Find companies:
Colonial Management Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Colonial Management Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY !!!
None (Current Employee), Mobile AlApril 13, 2014
HORRIBLE PLACE!!!
They do not care about patients!
They just care about the money!
People failing drug tests and still allowed to dose ! Unqualified counselors !!!
People selling drugs in the parking lot and no one cares! This is not a place for treatment!
They want you to continue coming to their clinics forever!
Other states and cities have shut them – more... down for a reason !!!
They all need to be shut down !!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Program Director (Current Employee), ColumbusApril 5, 2014
No consistency below corporate level. High turnover and inadequate training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profits at the cost of lives, careers
Crash test dummy (Former Employee), Rather not sayMarch 10, 2014
Pros: good co-workers (not management, of course)
Cons: worst excuse for treatment in the history of treatment
Masquerading as a treatment center. No direction. Double talk. Management non existent. Program manager is a joke. Pure travesty of a treatment program. Patients are laughed at behind closed doors. Decisions are made based on census, not appropriate care for the patient. Ethics are nonexistent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profit over People
Pawn (Former Employee), HellFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: lousy coffee
Cons: everything else
There is no typical day at work. The patients are vulnerable and the staff is under-qualified to work with them and under-qualified because the pay is so low that few qualified people will agree to work for the company.
I learned that true evil is real.
Management are scared morons.
My co-workers were great; not paid well, either, but love their profession.
The – more... hardest part of the job was summoning the strength to get up at 3am to face another day.
The most enjoyable part of the job was making it through the day without being shot or stabbed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unethical corporate leaders one man for him/herself
used by the ruthless (Former Employee), officeJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: board of directors and the cmg leaders
Classic corporate office of "Wolf of Wall street"
Or "greed is good" - no boundaries no respect
But an office of leaders fighting to survive from termination by cover up and back stabbing and lying.

Come on people this isn't suppose to be the survival of the fittest or is it?

Get out while you can before they tag you next as the enemy. Best advise – more... don't walk RUN!!!

Worst place to work they truly don't care nothing but money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What You learned
Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee), Augusta GaSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: a place of employment if you can't find a job anywhere else.
Cons: bad benefits, benefits offered after 90 days.
This place is not a good place to work. The director is not a nice person. Everyone is not treated the same. Youn are not payed based on your educational background. The Director treats certain employees differently. The counselors never stay long either through low pay or the bad treatment by the Director. I would not recommend this job to anyone who – more... is Master's level or above. You will not get the salary that you deserve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another job
Counselor (Former Employee), FloridaAugust 23, 2013
This company is all about the money they care nothing about the patients all the corporate want to know is why are we losing patients which means "we losing money". They pay you literally nothing but to be honest the state of Florida pays nothing for substance abuse counselors so this place do pay more than some company's. The only good thing about – more... this job is the early hours you have to work which mean you are free to do whatever in the evenings even if you wanted to get another little part-time job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free coffee
Manager (Former Employee), Corporate Office located in OrlandoJuly 26, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: healthcare
I enjoyed interacting with the team members in the field. They were always prompt in responding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
Counselor (Former Employee), Saint PaulJune 14, 2013
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: everything
I spent too much of my life trapped at this place with no benefits, no decent earnings, and under a tyranny. I would not apply to this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real leaders are ordinary people w/ extraprdinary determination!
COUNSELOR (Former Employee), WEST PALM BEACHMay 21, 2013
Pros: the facility manager/company, would terat us to pizza, etc. i didn't bother, to go get a slice. why? who would want to break bread with the enemy! this was by far, the worse job. i ever had. i took my new job, that i am now on very seriuosly. i have disengaged from my past, and moved away, and loving my new job:-)
Cons: there are no benefits......................................worse job i ever had! . . . .horrible!
A typical morning @ work was like, being the new kid on the block. Unprepared for the negative comment/ reactions/ remarks, (constant confict)! I learned, tht we are responsible for wht we do, no matter or age, or how we feel, about people. And maturity has more to do w/ wht types of experiences, we've had and wht we've learned from them. As for the – more... 2 Managers @ the Facility. They could give two cent, as to wht takes place there. The (Facility Man.) was suppose to assist me w/ a transfer, but, he created "many" negative situations/issues. ( I've learned tht credentials on a persons wall, don't make them a decent human being.) My transfer NEVER happen! The (Asst. Man.), embarrassed/humiliated/ twisted conversations, me/him had privately, in front of Clients/Staff, by cursing/yelling. While there, I met a few nice Nurses there, but there were 2, (one w/ a gap in her front tooth/ the other, a heavy set loud (bully) hatian). OMG, those two women, made my life, a living "hell", to be there age. The hardest part of my Job was, going to work. I became more depressed/angry! Depression/stress, became my full-time Job. I was humiliated/paralyed by grief. It all, turned into frustration, and tht's when I started to cry! The more I tried to stop crying, the faster the tears fell and the more furiuos, I became. Grief had replaced my smile. I new then, it was time for me to resign, and move on. I can say, the most enjoyable part of my job, as a Counselor was. My obligation to my Clients. And there determination, to do and get better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks!
LPN (Former Employee), FloridaMay 16, 2013
Pros: patients
Cons: everything
GO STRAIGHT TO THE NEXT JOB! DO NOT STOP HERE. EARLY MORNING BS IS WHAT IT BOILS DOWN TOO! JUST ANOTHER DRUG RING USING "PRESCRIBED" AS ITS DECOY! HOW CAN A PATIENT BE ON METHADONE MAINTENANCE FOR 13 YEARS? I REALLY THINK THAT THE STATE DA SHOULD LOOK INTO THESE CLINICS!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, easy money
LPN (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 21, 2013
Pros: ease of the job
Cons: staffing
The patients were nice. They gave you a hard time every now and then. Management was not supportive nor professional. If you're easily intimidated this job is not for you! A day at work is spent medicating patients that have an addiction to various drugs or prescriptions. This is a FOR-PROFIT company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beware
prefer not to say (Former Employee), prefer not to sayMarch 28, 2013
Cons: all
This company has no business providing human services. They care nothing for the welfare of either patients or staff, only for maximizing profits. Staff turnover is way higher than industry standard. Salaries and benefits are way below industry standard. Directors with embarrassingly poor interpersonal and clinical skills are kept on, one assumes, because – more... they work cheap and their clinics turn a profit. Patients at one northeast clinic rumor that they've purchased cocaine from a recent former director's spouse. Another prevailing rumor is that a nurse was found OD'd in a clinic dispensary, having injested undisposed of methadone overage. This agency contibutes to the poor reputation methadone clinics already have by living up to everyone's worst stereotypes for this modality. – less

