Find companies:
Cogent Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Cogent Communications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high turnover
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 7, 2014
My local manager was excellent, but the company is a difficult place to work since the sales structure is set up like a telemarketing office and the company has extremely high turnover in the sales staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), gaJuly 21, 2014
long sales cycle... manager was AWESOME. employees were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build and establish relationships with C-level executives and CEO¡Solicit clients through direct calling, email, lobby events and face to face present
National Account Manger (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 10, 2014
Territory Consist of the Entire North America including Canada , Solicit High quality Internet, Ethernet and collocation services to Enterprise Clients ,Successfully Manage 175 Enterprise Accounts and Major Accounts Covering North America Territory , Build and establish relationships with C-level executives and CEO,Solicit clients through direct calling, – more... email, lobby events and face to face presentations to generate new business opportunities by working directly with Key Decision Makers , Analyze market trends by staying up to date with competitors – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace overall
Regional Account Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: healthcare is not the best
I would recommend Cogent as a place to work, good work/ life balance and good training for the industry. Hardest part of the job is the competition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard to succeed
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: peers
Cons: sales compensation structure, what you can and cannot sell
Work environment was depressing. Cold dark office with ants crawling on your desk. If you find an opportunity and they want to buy into a Data Center and you're only a level 1 RAM expect to hand over that opportunity to a higher level RAM and expect to NOT get paid on it. Also, I went through 2 different sales managers at the time I was there. I felt – more... that I didn't have enough support or stability at that company to be successful- not to mention how your limited to a certain product set depending on what level you are. As soon as I got there all I heard from the different RAM's was how they disliked it there. Just a very bad experience at the time I was there in 2008 to 2009. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment for recruiters.
CORPORATE RECRUITER (Former Employee), Herndon, VANovember 8, 2013
Great work environment for recruiters.
Great work environment for recruiters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience, Excellent Training
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 7, 2013
Pros: great training, free soft drinks and coffee
Cons: middle management
I was very happy with my employment at Cogent, we were flown to DC for an extremely through training were we learned how to p[prospect many different ways I had not been accustomed to.

The Sales Cycle was extremely long and Middle management became the name of the game so we parted ways after almost a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Global Account Manager (Former Employee), Va, Va.August 27, 2013
Great company and got to know great people. Great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
REGIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 8, 2013
This place is very difficult to succeed at. It seems that their product is so overpriced and run of the mill... if this was 2003 it might be plausible, but this is 2013.

Keep on looking.

Plus, we went through 5 mangers in 8 months and they fired me one week before Christmas. Pretty lame.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kind of like a call center, until you get through to the right people.
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Culver City, CAJune 14, 2013
Pros: great director while i was there and the ceo is great.
Cons: dark dank room like calling center. my immediate manager was intense
its a very intense place. Sometimes we would get yelled at and were micromanaged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
North American Account Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 7, 2013
Great place to work and learn. IT/Legal/ Accounting. This company is a large group and is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not allotted enough time to learn the business before evaluated
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Dallas,TXMarch 5, 2013
not an enjoyable place to work
prospecting clients is on a "luck" type basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to start with for entry level sales
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: salary not bad
Cons: job is more like telemarketing not outside sales
The job consists of cold calling and propecting all day. Not much of outside sales but more of consistent calliing, emailing and nagging your current customers to upgrade their services. The company does not invest in any advertising nor do they care about how to market their services. All in all the job is not bad to get your foot into the door when – more... it comes to sales. The pay is not too bad but the benefits could be better. My experience at Cogent was not bad but was not great due to new management change every other month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
National Account Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLDecember 1, 2012
Pros: free food
Cons: high turnover, few products
Good solid company but the high turnover keeps the morale very low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company hard industry
N. American Account Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 11, 2012
Great place.
Great people.
Good structure.

Industry is hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work place with rich culture.
Regional Account Manager (Current Employee), Dallas,txSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: benefits, people, salary, product
Cons: seibel needs a cleanup!
One of the best fiber optic companies to work for! Management is helpful and very hands on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to desire to work for.
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), MinneapolisAugust 14, 2012
Not ethical in business practice towards employee's. i.e say one thing and mean another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't care about their employees
Global Account Manager (Current Employee), Global Account ManagerAugust 8, 2012
Pros: free pizza
Cons: good pay
Doesn't care about their employees. No training program

I would not work there again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving Door
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 1, 2012
Pros: free pop in the fridge and monthly lunch.
Cons: vulgar language, lack of career advancement, and negative work environment.
Prepare to spend long hours on the phone, even though you are an outside rep. If you are not use to vulgar language and misogynistic attitude towards women this is not the place to work. Career advancement is a joke. Sometimes Sales Managers are left in the dark as to what is going on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cogent Communications is a great company and i learned a lot from the organization.
Customer Support Engineer (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 15, 2012
Pros: the working environment is conducive to learning new skills
Cons: there is no motivating incentives
Assisting customers in turning up and troubleshooting their network related problems.
I've learned a lot in managing and supporting customers. I believe in team work and my co-workers are people who are always willing to assist one another.
The most difficult thing with my job is that you do not know what's coming next.
I enjoy helping customers and – more... making sure that their network problems are resolved – less