Find companies:
College Works Painting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
109 reviews

College Works Painting Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great not Terrible
Painter (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSJuly 13, 2014
Pros: long lunch, great people
Cons: heat, certain clients, some management
My experience at College Works Painting was both positive and negative. A day at work would start at 8:00 a.m. sharp and we would contact the client to paint his house. We operated machinery from a power washer to a Paint Sprayer. We also had to work in the summer heat but that did not phase us too much. I learned many things about painting. My manager – more... was fairly new and inexperienced which caused a very ineffective work place. The Hardest part of the job was dealing with an ineffective manager who hasn't had anything planned out. The best part of the job is working with the clients – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for entrepreneur
Intern (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: if succesful one could make good money
Cons: very hard to do well
This is a terrible job because I had no supervision. The person who I reported to went to school at A&M and I was in Dallas. No support with little training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont pay enough
painter (Former Employee), goleta, californiaJuly 7, 2014
Pros: work experience
Cons: not organized
did not pay workers enough for work being done. unorganized at times. make promises of benefits that actually are not provided. did not give clear directions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and very hands on sales experience
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 14, 2014
It depends on who your district manager is and how on top of things they are. There is a steep learning curve which is why it is important to have a good mentor to help you throughout the internship. Pay is not the best for the amount of work required and the company takes a huge percentage of every job booked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College works offers good experience.
Spray Painter (Current Employee), Lake Jackson, TXJune 13, 2014
Pros: great people to work with.
Cons: not enough work/pay.
College works offers great training. The working atmosphere is great! However it was not explained to me during the interview process that this was a college internship. I need full time permanent employment. I love the work however.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College working program developed by college students
Head Painter (Former Employee), Burns, ORJune 2, 2014
Pros: good people, new skills learned
Cons: hot, hard work for little pay.
Typical day was getting my self and my working companion to the job sight early. Prep a house, rap all windows and undesired services, for painting. Then get to work, ether spraying or brushing on the owners desired color.
I was taught a unique perspective of how hard a simple job can be. And being the only crew to work on a very long list of clients – more... in a very small town can be very stressful. Also, how to work for some one your own age.
My management was a very hard working and diligent manager. Always on key with a dilemma concerning a client or a job. Wasn't so fantastic with the pay though.
It was difficult to stay motivated on hot days however, the job got done nun the less.
I made a lot more connections with people, taking responsibility for my crew mates and our job at each home we visited. talking with clients dealing with concerns and liaison with management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Challenging, Yet Rewarding Experience comparable to none other
Regional Coordinator (Current Employee), San Luis Obispo, CaMay 19, 2014
Pros: great confidence booster, cool trips, cancun, payroll fridays, developing customer service skills, challenging
Cons: workload can become heavy if not effective with your time
My learning experience here at College Works Painting has been nothing short of amazing. I started off as an Intern, and to be quite honest I wasn't necessarily the best at first, I sucked. But what kept me going was the support I received from my RC and with that came the development of my work ethic that in the end pushed me to success. The truth – more... is that this internship is challenging and you probably will struggle and you have to be ready to commit, but because I stuck through with it and I've grown so much as both a person and business man. I'm now an RC running a business with a team interns that have generated close to $500,000 dollars in Sales. On top of all that, the culture here at College Works is electric. There are young, motivated entrepreneurs across the nation ready network amongst themselves and better one another through constant interaction with their co-workers. The bottom line is, if your are ready to work hard and celebrate the success, this is the place for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing opportunity
Regional Consultant (Current Employee), San Francisco Bay Area, CAMay 19, 2014
This is my second year with CWP and I really enjoy this tough job. I can see the development in my personal skills that are making me better at the business. Everyday there are things for me to do towards my business and the only way to be able to handle this job is to be organized and disciplined. It is rough when there are other things getting in – more... the way in my life like school and extra curricular activities. Juggling these different aspects of my life and succeed at them are really helping my time management. The enjoyable part of the job is the confidence I am building for myself to do bigger and better things in my future. I really love the people that I work with because we are really close working towards the same goal. We have fun together and go out to exciting events. The hardest part of the job is the sacrifice of personal time, but I know everything I am doing is going to benefit me in the long run. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, amazing people/culture, you have to learn and earn.
Regional Consultant (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 19, 2014
In a nutshell, College Works is the hardest thing I've ever done, but it was and still is the most rewarding. It has been a crazy journey learning how to run my own business from the ground up in 6 months, then having this year as a Regional Consultant to run my own business with a team of interns that do what I did last year. In 6 months as an intern, – more... I learned how to market and sell, communicate with clients, hire, train, and manage teams of employees, and manage several projects at a time. Although I wasn't very good at it at first and I wish I had received more guidance and training during my struggles in the summer, I know that I played a role in the challenge by not asking for more help when I knew I needed it. And despite all of the challenges in the summer time, I gained problem-solving abilities as I tried to do everything on my own. As an RC, the hardest part is learning how to balance life with work, but I've learned that it's all up to me to figure things out in that aspect as well.

