security.Great learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detail oriented environment lacking life/work balance
Lead Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 15, 2017
I've learned a lot at CME and I there is much more to explore.
Great teammates and peers plus good opportunities to increase your skills and learn new staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tremendous opportunities for success
MEMBER AND FLOOR TRADER (Former Employee) –  chicago,illinoisJuly 27, 2017
"The Merc" was a great place for me -- as primarily an independent floor trader, I was able to work when I wanted in a positively professional environment--it was very lucrative for me anyway
Pros
chaos turned to order
Cons
some people were not so nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as a trader for myself
Futures Trader (Former Employee) –  Libertyville, ILJuly 27, 2017
Everyday it was up to me to find opportunities in the market. income was based on your success daily. you ate what you killed. it was a very competitive environment.
Pros
total work life balance
Cons
no health insurance no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Market Surveillance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 24, 2017
learned many things. computer knowledge was greatly enhanced. Ability to work on your own projects as well as team efforts. Left to complete your duties without interference.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain tons of experience
Asset Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 18, 2017
CME Group was a great place to work and learn. As an intern, CME helped my IT skills grow tremendously. All my co workers were very knowledgable and always willing to pass that knowledge down to better the company as a whole.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Core technology intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 18, 2017
I was an intern here and had the best manager. Very engaging and supportive.Wold recommend to those that want to gt ahead in life. Excellent place to grow and learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for CME GROUP
Lead Investigator/Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 9, 2017
Typically I worked as a manager overseeing investigations and enjoyed working with the analysts I oversaw. I also worked with various institutions whose traders conducted business with the Mercantile Exchange as well as the COMEX.

The reports I was in charge of completing involved taking depositions which were often led to disciplinary action. I enjoyed testifying and running depositions. I also settled the crude and oil markets daily.

I would have liked to stay at CME GROUP, however, the job was eliminated.
Pros
Easy to work in the environment I was in.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
IT Intern (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ILJune 21, 2017
skills are challenged, busy environment, lots of people to communicate with and great mentors to seek advice from. Company takes good care of employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Market Surveillance Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 6, 2017
Great company to work for. Lots of resources and the technology is impeccable. Would highly recommend to anyone interested in CME Group or in derivatives.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about CME Group?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic pace but rewarding for hard workers.
Client Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 24, 2017
The CME group has a hectic pace and requires total continuity with other employees. CME group provides a rewarding career to those who put in the extra effort
Pros
short hours
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, tough to advance
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 10, 2017
Company pays fairly and has great benefits. Very difficult to advance unless you are part of the right group. It does not matter your previous experience and performance, very likely to find several
people in the company with less experience but higher seniority level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge company with equal opportunity
PC Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 7, 2017
Working at CME proved to be a great start in my career as a Helpdesk Technician. with the huge amount of users that needed to be supported, I learned to work quickly and efficiently. Work policies helped keep the work environment productive and communication with our users easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working environment with helpful team
Student Intern, Technology (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 3, 2017
Good learning experience.
Freedom to use new technologies for best results.
More focused on performance and automation using java and python.
More agile processes are followed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, Dynamic Environment
Desktop Support (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 19, 2017
CME Group was perhaps the best workplace I have personally experienced although I would say it is not for the faint of heart if you wish to excel and move up the ranks demonstrating the capcity to lead amongst leaders is at minimum a prerequisite.
Pros
Great team members who support group growth, excellent compensation packages
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Corporate Communications Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 9, 2017
Good place for stable job in your later years, not so much for fresh grad out of college. Co-workers were nice. Women's initiative at the firm is commendable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive experience of my internship
Big Data Solution Developer, Data Mining Team (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 24, 2016
CME is a huge trading firm, from where I learnt a lot knowledge besides the technique ones. It seems like they outsource most of the software developement part, though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various jobs on Chicago Exchanges
COMMODITIES TRADER/BROKER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 28, 2016
Extremely intense environment that becomes very addictive for some.

Hours could be long if one has clients in different parts of the world. But exciting at same time.

Learned about GID- Get It Done now or it will haunt you later.
Pros
The environment
Cons
Your on your own
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but don't expect promotions unless someone quits above you.
Senior Market Reporter & Settlement Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 22, 2016
Overall fun, exciting place to work. I thoroughly enjoyed the environment and my coworkers; however management isn't exactly stellar. They were given their positions 20+ years ago, and even though they lack education and the capability to use basic programs, such as Microsoft Word, they remain in charge. Not sure if it's still in place, but I also received tuition reimbursement and was able to cover all schooling costs. There are definitely perks to working here.
Pros
Short hours, don't bring work home with you, fun environment, good benefits
Cons
Low salary, lack of ability to move up within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Helpdesk Manager (Former Employee) –  New YorkAugust 17, 2016
Was a professional ballplayer and traveled quit a bit. Was away from home all the time. Players became great friends to this day. Very long hours and travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CME Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 108 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8