Find companies:
College Works Painting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
121 reviews

College Works Painting Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Summer Job
Painter (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 10, 2014
College interns set up appointments with customers in the winter. During the summer the jobs were completed and the workers were giving a slotted amount of time to complete of project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigorous Management Experience
Franchise Owner/Manager (Former Employee), Utah County, UtahNovember 26, 2014
College Works Painting allowed me to own and operate my own residential house painting franchise. Through coaching, I hired, trained, and developed a marketing team to accelerate sales, then scheduled and managed four painters to maximize job production.

In my branch, I personally oversaw the home renovation process of over 15 clients with 100% satisfaction – more... rate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good position however not for everyone
Residential Account Executive (Former Employee), Long IslandNovember 26, 2014
Pros: pay (if you make the time they give you), experience, similar to running your own business.
Cons: proj. managers have no experience/ not even insured to work, hard to split time between painting a whole house while marketing to other houses.
The biggest thing with this job is that you must have a team who is good at marketing and at least one true painter. The company gives you hours that it "should" take to paint the house, if you make the time you will be getting paid great; Unfortunately if you go over your time you will receive minimum wage. I loved the experience but the company is – more... a little sneaky and doesn't make it that easy to succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZNovember 20, 2014
College Works Painting was an excellent experience. I was forced to work harder than I have ever worked before. I believe that I became a much harder and determined worker because of College Works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging. Rewarding. Exceptional experience.
Branch manager & District Manager (Current Employee), Boise, IdahoOctober 10, 2014
Pros: cancun, vegas, rafting, skydiving, paintballing, management, leadership
Cons: super challenging, some difficult clients, awful painters, etc
Through this internship I was able to open up more than I ever was able to before. I learned the ins and outs of marketing, sales skills, management, profit management, hiring, firing, and client relations. Through the spring you focus on marketing your business as well as sales and building up your clientele. During the summer you are able to learn – more... how to hire, fire, manage and run crews while focusing on exceptional customer service. I was able to run an 80,000 business my first year and $104,000 my second year. I learned so many valuable skills while having fun too! I went skydiving, paintballing, white water rafting, as well as two trips to Cancun Mexico. As a District manager I was able to manage and teach 20-30 students how to run their own businesses and train them to be successful. As a DM I also was able to go on business trips to Orange County and Las Vegas to learn how to be a more effective leader. I was able to earn one of the national quality awards and was in the running for one of the Manager of the year awards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work and grow skills needed for life
Branch manager (Current Employee), Hillsboro, OROctober 10, 2014
Pros: good money, free schedule, fun atmosphere
Cons: hard work, long days
I had an awesome experience with College Works! N doubt, it was absolutely the most difficult thing that I have ever done, but getting through the program has taught me more about myself and the real world than any other experience would have. The compensation is great, i made more money than i would have ever even really imagined, but it you have to – more... work hard for it. The hardest part of the job for me was making sure that my clients and I kept in touch, and that the quality of the job was good enough for the client to be happy about. Training painters to have the quality and care that i would have put into a job was tough for me. Overall I'm coming back with the company for another year and possibly more to come because I've learned so much and I really like working for college works. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'll work your butt off to make them money
Branch Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 9, 2014
REALLY don't like these these guys!! They put you through heck and get paid for your sweat, blood, and tears. The only way you make it if you can sell like a champ and find the best painters in the county who will work for next to nothing.... not easy!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Environment
Intern / Branch Manager (Former Employee), Irvine, CAOctober 5, 2014
Conducted sales and marketing. Hired and Managed employees during the production period.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship worth doing!!
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Wayne, NJSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: connections, experience, resume builder, having support
Cons: long hours
This internship is most likely the best decision I had in my life. It is very challenging and teaches you so many different skills needed to be successful in life. If you are someone up for a hands-on challenge that will help you later on in life, then this is the program for you. A typical work day consists of marketing, bidding contracts, hiring employees, – more... managing income and expenses, and how to handle situations you will only experience when you are in the work force. I learned how to implement a marketing plan, sales, project management, and finding the employees that represent yourself. The people you work with throughout internship are only their to help you succeed, and want to see you succeed. My hardest experience in this internship was learning how to have a customer feel comfortable enough to sign with you, which is also the best feeling! The most enjoying part of this internship were the payrolls. The companies motto is " Work Hard, Play Hard, Have Fun!" after payroll the DM's,GM's, and the VP take you out to events such as paint balling,dinners, and white water rafting!! this internship really expands your horizon! I would diffidently recommend this internship to anyone who wants leadership experience, hand-on learning, and up for a challenge! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbelievable experience
Intern/Branch Manager (Current Employee), New JerseySeptember 10, 2014
Pros: learn all aspects of business managment
Cons: full life commitment
I have found out so much about myself that I didnt even know. I have been taught by my DM and VP how to create success all on my own. I have successfully ran my own painting company through the training and mentorship of College Works Painting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected
Painter (Former Employee), Athens, GAJuly 17, 2014
In the Interview I was told that I would be working 40hrs a week making $8-10/hr but I never worked 40hrs and my checks were minimum wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
VP of Sales (Former Employee), fort collins coJuly 17, 2014
 Hired, trained, and managed an eight employee branch
 Handled all customer complaints
 Designed and implemented successful marketing program
 Revenues exceeding $150k
 Quality Manager of the Year Award Recipient
 Manager of the Year Award Recipient
 Completed sales year in top 5%
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great not Terrible
Painter (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSJuly 13, 2014
Pros: long lunch, great people
Cons: heat, certain clients, some management
My experience at College Works Painting was both positive and negative. A day at work would start at 8:00 a.m. sharp and we would contact the client to paint his house. We operated machinery from a power washer to a Paint Sprayer. We also had to work in the summer heat but that did not phase us too much. I learned many things about painting. My manager – more... was fairly new and inexperienced which caused a very ineffective work place. The Hardest part of the job was dealing with an ineffective manager who hasn't had anything planned out. The best part of the job is working with the clients – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for entrepreneur
Intern (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: if succesful one could make good money
Cons: very hard to do well
This is a terrible job because I had no supervision. The person who I reported to went to school at A&M and I was in Dallas. No support with little training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont pay enough
painter (Former Employee), goleta, californiaJuly 7, 2014
Pros: work experience
Cons: not organized
did not pay workers enough for work being done. unorganized at times. make promises of benefits that actually are not provided. did not give clear directions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and very hands on sales experience
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 14, 2014
It depends on who your district manager is and how on top of things they are. There is a steep learning curve which is why it is important to have a good mentor to help you throughout the internship. Pay is not the best for the amount of work required and the company takes a huge percentage of every job booked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College works offers good experience.
Spray Painter (Current Employee), Lake Jackson, TXJune 13, 2014
Pros: great people to work with.
Cons: not enough work/pay.
College works offers great training. The working atmosphere is great! However it was not explained to me during the interview process that this was a college internship. I need full time permanent employment. I love the work however.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College working program developed by college students
Head Painter (Former Employee), Burns, ORJune 2, 2014
Pros: good people, new skills learned
Cons: hot, hard work for little pay.
Typical day was getting my self and my working companion to the job sight early. Prep a house, rap all windows and undesired services, for painting. Then get to work, ether spraying or brushing on the owners desired color.
I was taught a unique perspective of how hard a simple job can be. And being the only crew to work on a very long list of clients – more... in a very small town can be very stressful. Also, how to work for some one your own age.
My management was a very hard working and diligent manager. Always on key with a dilemma concerning a client or a job. Wasn't so fantastic with the pay though.
It was difficult to stay motivated on hot days however, the job got done nun the less.
I made a lot more connections with people, taking responsibility for my crew mates and our job at each home we visited. talking with clients dealing with concerns and liaison with management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Challenging, Yet Rewarding Experience comparable to none other
Regional Coordinator (Current Employee), San Luis Obispo, CaMay 19, 2014
Pros: great confidence booster, cool trips, cancun, payroll fridays, developing customer service skills, challenging
Cons: workload can become heavy if not effective with your time
My learning experience here at College Works Painting has been nothing short of amazing. I started off as an Intern, and to be quite honest I wasn't necessarily the best at first, I sucked. But what kept me going was the support I received from my RC and with that came the development of my work ethic that in the end pushed me to success. The truth – more... is that this internship is challenging and you probably will struggle and you have to be ready to commit, but because I stuck through with it and I've grown so much as both a person and business man. I'm now an RC running a business with a team interns that have generated close to $500,000 dollars in Sales. On top of all that, the culture here at College Works is electric. There are young, motivated entrepreneurs across the nation ready network amongst themselves and better one another through constant interaction with their co-workers. The bottom line is, if your are ready to work hard and celebrate the success, this is the place for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing opportunity
Regional Consultant (Current Employee), San Francisco Bay Area, CAMay 19, 2014
This is my second year with CWP and I really enjoy this tough job. I can see the development in my personal skills that are making me better at the business. Everyday there are things for me to do towards my business and the only way to be able to handle this job is to be organized and disciplined. It is rough when there are other things getting in – more... the way in my life like school and extra curricular activities. Juggling these different aspects of my life and succeed at them are really helping my time management. The enjoyable part of the job is the confidence I am building for myself to do bigger and better things in my future. I really love the people that I work with because we are really close working towards the same goal. We have fun together and go out to exciting events. The hardest part of the job is the sacrifice of personal time, but I know everything I am doing is going to benefit me in the long run. – less

1 2 3 4 5

College Works Painting Photos