COASTAL CONSTRUCTION Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would of loved this job to be more of a job than just a fill in position
Industrial Painter (Current Employee) –  Ogunquit, MESeptember 28, 2017
I love working in new and unusual places but it was to know where yo was going and what was in store rather you find out at the last minute no preparation to follow up and to be prepared so you are working with minimal tool required for the job and it made it very hard to get the things you was doing in one shot, and the disappointment of having to get back to what you was doing took a lot of note writing and job to job was very stresssful
Pros
working outside
Cons
not being prepared for the jobs to be initiated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my father's company
Lead man/Framer (Former Employee) –  Bloomingdale, GASeptember 6, 2017
Working here taught me discipline as I grew in the business. Unfortunately the business went down as the housing market did and we were forced to find employment else where. I still miss it, but that season of my life is over.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Production awesome teachers of new skills
Labor (Former Employee) –  Miami flAugust 22, 2017
Learned how to make sure workplaces are clean and neat .. Learned new skills also prove to being very reliable unsupervised played a good leadership also professional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive work environment
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Duxbury, MAMay 30, 2017
small office working environment, working on small to large projects for various clientele (retail, medical, banks, developers), office summer working hours adjusted, fun summer outings
Pros
office lunch supplied daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Santa Cruz - Marketing and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Santa Cruz, CAMay 11, 2017
Family business, learned customer service and marketing. Provided marketing for family construction business, hosted trade shows, greeted potential clients for sale leads, maintained client database and assisted contractor with tile and painting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Outlook Negative
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 8, 2017
Not as many opportunities as it used to have. Not landing or securing as many jobs as it did during the boom. Leadership not transparent. No real guidance for lower level employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with knowledgeable supervisors.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Duxbury, MAApril 4, 2017
Typical laborer duties, tools available, management is knowledgeable. Work locations all over Massachusetts and the New England area. Rewarded for hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, very organized firm
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 10, 2017
A very organized and large company. Owners made sure all employees felt important. Many nice details and friendly environment provided to employees.
Open doors polices were great.
Pros
Very organized
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and Ownership
HR/Bookkeeping/Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 10, 2017
I loved working for this company! Ownership had a great understanding of good business practices and treated employees well. The company unfortunately was a victim of the housing crash as well as other personal issues with the owner and the doors closed.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Did not diversify adequately
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe evviorment, team work, safty meeting with small stretches.
Skilled Laborer (Current Employee) –  86 Sw 8st Miami,fl 33168January 27, 2017
Safty first one life affect all...rating five I've learned a whole lot with coastal masonry from operating heavy machine. Completed osha 10 through coastal operate boom lift, scissor lift, swing scaffold, build scaffold and take scaffold down.
Pros
The salary and put plenty overtime
Cons
No time off with family for the holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEDecember 11, 2016
I enjoyed working for the company. Good leadership. my boss was the best. i learned a lot about marine construction. I would recommend to company to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back yet focused on getting the job done
APM/Tenant Build Outs (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 24, 2016
Great company. Smart, intelligent management that cares for employees welfare.
Treated employees with respect. No micromanaging. Management gave employees the space necessary to grow.
Pros
Regular in house training @ the Coastal Institute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carpentry new build and renovation
Carpenter Foreman, (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 11, 2016
did various interior and exterior carpentry construction. I managed all the operational while the owner does all the business. the downside is its not full time and I need some more dependable
Pros
good pay
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment..Good Safety Culture.
Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 14, 2016
Great experience having been able to work for them.
Great management.
I've learned a lot in my field. Training provided and mandatory.
My department was a family.
My laid off day due to "budget problems", hardest day.
Pros
Coastal Training Institute.
Cons
Conflicting Schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One Family group!
Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 10, 2016
Complete dedication to details.
Superiors make you feel like family.
Responsibility, meeting datelines it's serious commitment.
Safety Culture and overall training.
Personal motto: "it's personal".
Pros
Coastal Training Institute; friendly environement.
Cons
Training scheduling conflicts sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun company
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Safety Harbor, FLFebruary 25, 2016
Coastal is a name you can trust to deliver what they promise. They are straightforward, honest and professional. Their commitment to our success from pre-construction, design/development through turnover saved time and money. Coastal delivers uncompromising quality, on budget, and on time.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
No structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  East Killingly, CTFebruary 17, 2016
Family owned and operated small business, well managed with a strong local following. Always a great work atmosphere with a reasonable work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner
Owner (Current Employee) –  Encinitas, CAOctober 30, 2015
Self Employed.
Enjoyed every aspect of growing my business.
Please see resume.
Enjoyed supervising a crew and working independently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Assistant Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 3, 2015
Good company.
Great Co-workers.
Enjoyed working with most of them, again the politics are pretty much same. Majority of management is supportive. Definitely grew and learned tremendous amount, gave me the direction in which I like to continue in this field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Carpenter
certified journeyman carpenter Selected (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMarch 21, 2014
A typical day at Coastal would consist of safety meetings in the start of the day followed by stretching out getting warmed up for 8 hours of hard work.Work would consist of rough framing wall siding drywall finish carpentry and what ever else curve ball comes your way that has to do with residential track home building.My duties varied from running framing crews of anywhere between 4-12 carpenters or doing finish work all by myself.Everyone has a good attitude about production and some are competitive.The hardest part of working as a union carpenter would be the pace and quality expected from you and to get up and do it day in and day out at a fast pace really takes a toll on your body and soul and also your loved ones.The most enjoyable part of this job would be the friends you make and the PAY friends are more important than money in my eyes and in this trade people will come and go and days will be long but when you have friends with you its allot easier and the days go by a little faster.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Layoffs, backstabbing, injuries, stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at COASTAL CONSTRUCTION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 29 reviews
516
47
35
21
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture