College of William and Mary Employee Reviews

Showing all 22 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Internship
Endocrinology & Physiology Internship (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VANovember 7, 2014
On a typical day, I would weigh the mice, weigh their food, and operate a calorimetry machine. We had weekly lab meetings where the students would discuss their progress. Also, we presented our data to the lab group toward the end of the internship. During the internship, I performed surgery on the mice involved in our study. I learned the importance of being an independent researcher, the significance of weekly lab meetings, and how to operate new equipment. This was my first internship, and I enjoyed every minute of it. I enjoyed working with the mice and caring for them.
Pros
ability to collaborate with more than one mentor, research experience
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful job and great work environment!
Director of Admissions and Student Affairs (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAFebruary 19, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute working at William & Mary. I left there after almost 7 years to move out to be near my family here in Colorado.

A typical workday was fast-paced, constant interaction with students, managing applications for the program, and working closely with faculty and staff.

I learned that I'm really great at working with students and thrive in that environment
Pros
always felt appreciated; got lots of merit raises over the years
Cons
none!
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful not Academic
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Information TechnologyNovember 17, 2012
Department was only flexible when state regs were forced upon them.
Many employees do little while a few work hard to make up for the rest.
Best workers are laid off or forced out to find other jobs.
Pros
close to where i live
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes21No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Historical Educational Institution
Human Resources Analyst I (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VANovember 26, 2014
Conducted informational presentations to staff by providing excellent communication skills, reviewed applicant pool, background checks and analyzed salary compensation for current employees. Provided a variety of administrative support and to prioritize tasks and meet deadlines.
Pros
short commute
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAJune 19, 2015
I work a full time position where i work with talented co-workers. The atmosphere is pleasant and the work can sometimes be much. I like working for my manager and i have friendly co-workers. The hardest part is when supplies come in and I have to put them away. The enjoyable part is working with co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, challenging, Strong critical thinking ability
Fiscal Technician/Recovery Specialist (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAJune 18, 2012
I like the way I get lost in my work by making critical reasonable judgement, daily data entry input for campus financial reporting.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
no advancement, low pay, no perks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and time off for staff
Assist and delegate work (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAMarch 24, 2015
Overall a good company to work for. I enjoy the fact that I get so much time off every year. It allows me the time to do things that I enjoy doing.
Pros
steady paycheck
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work.
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAJanuary 20, 2016
Everyday is a new challenge and experience to learn from. With all the systems that are on campus you will learn multitude of designs and operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Group Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAAugust 24, 2013
I enjoyed working here. The people I worked with were open, friendly, and kind. The participants in the classes followed my directions and enjoyed the class.
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant
Graduate Assistant-School of Education (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAAugust 3, 2013
Assisted in the work of a noted professor of education by interviewing students, composing research questions and procedures, along with scheduling appointments via phone or email.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work life balance
Research Asistent (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAMarch 5, 2012
People here are wonderful and nice. Small but very friendly working environment, Good place for family. A lot of place to go nearby.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place
Travel Clerk Sr. Fiscal Technician (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg VaNovember 11, 2012
I am looking to advance, this company does not have advancement for me at this time, I am looking to grow.
Pros
flexable
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VADecember 3, 2013
I learned a lot about ground knowledge while working here. It seemed as the work was different every day which made it likeable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Hvac Master Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VANovember 20, 2013
Nice job here, good people, and alot of knowledge can be gained here.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
too many meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAMay 20, 2015
I worked in the chemistry department as a research assistant. Faculty was largely really dependable and great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, small liberal arts college with strong research.
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAJuly 12, 2013
Students are good, and interested in research. Math department is strong for its size.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Junior level rough
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAJanuary 4, 2013
At hte junior level, long hours for relatively low pay but you get amazing training and exposure.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Grounds Worker (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAAugust 28, 2014
Great environment for workers and students. The campus grounds are kept in great conditions year round.
Was this review helpful?YesNo7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great academic environment.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAFebruary 17, 2014
Closely interaction between faculties and students. Lively academic activities. First class research is carried out here.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but great environment
Student (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAAugust 13, 2014
Had a great 5 years, even when I struggled, it was still rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture