Coast Guard Exchange Employee Reviews

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CAJuly 20, 2017
good place to work
good manager
flexible
friendly coworkers and customers
not competitive pay and benefits
a good job for a student not engough pay to make a living
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kodiak, AKJune 14, 2017
This was honestly one of the best places I could work! The work environment was great and so were the managers and my coworkers. Everyone was treated well and they were very good about working with each individual person and their work needs.
Pros
great staff, long breaks, fair treatment, amazing work environment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Alameda, CA 94501June 5, 2017
The job is pretty simple, most the time it is not stressful. My co workers and managers are friendly. Its a laid back job.The enviorment is relaxing and for the most part it is relaxing. Management can be strict but understanding.
Pros
no civillians
Cons
military personel with manners
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ketchikan, AKMay 5, 2017
* Learned a great deal of team work
* Had the opportunity to interact with customers on a daily basis creating strong interpersonal relationships
* Must work with military personnel to receive shipments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace, too much drama
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAApril 26, 2017
Coast Guard Exchange is a great place to work for people looking for a first job because the environment is friendly and easy to work in. The only problem was the drama between a lot of the employees. Almost every employee had drama with someone, and it grew to be very obnoxious and immature. Management also likes to play favorites with people, and that is absolutely wrong. I had an okay time working there, but the drama drove me away. It's not worth the time or money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Atmosphere
Retail Clerk/ Receiver (Current Employee) –  Michoud, LAFebruary 13, 2017
The day has a ease of flow and procedures daily. The employees are very helpful and supportive through daily task. The manager is very interactive and hands on. Shipments vary in size but are always handled and processed. Clean store and awesome customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRJanuary 16, 2017
Is a great place to work, with a great environment and good coworkers. I can practice my english with the soldier(clients) and you can know people from another places.
Pros
benefits
Cons
to far from where i live
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for miliatary
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CAJanuary 14, 2017
Lead Sales
set up and accounted for cash drawers
assist customers
stock shelves
run reports for end of shift
stock shelves
train new associates on cash register
Pros
working with military
Cons
turn arounds
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful to Work With
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJune 26, 2016
This was a fantastic position. The overall environment was awesome. The people I worked for and worked with were generous, courteous, and wonderful to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Clerk/Store Worker (Current Employee) –  Aguadilla, PRJune 12, 2016
A typical day at work. You will learn a lot of stuff within the place. Management is good. Co-workers are great and help you if u need anything. Hardest part is working with pressure in holidays. Most enjoyable part of the job is tat you get to know people and learn something new from other departments.
Pros
good experience, good teamwork
Cons
short breaks, not to much hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Workplace
Cashier/Checker (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAMarch 17, 2016
A typical day at work was moderately busy. The employees were helpful and nice. I learnd how to handle money and how to use an automated cash register.
Pros
Wage, the employees
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 12, 2015
Working at the Cost Guard exchange of Boston , MA I learned a lot. It was definitely a different experience. You meet people from around the world and cultures. An the work environment very enjoyable. This work experience help me learned a lot and I became a better leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the job until....
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCNovember 28, 2015
The job I had I really enjoyed, up until the Manager starting bring her boyfriends to work and causing a stressful atmosphere.
Pros
The people that I checked out
Cons
manager issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAOctober 3, 2015
The day was usually very slow at CGX. There were a lot of immature co-workers as well. There wasnt much to do other than stand at the end of the register.
Pros
Exchange Privileges
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Base
Supervisor/Lead Cashier (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 17, 2015
Who would think that working on a military base would be fun. Well I have the best managers and team members in the world. They are so accommodating and actually fun. We pretty much are a family there. I love it. Its a super easy job. It's a retail store.
Pros
Cafeteria on base
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Employees, terrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 26, 2015
The employees have become some of my closest friends I have ever had in my life. The management however is absolute garbage. They had ZERO communication, are not helpful when you need time off, and they praise the lazy while punish and even talk bad about their hard working employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJune 29, 2015
The job can be a hard one but it is well worth it. Great coworkers. At this job you will learn a lot of things that will prepare you for other jobs later in life.
Pros
pay raises, great pay
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and very safe.
Assistant Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRJanuary 24, 2015
Coast Guard Exchange is a store that serve our Military personnel. From our sales we give a percentage to MWR for their activities and recreation. I have learned and grow in this company for 4 years. I thank them for all that I have become and all that they have done for me. I can not say anything negative about my co worker because we all are like a family. The hardest part of my job is taking drastic decisions when it comes to give letter of reprimend to my employees. The most enjoyable part is that we are always happy and making sure that our customers leave with what they were looking for and with a smile on their face.
Pros
Very safe and very enjoyable
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 22, 2014
Its a place where everyone is very nice. Also I learned a lot during my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours,get to meet new people and interacting with them
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLNovember 18, 2013
very busy
to stay busy and consotrate and stay focus
needs inmprovment
good
the long hours and the drive
get to meet new people and get to see my hubby
Pros
get to ride to and from work with my husband
Cons
the drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coast Guard Exchange. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.7
Culture
4.3