CMHA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational
Life Coach (Former Employee) –  New Britain, CTOctober 25, 2017
It was a great experience working for CMHA, ive learned a lot being a life coach.. From dealing with varies personalities to different cultures. also behaviors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Maintance and cleaning apartments (Former Employee) –  Wellsville, OHOctober 8, 2017
I worked for other reasons and did not like the eviroment and some of the staff..They only hire people who they know and like..they do not care about any of there non paying emploies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn diffrent trades
General Labor (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 18, 2017
Good place to work learn alot there but didnt feel like i was treated fairly. So i was laid off to many times so i found other employment looking for steady work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I've Learned in my 20 year tenure...
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 8, 2017
CMHA was once a place I enjoyed going to everyday. I was part of a "Larger Picture". I was a part of something grand and I changed peoples lives. Although I've tried to uphold that value and work ethic some things just never stay the same. Many people benefit from the cause that CMHA sets forth and there are many good quailities in the Agency. But like anything it has it's flaws.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Workplace Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the atmosphere. The people I worked with were really I've and got their jobs done.
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 31, 2017
On my first few days communication was off and I was confused but eventually we got it together and I had a great experience . I got switched from stockroom to a high rise but the people I met were caring, nice, and understanding . The residents that stayed at the high rise were welcoming and caring . It was overall a good experience.
Pros
Made new friends and learned new things.
Cons
Ran out of jobs for me to fulfill
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful
Eligibility Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 3, 2017
All in all, working at CMHA in an administrative capacity is not the worst. However, the expectations are unrealistic at best. It's very stressful and there never seems to be enough time in the day to get done the amount of work that you need to get done, and it only increases the next day's workload. Somehow, you eventually get caught up, if the agency allow you to get caught up, and then it starts all over again the next month.
Pros
hours
Cons
work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 26, 2017
Handle incoming calls from tenants, inquiries, complaints, and problems. Calming angry callers, repairing trust, giving good resources for problem resolution and transferring calls to the right departments. Filing tenant’s paper work, and staying organized.
Manage a high call volume workload within an work place environment.
Helped the company’s attain the highest customer services ratings earned 100% marks including communication skills, listing skills, problem resolution and politeness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient location, only 15 minutes from home
Accounting Technician (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 26, 2017
We get every holiday off with pay. A typical day is usually hectic and unorganized. The most enjoyable part of the day is when it is time to go home.
Pros
all holidays off with pay
Cons
we furlough at least every 2-3 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security Guard/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 27, 2016
As a contractor employee I enjoyed doing work in a different field of work it taught me what its like to be versatile in work environments. I learned how to drive a Bobcat, fuel diesel inside of a rock crusher and patrol as a security guard and helped my bosses when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
c.m.h.a
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 9, 2015
A typical day a working for c.m.h.a was cleaning picking up garbage around the residents houses and just making sure the area was clean there was no hard no hard part part about about my job and I enjoy helping the senior citizens out whenever I could
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subsidized Housing
QUALITY ASSURANCE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 15, 2015
I review and analyze rent calculations and family composition on an annual basis prior to submitting to HUD. I audit paperwork to insure HUD policy and procedures are being followed. I have learned LIHTC procedures because the agency has incorporated tax credit properties which must be audited OHFA annually. The most difficult part of the job is there is no complete training when changes occur. But, we work together in completing assignments accurately.
Pros
advancement opportunities
Cons
annual increases are not guaranteed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good company to work for.
Verification Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 8, 2013
I loved my job at CMHA and was devastated when I got laid off. Management was somewhat undesirable but the company was a good company to work for.
Pros
Working with the clients
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cmha
Stock person (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 4, 2013
Cleaning making sure everything was stocked for workers through out the building.I learned a little about being a janitor.My co workers was very nice and respectable
Pros
workin
Cons
days at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental health agency going through changes
Clinician (Former Employee) –  New Britain, CTFebruary 22, 2013
This mental health agency was evolving. Management was changing as was the mission of the agency. Office based mental health with some community programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed helping people obtain housing.
Program Representative (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 31, 2012
I worked for this company for 15 years. I enjoyed helping customers obtain low-income housing.
Pros
advancement, excellent management, job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Federal workplace
HOPE VI Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 10, 2012
A typical day was assiting clients with rental, employment, vocational and life skills from 8:30a til 4:30p. I learned that some people just get comfortable and don't want to grow. The hardest part of the job was not being able to resolve poor personal choices for young, single moms. I enjoy helping others to reach new potenials.
Pros
work close to home
Cons
shared a apartment with others as a office
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more CMHA reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CMHA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8