Originally, I didn't want to come back as an RC due to the time that I knew I would need to put in amidst all of my college courses, but CWP opens up so many doors. It's a great networking tool, professional skill-builder, and personal life skills builder as well. There aren't too many college jobs out there that give you that kind of experience. Above all else, I work with the most amazing people I've ever met. I respect and look up to the VPs and my co-workers who put in so much effort into what we do, and it pushes me to be better every single day. The hours seem long, but at the end of the day, you decide how you want your experience to go in life and in this company. If you want to see success, you have to be efficient with your time and efforts. If you want to be happy, you have to be grateful for your opportunities. This company teaches you about choices.

College Works Painting isn't for the faintest of heart. It takes grit, the willingness to change, and perseverance to get through doing things that no one else wants to do, but it all pays off in the end. Would I do it all over again if I had to? Yes. Would I want to? Not necessarily - because it's hard work, but I would because I'm thankful for the growth I've made as a person and an entrepreneur, and this company is made up of great teachers and leaders that make the program what it is. Couldn't imagine where I'd be without this experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the biggest learning experiences of my life
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 18, 2014
The CWP internship has really made a big impact on who I am today. It was a huge reality check on my strengths and weaknesses and showed be a path to success through mentorship and guidance. It gave me confidence to step outside my comfort zone to grow to new heights. My mentor was a high school friend of mine but took his position very seriously which – more... I respected. In turn, he showed me my potential and pushed me to surpass it and I did. I loved meeting my peers and competing with them to do better. All in all, it opened my eyes to endless opportunities with the new set of skills and confidence I have in myself. Not to forget celebrating in Cancun as the year end trip. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture, good compensation
Regional Consultant (Current Employee), Irvine, CAMay 18, 2014
Pros: biweekly excursions with other interns
Cons: challenging marketing
I was given the tools to start up and run my own painting business
-Daily responsibilities are challenging and actually teach you real world skills
-I learned about marketing, sales, management, and self-motivation. Because it was my responsibility to run the business, the compensation was completely in my hands
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You need to earn your right to work here!
Sales Director (Current Employee), Santa Barbara, CAMay 16, 2014
Pros: company culture is unbeatable
Cons: door to door, but hey it works
Working for College Works for the past year and a half has been a roller coaster. The training in sales, marketing and time management are phenomenal, but I could have used a little more help in managing employees and managing my profit. At the end of the day it is up to the intern to learn to grow on their own. Looking back on my intern year, as long – more... as the days were and as challenging as the internship was, it was exactly what I needed to be able to learn how to be a better person and a better worker. The biggest take-a-ways so far have been the great people I have met that work for the company, confidence in myself and my future professionally, and lastly the knowledge of how to keep business and personal life balanced. I love that there is always room to grow in this business and that you have to work hard to earn everything they give you such as promotions, bonuses, and trips. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and great sales experience
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMay 12, 2014
Door to door sales that allowed me to learn the importance of high level prospecting and setting meetings with all decision makers present to avoid objections. I would prospect clients, set meetings, give presentations, and paint the houses. My co-workers were also young and it kept things a lot of fun when we would have company outings. Hardest part – more... of the job was painting the houses. The most enjoyable part was painting all clients houses that started off as cold leads. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced internship that builds professional experience
District Manager (Current Employee), Charlottesville, VAMay 6, 2014
Pros: fun company events biweekly
Cons: it is a commission based internship
The level professionalism and organization gained from this internship better equipped me to continue to succeed in my studies and better positioned me in the job market upon graduation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with huge financial upside
Branch Manager and District Manager (Former Employee), Charlottesville, VAMay 6, 2014
Pros: results based economy
I was an intern in the spring of 2013 in Charlottesville, VA. I struggled at sales in the beginning, but after about 20 estimates I got the hang of it. I ended up selling about $70,000 of revenue, which is about $20,000 above the average. I had great take home pay and an incredibly valuable learning experience.

