Find companies:
Colorado Department of Human Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Colorado Department of Human Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, way understaffed, good ol boy's club
Youth Corrections Officer (Former Employee), Greeley, COJuly 30, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: no room for advancement, high turnover
The juvenile inmates run the place, it is like day camp or summer camp for them, they know you can't do anything punative to them. Day care for juveniles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the feint of heart
Technician III (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 4, 2013
Pros: no comment
Cons: no comment
Too bizarre...I can't talk about it. Supervisors act as managers. Infighting and politics are rampant. Wish I could say something good. Oh, wait.....at least the checks don't bounce (yet).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colorado Department of Human Services.
Screen Printing Technician (Current Employee), Golden, COOctober 18, 2013
Pros: challenging work, fun, satisfying
Cons: turn over
A typical day of work started with a quick briefing of all requirements to meet vendor specifications. I worked with a great team of six others who all had great qualities. The management style of my direct supervisor was very relaxed as long as everyone was on task and working toward mastery of their position and duties. I learned, or tried to learn – more... something every day. This was made easier by the fact that I was able to work with such an experienced boss, as well as with inexperienced staff. The hardest part of the position was that there were many volunteers that would start the position, get trained, and then move on to other places and leave the team with a missing piece. This was difficult for two reasons, The first reason that this was difficult for me was because I spent a lot of time focusing on getting someone ready to be part of the team and by the time they were ready to work, they would leave. The second reason that this was difficult for me was because I really enjoy working with people after I get to know them. I feel that people who know each other can create a more effective and efficient work environment through synergy than two people who are strangers. The most rewarding part of my day was seeing the final project complete. Knowing that my team can accomplish a difficult task and do so while meeting time and quality requirements gave me the best feeling I have had in the work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with a lot of personality
Team Member (Former Employee), Denver, COMay 26, 2013
Pros: social environment, flexable work. positive communication
Cons: dirty jobs.
Working for the Department of Human services has provided me with the work ethics that can make you want to wake up and go to work and not fill like it's an activity that just fills time. I enjoyed working with my team members and had no problem helping them out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
CYSO1 (Former Employee), Golden, COMay 22, 2013
Pros: vacations off
Cons: no breaks.
hard to work for some people. They only treat you like a number some times. People only watch out for themselves no one else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead end job
Pipe Mechanical Trades (Current Employee), Denver, COMay 9, 2013
Pros: holidays off
Cons: no management direction, no advancement opportunities, no work life balance, no opportunity for pay raise's
Started working with CDHS with promises of career enhancement, flexible hours, and management opportunities. Fast forward 6 years later; All management has been hired from the outside, flex time has been denied numerous times because of organizational need supposedly, although the state says flex time should be used wherever possible. Management is – more... "the good ole boy club" you have to kiss up in order to recieve a good score on your pmap ( pmap is the employee rating system) after 6 years I've had it with broken promises and bad decisions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
File Bank
File Clerk (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COMarch 11, 2013
Updating files, also removing old files and boxing them for storage pick up. Making new files and upgrading for the file bank.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and caring work environment
Administrative Assistant Intern (Current Employee), Denver, CODecember 5, 2012
Pros: free education!
Cons: none that i could tell in two months
As an administrative assistant intern to the staff of the Executive Director's Office (EDO) I was offered the opportunity to learn the basics of working in a fast paced office environment. I learned the routines and needs of 5+ members of the EDO and was included in many of the different processes that each was involved in for their respecive office.

The – more... Executive Director and his staff were very warm and supportive during my internship. The feel in the environment was postive.

Everyone I worked with within CDHS seemed to truly have a drive to give back to their community through their position.

The hardest part of this internship has been realizing that in the beginning I did not have the attention to detail I thought I did. It is never easy to look at ones shortfalls. But luckily I worked with very generous and kind people who taught me to see that and how to grow better in that area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable workload
Disability Determination Services Examiner (Former Employee), Aurora, COApril 5, 2012
Pros: pleasant coworkers
Cons: lack of employee engagement
Lack of specialized training, heavy workload, little upward mobility, nice coworkers