Find companies:
Colonial Properties Trust
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Colonial Properties Trust Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all good job
Service Technician/service manager (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 23, 2014
spent ten years learning milt-family housing. Lots of painting and performing daily repairs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Marketing/Leasing Specialist (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 1, 2013
Enjoyed working here for 3 years.............................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused small cap REIT
Regional Vice President (Current Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 23, 2013
Great opportunity to lead some of the best property managers in the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Economic Downswing took a toll
Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 5, 2013
Pros: the tremendous amount of hands-on experience it gave me.
Cons: the extremely tight budgets because of the economy made it extremely difficult to give services.
The job that I performed for Colonial was very challenging and rewarding but Colonial Properties was the hardest place to work in my entire life experience. The reason for this, I believe, was the economic downswing of the entire country. There was high employee turn-over, and multiple level layoffs which went on continually undermining employee rapport. – more... Budgets were slashed severely which meant not having the resources or staff members needed to perform your job to its maximum result. I learned so much during this time because the lack of help cross-trained me on other tasks. My co-workers were awesome for the most part, but seeing them laid off wasn't a pleasant part of the employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Senior Director of Network Operations (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 26, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
I have worked for Colonial Properties for the last 14 years. IT has been on of the greatest experiences of my professional career. Our senior manager has always been open and supportive and allowed me to manage the enterprise as I saw fit. My staff of engineers and support techs are the best. I would put them against any staff in town. My management – more... peers are top notch as well. We work closely to provide an always on network and excellent customer satisfaction. The most difficult part of this position is having to leave. We are being absorbed by a merger and everyone is going their separate ways. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely high pressure and upper management encouraged to humilate employees
Area Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 14, 2013
Create, Implement and Maintain Property budget Guidelines
Maintain Direct Owner Relations
Coding and Processing of Accounts Payable
Due Diligence
Overseeing of Major Community Renovations
Monitor Policy/Paperwork Consistency
Extensive knowledge of Rent roll, MRI, Yardi and Yieldstar
Create and Implement Marketing Tools and Plans
Hiring, Training, Counseling – more... of Employees
Daily, Weekly, and Monthly Reporting
Process Rental Income, Delinquents and Legal Litigations
Promote Resident Retention
Build customer Rappor
Inspection and property walks of interior and exterior for market ready units. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment.
Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALAugust 9, 2013
Reviewing general ledger and job cost. Final approval of all invoices for development and construction. Reporting for upper management and SEC. Research various issues. The management team at Colonial is excellent. Co-workers there are very friendly and always helping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for.
Helpdesk/IT Support Specialist (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 25, 2013
Pros: great managment team.
Cons: company has been sold.
I have enjoyed working with this company for the past & years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Corporate Accountant (Current Employee), Birmingham, AlabamaJuly 15, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: merged with another company
Great place to work. Casual environment. Recently merged with another company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Leasing Specialist (Current Employee), AustinJune 29, 2013
Pros: great work environment.
Cons: medical insurance is expensive
I took a lateral move to work for Colonial and have not regretted it. The company really has a family feel and you can really feel the support your immediate supervisors and upper management give you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay and Great Values
Property Manager (Current Employee), Durham, NCJune 25, 2013
Pros: reduced rent, employee recognition, great pay
Cons: benefits, 60 hour work weeks
The company is great for recognizing employees hard work ethic. Job is rewarding and management supports its members. The hardest part of the job is not getting what you think the property needs to improve. The most enjoyable part of the job are the tenants and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 5, 2013
my day consisted of grounds,work orders,apartment turns, and teamwork. I learned on-site maintenance, any and all apartment issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership, dynamic work.
Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee), Bedford, TXMay 22, 2013
Pros: large network of team members with excellent support
Cons: pressure in a very competitive industry
I loved working for Colonial. The people were great and the company is progressive. Always looking for ways and areas to grow and recognize their talent! They had a clear career path and their product (multi-family housing units) were usually on point. They made selling them easy. A typical day is very fast paced with a fair amount of pressure on driving – more... results. This company is best for very motivated and driven, sales minded individuals. It is also an excellent role if you like meeting new people. I literally met someone new almost everyday. Leasing is the perfect blend of office work and customer service. If you make it on to the right property, you can really take your career far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be prepared to be worked like a dog...
leasing (Former Employee), texasJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: the rest of the package. no life tons of stress
The good reviews you see on here are all written by their hr department. This company will work you to death and they will keep asking for more. If you have a family, forget about seeing them because you will work up to 10 days in a row with no break. Upper management could careless about you and is quick to threaten your job if you don't lease anything – more... in any given day. Especially during the time of year when leasing is slow, they will kick you and keep kicking. They have no grasp on strategy. When you should be leasing your pants off they jack the rents so high that no one wants to lease and then when it gets slow they lower them on a slit bit and tell you to go get some leases...only bad thing is no one wants to lease because they already found a home. The other thing is they make you work short staffed and while you are at your busiest with no one in the office...surprise it's audit time!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from Colonial
Leasing (Former Employee), North CarolinaJanuary 15, 2013
Cons: you will have no life outside of colonial
This company cares nothing about their employees or residents. It's all about making money for themselves. Will find every reason to write you up and take your commission away. Always seems the write up is given when your highest commission is coming due. Company makes you stand in a "V" formation when the higher ups come into the office. It is so humiliating. – more... Micro managed constantly, sometimes work 10 days straight, outdated dress code. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team enviornment
Leasing (Current Employee), BirminghamJanuary 11, 2013
Nice place to work. Very team-oriented. Well balanced management and informative co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it! You will regret it!
Property Manager (Former Employee), AtlantaJanuary 4, 2013
Cons: everything
This company doesn't get it. All they care about are the "investors" and the "shareholders" and uses its employees as slaves! Especially in the 4th quarter of the year. We were not even allowed to purchase toilet paper for our office and had to buy our own out of our pockets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn
Service Manager (Current Employee), Summerville, SCDecember 25, 2012
Pros: great benifits
Cons: never enough employees to complete tasks of 30yr old properties
my work history prior to my current position was all lease up properties, a great place to learn the basics. my current position has refined my skills of working on several older properties. it has also allowed me to advance on the computerized ordering processes of OPS and Yardi systems, and look forward to learning and advancing everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
HR Specialist (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALNovember 30, 2012
I have worked with Colonial for 10 years ... been in multiple positions and have enjoyed working in every one of them. I have learned a tremdendous amount about the company and how it works by being in different positions. Love my co-workers. I have never had a problem with management, always felt I was treated fairly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful property, ugly company
Service tech (Former Employee), Lake Mary , FloridaNovember 11, 2012
Cons: cheap pay, no overtime, work you like a slave
Good co-workers, bad management , service manger is clueless

About Colonial Properties Trust

Colonial Properties Trust is a real estate investment trust (REIT) that creates value for its shareholders through a multifamily – Read more

Colonial Properties Trust Photos