College of Southern Maryland Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The percs are GREAT!!!
Program Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDAugust 19, 2016
The College is a great place to work. My department in particular is very laid back. We have just gone through management training so getting every one on board with that has been difficult. When I was hired I was told to do my job a certain way and now that I am under a new director she has changed things a lot which has caused some conflict.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to work for advancement
Senior Technology Specialist (Former Employee) –  Leonardtown, MDAugust 12, 2016
You will be overworked and severely underpaid. You will never get a raise because HR will say there is no money but you will read articles in the Enterprise about the College president receiving $20,000 annual raises along with a car, home, golden parachute, etc. If you like being overworked for very little money and no appreciation this is the place for you. Good luck.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for Students
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDJuly 3, 2016
They schedule shifts around class schedules and offer discounts on textbooks. Great way to meet other students around the campus and stay informed with events. Good atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Friendly
Employer Outreach & Dev. Spec (Current Employee) –  LaPlataMay 19, 2016
CSM is a great place to work; the staff is friendly and work collaboratively to meet goals and deadlines. I enjoy the family oriented feel that's ever-present.
A typical work day is full of laughter and emails! Appointments, appointments, appointments!
My co-workers are very helpful, if you are new, everyone helps you; they even go out of their way to assist you with your work. Human resources are very friendly as well, the all day training came with lunch of your choice!
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Air conditioning gets pretty serious, bring a sweater!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Assistant Coach for Women's Softball (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDMay 14, 2016
I have been the assistant softball coach through two seasons; my experience with staff and players has been enjoyable and there has been much success.
Pros
Players, Travel, Softball
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Totally enjoy my job
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  MarylandMay 6, 2016
Teaching is my calling and it make me proud to see students succeed. Management allows instructors to be creative. Coworkers are helpful to each other
Pros
Very Rewarding Job
Cons
Adjunct Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work....
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leonardtown, MDApril 27, 2016
Busy and Slow,
How a Office Environment works and what to do in a office.
The Management here could work on there people stills better.
The Co-works here are very friendly and respectful here.
The hardest part about this job that im leaving here or then that nothing.
love the people i work with.
Pros
great places to work
Cons
need more jobs here
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Csm
IT Help Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Waldorf, MDApril 17, 2016
This institution has been a great place to work for. Everyone is eager to be there a provide great service the student and Faculty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College of Southern MD
Electrical Instructor (Current Employee) –  MarylandNovember 7, 2015
Great social involvement with the teacher and student interactions; excellent chance for a person to grow within a established institution, and a very friendly environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Past Enviorment
Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maryland, LAAugust 5, 2015
Being able to meet and enjoy different people. Kept me busy with a lot of incoming calls from local businesses and potential student. Helping the student find up coming classes, financial assistants and trainings.
Pros
Meeting new People
Cons
no Benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about College of Southern Maryland?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work.
Instructor (Current Employee) –  LaPlata, MDApril 30, 2015
As instructor you enjoy every day coming into work, students are eager to learn and the staff are highly supportive. Staff development options are a plus, CSM really invest in there faculty and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Position
Business Office Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leonardtown, MDApril 11, 2015
Typical day at work would included helping college kids and their parents make a payment, register for classes, answering incoming calls and transferring them to the right department. I would keep close books down for the night and get ready for the next day of business.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the School
Full Time Student (Current Employee) –  Prince Frederick, MDMarch 25, 2015
I love the flexibility of classroom hours and the ability to pick the classes first depending on your credits that you have accumulated.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
more tutors
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Career Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDSeptember 29, 2014
I assisted students and community members with a variety of questions involving job search inquires and resume building.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
VP of Student Association (Former Employee) –  La Plata, MDSeptember 5, 2014
I enjoy a typical day at work all the fun and laughs we have everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Education Institution
Senior System Analyst/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 2, 2014
Wonderful two year college that feeds into the University of Maryland system. Small classes with dedicated professioners and adjunct instructors. Great source for core classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Instructor (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDApril 5, 2014
Working at CSM has been a great thing ! I actually like to come to work everyday, meeting new people and doing what I love.
Pros
great pay, great people
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cook (Current Employee) –  Waldorf, MDMarch 25, 2014
this job was a very cool job until I was being accused of stealing tires
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to volunteer
Career Services Event Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Prince Frederick, MDMarch 11, 2014
A typical day would be surrounded by happy people
i learned how to create a great resume
the magnet was very helpful
my coworkers were supportive
nothing i liked it
the most enjoyable part was helping people
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace great for those who are still learning and in school
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDMarch 4, 2014
My typical day at work has minimal supervision, but supervisors are supportive and available when needed. My co-workers are fun and likeable people who are always willing to help. The hardest part of my job, which is a skill that I have improved on, is maintaining patience. The most enjoyable part of my job is the flexibility.
Pros
flexibility; they value my education
Cons
almost no chance of job advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at College of Southern Maryland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

College of Southern Maryland Reviews by Location