Colony American Homes Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colony American Homes
Sr. Property Accountant (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMarch 13, 2016
The growth the company had did not allow for the management team to set up a strong accounting team and there for we were always behind in setting policies and procedures.
Pros
Growing Company
Cons
No work/Life balance, Didn't end up doing the job I was hired to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management;
CSR (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 3, 2016
No upward mobility unless you were part of the managers circle.

Meetings were often held with out all staff members included. You found out about changes after the fact and by co workers. Staff was not treated consistently.

Company recently merged. Hoping new management can provoke the changes needed.
Pros
able to work independly
Cons
employees treated inconsistantly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 23, 2016
I enjoyed working with my co-workers. I thoroughly enjoyed all the benefits the company had to offer and I really enjoyed working with the residents. I believed the management staff could use some sensitivity training the deal with the staff and residents.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Rude Managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Admistraitor (Former Employee) –  FloridaMay 27, 2015
Very unorganized on so many levels,Poor leadership placed throughout Florida's portfolios.
No room for advancement, constantly placing employees into other roles they are not capable of doing.

Company has way too much control over their staff to pay them such a high salary.

Specializes in events for the employees.Most dress very unprofessional for an office like work setting.
Pros
Occasional Free lunches
Cons
Serious Micro management and chaos mixed with whos who
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Compensation, however low moral in office.
Real Estate Broker Associate (Current Employee) –  Port Saint Lucie, FLApril 15, 2016
Poor training, no support system for employee's. New Property Manager and Maintenance Manager every 3-4 months. Low moral in office. Revolving door.
Pros
Conpensation and Benefits were good.
Cons
Low moral in office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, new manager is a micro manager
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Altamonte Springs, FLSeptember 13, 2015
Property Management office that managed single family homes. Great pay and benefits … the new property manager likes to say she's the boss and things go her way.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work specially great team work!!
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 6, 2016
Excellent company, GREAT Managers also a very busy workplace.
I work with tenants, very understandable I was the CSR for the company my duties was multi-tasking I would help in accounting on collecting rent payment, delinquency call, move outs and 3-day notices to vacate the most important about my job was to answer every single call with great customer service and help resident on everything they need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Assistant Administrator, Utility Specialist (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COFebruary 19, 2016
Fast paste and worked well with employees and residents. The merger was hard and not beneficial for everyone. I had wished for over all more support with the transition.
Pros
great team
Cons
new manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What Happened?
Minion (Former Employee) –  FloridaDecember 29, 2015
Seems disorganized from the top down. Alot of turnover here. Promises made and unkept. Everyone is pointing the finger at each other, and nothing gets done.
Pros
?
Cons
Serious communication issues from top to bottom.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day was a learning experience.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GANovember 9, 2015
A typical day starts off by checking your emails and seeing if anything has changed within the SMS system & calendar which is shared by team members. Sometimes this can determine how hectic or not so hectic the day will be. Know matter what I love maintenance helping people by give them excellent customer service. If you want a fun professional job CAH is the way to go!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
FIELD PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Altamonte Springs, FLNovember 1, 2015
I had a great experience with this company. The staff members are a wonderful group of people to work with. They have a great insurance package.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good sources
Real Estate Closing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZApril 13, 2015
I had a great time working in Colony American Homes, it is a friendly working enviroment。
The management of the company is organized.
My co-workers are like the family members.
I've enjoyed all part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colony Homes and working for Portfolio Acquisition Group in Tampa
PAG group (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 21, 2013
Portfolio Acquisition Group handles the purchasing of properties in Hillsborough, Sarasota, Pinellas, Polk and Pasco counties. They did not pay me the wages they said they would, and I was promised $25 for each property that they acquired for Colony Homes and I never saw a dime. A typical day at PAG was 8am to 5pm or 6pm. No overtime, "salary", bonus for each acquisition promised. It was a lie.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Utilities Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZNovember 19, 2014
- I learned many new systems; YARDI, PAYSCAN, and CRM
- My co-workers were fun and like a small family away from home
- The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to know my co-workers.
Pros
free lunches, creative employee outings, and programs
Cons
healthcare, no advancement opportunities, pay too low
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever Changing Business Plan
Manager (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale AZMay 18, 2014
This is a young company with ever changing direction. To succeed here you must be flexiable and stay under the rador. Great People. Upper management is trying anything that sounds good in the moment at a high rate of turnover. Their motto is hire fast, fire faster.
Pros
high energy fun people
Cons
chronic kaos and no direction
Was this review helpful?Yes27No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many outside activities, participate in charitable events, designated day of service to others paid. Fundraisers and team competitions.
Invoice Analyst - A/P (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMay 4, 2014
Colony American Homes is a fun, exciting, and always eventful place to work. Giving back to the community is a big plus for this company. It gives the employee an opportunity to be of service to the community and it is a paid day as well. Participation in fundraising events is encouraged.
The hardest part of the job is keeping up with its growth. The volume of this companys success is amazing to watch.
Pros
paid community service work. special company birthday celebrations and tons of food going on.....
Cons
ever increasing volume which shows the companies success.37, 000
Was this review helpful?Yes4No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 21, 2014
Excellent Employer.
Great Benefits.
Work from home.
No Competition from other agents.
Not 9-5.
Great coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start up real estate firm
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 23, 2012
Office management and executive assistant responsibilities.
Pros
varied and diversified responsibilities
Cons
added responsibilities required, little recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes15No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but wages are low
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNMarch 26, 2015
great company, but wage is low. everyone I work with is great and the insurance is great and cost to employee is manageable. We are new to the Nashville Market so it is really busy.
Pros
great hours & insurance
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Company
Marketing and Web Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZSeptember 16, 2013
Colony American Homes is a property management subsidiary of Colony Capital. LLC.
Pros
adequate funding, new company, staff
Was this review helpful?Yes6No14Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1