Find companies:
Cogent Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Cogent Communications Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can make money, but horrible management in NYC
Global Account Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 2, 2015
horrible work/quality of life environment. poor management, no rewards for hard work. you are there by yourself, no support from upper staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Door to door sales
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 10, 2014
Pros: out of the office the majority of the day
Cons: poor work/life balance
Company has an extremely high turnover rate and does not seem to care about retaining existing employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic expectations
Regional Account Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 2, 2014
Pros: great solutions to sell in the market for it
Cons: job functions and performance expectations are unrealistic.
All I will say is the job functions and performance expectations are unrealistic. Also limited support from upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive job environment
Senior Accountant (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 23, 2014
*Fast paced and very competitive work environment
*Open to new ideas and effective management
*Very international work environment
*Meeting the monthly closing deadlines are the hardest part of job
*To learn and implement new software applications which makes your routine job effective and time saving are very rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to Succeed
Regional Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: free sodas, coffee and tea
Cons: healthcare is not the best
It a very intense place. Lots of prospecting over the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free coffer, tea and sodas
Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: none that out way the cons
Cons: inexperienced managers and low pay
Company has the potential to be decent, it all depends on your manager and department. Morale is non existent and so are raises or any growth potential. Management needs to be reorganized immediately. HR is a one man joke!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Vice President of Global Sales (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 8, 2014
GREAT COMPANY, great learning potential. Small and fast paced environment. Work hard play hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high turnover
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 7, 2014
My local manager was excellent, but the company is a difficult place to work since the sales structure is set up like a telemarketing office and the company has extremely high turnover in the sales staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), gaJuly 21, 2014
long sales cycle... manager was AWESOME. employees were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build and establish relationships with C-level executives and CEO¡Solicit clients through direct calling, email, lobby events and face to face present
National Account Manger (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 10, 2014
Territory Consist of the Entire North America including Canada , Solicit High quality Internet, Ethernet and collocation services to Enterprise Clients ,Successfully Manage 175 Enterprise Accounts and Major Accounts Covering North America Territory , Build and establish relationships with C-level executives and CEO,Solicit clients through direct calling, email, lobby events and face to face presentations to generate new business opportunities by working directly with Key Decision Makers , Analyze market trends by staying up to date with competitors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, tough sales environment
IT Consultation (Current Employee), Herndon, VAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: free sodas, coffee, tea and monthly lunches
Cons: black and white sales enviro
Cogent takes care of its employees better than most but it still falls short in some areas. While they do make the effort to produce a positive culture, they do a poor job of setting their employees up for success. There is also a sense that you're only as good as the numbers you put up. It can be very black and white. Even if you've had 6 straight good months, 1 bad month can get you in trouble. In my opinion, it's not the way to inspire people to take ownership of the company and their careers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace overall
Regional Account Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: healthcare is not the best
I would recommend Cogent as a place to work, good work/ life balance and good training for the industry. Hardest part of the job is the competition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard to succeed
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: peers
Cons: sales compensation structure, what you can and cannot sell
Work environment was depressing. Cold dark office with ants crawling on your desk. If you find an opportunity and they want to buy into a Data Center and you're only a level 1 RAM expect to hand over that opportunity to a higher level RAM and expect to NOT get paid on it. Also, I went through 2 different sales managers at the time I was there. I felt that I didn't have enough support or stability at that company to be successful- not to mention how your limited to a certain product set depending on what level you are. As soon as I got there all I heard from the different RAM's was how they disliked it there. Just a very bad experience at the time I was there in 2008 to 2009.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment for recruiters.
CORPORATE RECRUITER (Former Employee), Herndon, VANovember 8, 2013
Great work environment for recruiters.
Great work environment for recruiters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience, Excellent Training
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 7, 2013
Pros: great training, free soft drinks and coffee
Cons: middle management
I was very happy with my employment at Cogent, we were flown to DC for an extremely through training were we learned how to p[prospect many different ways I had not been accustomed to.

The Sales Cycle was extremely long and Middle management became the name of the game so we parted ways after almost a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Global Account Manager (Former Employee), Va, Va.August 27, 2013
Great company and got to know great people. Great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
REGIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 8, 2013
This place is very difficult to succeed at. It seems that their product is so overpriced and run of the mill... if this was 2003 it might be plausible, but this is 2013.

Keep on looking.

Plus, we went through 5 mangers in 8 months and they fired me one week before Christmas. Pretty lame.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kind of like a call center, until you get through to the right people.
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Culver City, CAJune 14, 2013
Pros: great director while i was there and the ceo is great.
Cons: dark dank room like calling center. my immediate manager was intense
its a very intense place. Sometimes we would get yelled at and were micromanaged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
North American Account Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 7, 2013
Great place to work and learn. IT/Legal/ Accounting. This company is a large group and is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not allotted enough time to learn the business before evaluated
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Dallas,TXMarch 5, 2013
not an enjoyable place to work
prospecting clients is on a "luck" type basis

Cogent Communications Salaries

Account Manager
$45,000 per year