College of Lake County Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Part-Time accountant (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILNovember 21, 2017
Mentor and tutor college students. One of the most rewarding things is when a student gets an accounting concept and knowing that I helped get him there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going, supportive environment
Writing Center Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILNovember 17, 2017
You are always surrounded by a team of people willing to help you. There is no dress code, other than to be appropriate and clean. The opportunity to work with a diverse populous and make a difference is an amazing one.
Pros
Supportive staff, laid-back, great for references and resume building
Cons
Short shifts, if you're looking for lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contract work
Writer/Editor for the Public Relations Office (Former Employee) –  GrayslakeOctober 31, 2017
I was only there for six months and that was ten years ago. The people were pleasant but there was little direction as to what the job expectations were.
Pros
location
Cons
lack of direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Adjunct Dead End Job
Adjunct Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILOctober 5, 2017
The college is very nice, but they rely on adjuncts for the majority of their classes and they pay their adjuncts poorly. No medical benefits, low salary, no chance for advancement--your typical adjunct h***. You'll be better off working as a Walmart greeter. At least then, you will not have to grade papers for free on your time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place!
Writing Center Tutor (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILOctober 1, 2017
You get to work with all types of people: Old, young, female, male, LGBTQ, and tons of different ethnicities! Every day is something new, and you learn someone else's story which is incredibly engaging and makes it all worthwhile. Overall, it is a wonderful place for Writing Tutors- with short hours, and plenty of things to keep you busy!
Pros
helping others
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinator of Student Success
Adult Transition Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILSeptember 23, 2017
I worked for CLC on a grant. I have been trying to get employed with them again since the grant ended. This was such a wonderful place to work. They truly value their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some depts are better than others
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILSeptember 22, 2017
lots of turnover from when I was a student. Changed the culture and feel of the college. I don't think it was for the better. There is so much focus on diversity and stuff by the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Work Environment
DIRECTOR, GREEN ECONOMY AND SUSTAINABLE WATER (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILAugust 27, 2017
The College of Lake County is a fantastic place to work. The staff and administration are wonderful. This position offers a great work-life balance and the organization values their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place, Wonderful Co-Workers
Seamstress/Costume Maker (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILAugust 24, 2017
It was a wonderful place to work, with wonderful co-workers and bosses. I really wished that they had a full time position available for the costume shop.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse college setting with perfessional development opportunties.
Senior Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILAugust 24, 2017
I enjoyed the College of Lake County and learned a various of skills. The most enjoyment part of my job was the students and helping them to succeed.
Pros
Low to no cost insurance.
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Professor of Engineering (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILAugust 16, 2017
Teach 4 courses per semester. Recruit students. Develop your program and/or new programs as industry dictates. It is a union based employment, except for administration, great job security but you are limited for doing an exceptional job.
Pros
Free education and great benefits
Cons
Union - good for keeping your job - bad for doing a great job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience at College of Lake County
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJuly 27, 2017
It was a wonderful experience working at the College of Lake County, while I was studying there. It was a pat time position It was an on job training and I got to learn many things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work plae
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJune 20, 2017
It's a great work place because you're always meeting new people. Also good experience for future work place with other opportunities. For me was a great way to start.
Pros
Can do your homework while you work if your're a student
Cons
not much hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive but expandable place to work
Director of Student Activities (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJune 19, 2017
Student Learning and support for students is good. Job advancement is tough, for some, but seems easier for others causing an unbalance in the workplace. Morale is low but can improve over time.
Pros
Good healthcare; Quality Student Support
Cons
Many hours put into work; but nothing really put into the workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fun job i worked in two different departments
Student aid worker (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJune 8, 2017
I loved working at the college it gave me hope an fun times in the departments and I was overjoyed working there around those people I wen to school there and I loved my classes but I didn't finish school
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great work environment
NEW STUDENT AMBASSADOR (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILMay 31, 2017
Enjoyed working with coworkers and showing new students around campus. Most enjoyable part of job was helping the new students with any concerns they might have being a new college student.
Pros
Great staff and learned a lot about college of lake county
Cons
Not that many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice People And Nice Jobs
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILMay 29, 2017
Lake County Was A Very Nice School Very Nice People Every There Is Always Smiling There Never Was A Day That I Didn't t Have That Was Good There At Lake County.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Nothing Really
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at!
Graphic Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILMay 11, 2017
I worked at the College of Lake County as an intern for two years and the I couldn't be happier. The work load is very reasonable and working with the public relations department always gave me new things to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILMay 10, 2017
i learn a lot working at toys R us it was my first job that i had. i am friendly and always on time to work and always helping any one that needs the help.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to start
Leadership & Volunteer Activities (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILMay 10, 2017
Everyone was friendly and easy to approach. Staff helped me achieve my goals. The culture was open and relaxed so that goals and achievements were celebrated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at College of Lake County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 91 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9

College of Lake County Reviews by Location