18clhafh15n8garb – December 25, 2013

The company is owned by the Warwick Group - vulture capitalists out of CT who boast on their website how they take over profitable heathcare companies and replace senior management with their own people. They don't even pretend to care about providing a quality service, only about squeezing every nickle they can out of the company.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I have EVER worked.
Substance abuse counselor (Former Employee), Bangor, MaineMarch 13, 2013
Pros: great coworkers. great patients.
Cons: terrible everything else.
As the previous two reviewers stated, Colonial Management Group is basically a joke. Highly underpaid, terrible benefits (if one could even call them benefits) and no respect from management for even the best of work one produces. The eight hour day feels like fifteen with hours of paperwork. They don't care about patients, they care about money...and – more... none of it is returned to better the conditions of the clinics, the patients or the employees. We all started here with such high aspirations, with a genuine interest in helping others and unfortunately are left dissatisfied and in a word, miserable. Even with the best of intentions one is disheartened by the inevitable nothing that one becomes as part of this company. We all try to make the best of it, helping as much as possible and doing anything we can to at least try and better a patient's day but we are treated terribly not only by patietnts that only want help when they are desperate, but also by the company that could honestly care less whether or not they even had counselors. Instead of a bonus this year or even a "job well done" after dealing with the inability to find a medical director, program director, counselors to fill the ever changing desks, and nurses, we are left to constantly wonder whether any of this even matters. This place is TERRIBLE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colonial Management Group LLC, A Sinking Ship
Counselor (Former Employee), FloridaFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: qualified staff( averaging a total of 7 months of employment with the company)
Cons: all of the above. do not become a patient or employee of colonial management group
A typical day working as a "counselor" consisted of nothing other than writing "notes" (falsifying notes had been encouraged by Colonial Management Group administrators when I was employed with the company, e.g. "window dressing notes") and seeing patients for no more than a few minutes at a time (state law requires weekly 30 minute sessions for new – more... patients, which was impossible due to high caseload numbers and consistent/chronic low staffing). Florida state law caps counselor patient caseloads to a "state value" of 32 patients at the maximum-- at any given time during my employment with Colonial Management Group, counselors regularly carried caseloads at twice the number of that set by state law. "Patient care" under Colonial Management Group's model consisted of the practice of bringing in as many patients as possible, regardless of background, need for services or the amount of staff available to manage their needs that the patient stated at time of intake--just as long as the patient had CASH money (literally) in hand. The Florida clinic where I was employed had an excellent physician/Medical Director with true regard and the utmost concern for patient care. However, Colonial Management Group seemed to only pursue the intake of patients with no regard to the quality of care, only to the quantity of intakes.
As the previous reviewer stated, Colonial Management Group has employed many qualified professionals that held high regard for patient care as well as holding high ethical and professional standards in their respected positions. Unfortunately, Colonial Management Group holds little respect for them, just as they hold little respect for the patients that they serve. In turn, the company will continue to have high turnover of staff and low quality of patient care due to their practice of cutting HUGE corners to collect the highest profits possible. Given the easily seen factual evidence of the observant, Colonial Management Group's rating is less than zero for both patients and employees and an inevitable investigation into their patient "services" and practices is sure to prove the blatant unethical business model that the company continues to employ. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Sad Place to Work
Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee), FloridaJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: horrible work environment, no benefits, no compensations, underpaid!, etc., etc!
The only thing I liked about this place were my co-workers. They were all supportive and very helpful. In fact, they slowly trained me as I was pushed into the deep end, instead of the company taking the time to do so. All employees are extremely well educated professionals, and very underpaid.
One thing I found disturbing was the need to clock in and – more... out for your 30min lunch even though you are salaried. There is no recognition or reward for working overtime, however. Benefits are pathetic. Employee evaluations were delayed to avoid giving raises.
The clinic is falling apart and there are no safety precautions apart from a fire extinguisher. In other words, even though this is a methadone clinic in a bad neighborhood (yeah, that too) there are no safety cameras, outdoor lighting, or even sprinklers for that matter.
I would not recommend this company to anyone looking to advance in the mental health or behavioral field. All they are looking for are people to push paperwork and hand out methadone. You'll be sitting on your behind from 5am to 1:30pm completing digital and paper documents. Don't expect to do any actual counseling. – less