I was also given the Intern of the Year – more... award in the Service category which came with a sizeable scholarship to my school. Overall, had a great experience and would repeat within a heartbeat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment with valuable culture
District Manager (Current Employee), Champaign, ILMay 6, 2014
Pros: set your own hours, work hard/play hard
Cons: very difficult and strenuous at times
I first started as an intern--branch manager in the spring of 2009. Ever since then my experience has been positive. I learned many skills including soft skills, profit maximization, communication, sales, and the list goes on. It taught me to really push myself and built a great work ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing the trajectory of my life...
Intern, District Manager (Former Employee), ArizonaMay 6, 2014
Pros: changes your life
Cons: all the cons turn into good things in the end. hard work, long days, lots of focus!
Before doing collegeworks, I felt like I had so much bottled up talent that I had no idea how to express. I was searching for a company that appreciated me, and challenged me, and I found it. It was the perfect experience for me because it provided structure and guidance to focus my skills, and improve on them constantly. I not only learned, but got – more... to first hand implement marketing strategies, closing big contracts, and finally hiring and managing my own team of employees. I had so much confidence and drive after 2 seasons with collegeworks that I started my own company with one of my best friends through the program. We have since been in 2 retail locations, and we sell parts all across the world on a daily basis. I would have never had the opportunities, and mainly the confidence to pursue business at this level prior to my experience with the Collegeworks program. I also have a few friends from the program that I know will be lifelong friends because we have learned so much from eachother. To be quite honest, I learned a lot about life as well. I feel like I have a better idea of what I really want to do to be successful, and overall happy with my life. Throughout my entire college career at Arizona State University, Collegeworks was bar none the learning experience that taught me the most, pushed me the hardest, and had has had an effect on my life everyday since. It has been 4 years since my intern year, and I know I wouldn't be where I am today without the people and programs at Collegeworks Painting. Thanks for reading and visit Down 2 Mob.com to check out my business! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for college students interested in business
Intern (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZMay 5, 2014
Pros: 1st hand business experience; led by peers, group trips for top performers
Cons: have to balance school with work, need access to a vehicle, unpaid until the summer when production starts
College Works Painting was one of the best decisions I made in my collegiate career! At first I wasn't sure about how I was going to make time to grow my business due to the number of hours I was regularly in class, the 40+ hours a week I worked at my job, and also the amount of time it regularly took me to study to keep my grades where I wanted them. – more... I explained this in my second meeting with my soon-to-be manager and after hearing about the time management train I would receive and that I would only need to put in 10-15 hours during the school week I was excited to get everything started. The training was long and intense but my manager was extremely helpful every step of the way and seeing how he had been in my shoes just one year prior, he knew exactly what I was going through and was ready to help. For anyone that has the work hard, play hard attitude and wants first hand experience in running a business without having to put up a single dollar of your own money to get started, this is the opportunity for you.

Of course, there will always be people who had different experiences and the people that gave up before really even starting. But for those who believe they possess a strong work ethic and the willingness to put in the work to win, I couldn't recommend spending one college summer of your time any other way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place.
Customer Service/ Marketing and Recruiting (Former Employee), Irvine, CAApril 17, 2014
Pros: lots of great office parties
Cons: management
A typical day at work started with me making follow up calls to confirm the interview times I had set up with college students. And depending on the time of year calling home owners to confirm their estimates were being done. When I was in the customer service office, my day would start out by scanning and filing estimates, taking calls for home owners, – more... taking notes about their complaints and transferring them to the correct region consultant. I also worked with the students and connecting them to the pay roll department. I really learned a lot in the customer service office. I got the brush up on my phone skills as well as learning how to used more office machines, like a scanner, fax machine, mail machine.
My co-workers for the most part were very professional and nice to work with.
The management in the call center had favorites and if you weren't one of them, they made it known.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the call center management team.
The best part was being in the customer service office because I knew I was helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The potential for growth is unmatched by anything else out there.
District Manager (Current Employee), Seattle, WashingtonApril 9, 2014
I have been with College Works all throughout college so far. I started as a intern branch manager as a freshman and have continued for 2 years as a district manager, and I believe the environment I'm surrounded in truly challenges me to be the best I can.

There are numerous reasons why I started College Works and have continued to thrive here. First – more... off the experience is a lot of fun, mostly due to the people I work with. Everybody I have met here (including CEOs, VPs, other DMs, and interns) have been great, highly motivated people. It's energizing to be around these kind of people. Also we have a lot of fun events planned throughout the summer so that we can unwind from our daunting tasks of running a business.

At the same time, I thrive in the competitive atmosphere of the company. Having the responsibilities of running a large scale business and managing over people means that my level of success is determined more by myself than anyone else. The potential for success and the possibility of failure is always present here, and I have full control of which route I take.

This is why I've come back year after year. I CAN fail, but I choose not to, therefore I succeed and grow. The growth I've seen in my abilities and even in my personality over the last 3 years have turned me into an adult ready for the real world. I feel prepared to graduate from school and have a successful career, and I have the challenging and supportive atmosphere of College Works alone to thank for that. – less

1 2 3 4 5

College Works Painting Photos