Colorado Department of Transportation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice work envioronment
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMay 23, 2016
Work time is very flexible that you can come early and leave early. My supervisor would like to help me any time. My co-workers are more than happy to help me. The hardest part of the job is that I didn't get enough training.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
equiptment operator.
transpotation maintenance 1 (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 7, 2016
I love being out side and working an various equipment. I love plowing and moving snow. If I could work in Antarctica my life would be complete.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rest Area
Customer service / Maintenance 1 tech (Former Employee) –  Alamosa, CODecember 1, 2015
loved my job out doors, customer service, plants, trees, keeping the general public notified of road conditions and up coming changes. plowed snow to help keep roads passable in adverse conditions. Gave travlers a very pleasant place of rest providing area broshures and clean facilities to visit.
Pros
wonderful work conditions
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad productivity, poor workmanship
Driver (Current Employee) –  Grand Junction, COSeptember 26, 2015
Work schedule very erratic during winter. Employees take great pride in helping the public and keeping our roadways functioning.
Poor direction in daily operation and planning.
Very little advancement unless someone leaves or moves up.
Pay is very high and benefits are good.
Very hard to get rid of someone that is unsafe or unproductive.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
unproductivity
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Technician IV (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 25, 2015
I love working for CDOT, would like to stay, but there the availability in other areas. I just want to do something new.

Working in the government sector is the best thing, anybody can do. the pay is great the benefits are great.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employment
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee) –  Greeley, COJune 5, 2015
This position has increased my knowledge in FMLA and Human Resources. The department has provided ample training. I recommend this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goog place to work
Heavy Equipment operator & Heavy hauling. (Current Employee) –  Hartsel CoDecember 3, 2014
Typical day is slow. I have gained a lot of overlay and chip seal experience. Snow plowing is the major part of winter operation. Management is new & still learning but show a lot of potential. Co- workers are very challenging at times. The hardest part to the job was learning the ever changing computer system. The most enjoyable part of the job is where we work and the areas we travel.
Pros
good pay fair benifits
Cons
long winter night work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
General Labor I (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ColoradoDecember 1, 2014
I loved working here, I only had a temporary position and have been trying to get hired by them again.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job,
Electronic specialist III (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 22, 2014
This career choice was the best decision I could have made at the time. Very good place to work while I was raising my kids.
Pros
learned alot, got work with alot of new technology
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reverse Pyramid too many supervisors
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Durango, COJune 2, 2014
A great place to work when the Supervisors aren't bickering,

Lots of training to promote if you want to

Management is difficult to work with for the most part always changing your work week, then they will complain about jobs not getting done.

Don't excect a raise for at least 4 years if your lucky. You will stay at the same pay scale for a minimum of 4-10 years if you don't promote no matter what they tell you. Lots of talk and no actions.

Hiring process takes months
Pros
fun atmosphere, decent benefits
Cons
no pay raises
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee) –  Denver, COApril 9, 2014
Its a great position for someone who likes to work alone. There is not much interaction with other employees due to working in a patrol environment.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a secure employment that I find satisfying.
maintence 1 (Current Employee) –  Brighton, NYApril 8, 2014
One must understand the responsibilities and the duties involved. There is public safety and teamwork ethics that should always be followed through with self respect and dignity. Communication is plays a major role among co-workers and management as well as with the public. The most difficult part of the job is working long and exhausting hours and the most enjoyable part is working with the public. I have learned ethics can play a major roll when doing ones job given me the experience and a leadership roll that provides a more positive influence atmosphere.
Pros
benefits
Cons
wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
lead worker (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COJanuary 31, 2014
Did highway striping in the summer months,Highway mantance ,snow removal,road repairs. how to drive heavy trucks,forklifts,loaders,various power tools. Coworkers were enjoyable.Management treated you with respect and were very informative. The hardest part of the job was the long hours worked when removing snow from the highways. The most enjoyable was was looking at a highway after you had just painted.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience gained
Environmental (Former Employee) –  ColoradoDecember 31, 2013
Great experience gained working within the heavy highway construction field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a good place to work
Railroad Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 19, 2013
CDOT is going through some changes at the management level, which is pretty usual for state agencies whenever there is a new governor.

But at the worker-bee level you generally don't see that and you work with folks that have been there a while and know how to do their jobs.

Overall, a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be.
Transportation Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COOctober 1, 2013
An environment that is challenging yet helpful to the public needs.
Pros
steady pay and good people
Cons
some concerns about interruptions in family life in winter seasons.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
Highway Maintenance Worker I (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 4, 2013
Benefits and pay were great
Labor intensive work occasionally
Possibility for career advancements and relocation within the state of Colorado were great
Safety was always compromised while working on the highway
Pros
good benefits
Cons
safety was always compromised while working on the highway
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
TM1 (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COJune 3, 2013
To many politics working for the state. I worked around really great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all my positions was with the same company
Facilities Manager (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 16, 2013
working with managers and Contractors through out the state
To be prepared for projects and meetings, change is enebidble
Manage crews, contractors, billing, hiring, doing PDF as necessary
Training other to do a good job for there customers and do it in a safe environment
Road blocks on projects
going hoe knowing that everyone around me a safe, productive day
Pros
accomplishments
Cons
not being able to explain myself in the proper manner
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Engineering and Physical Science Tech II (Current Employee) –  Denver, CODecember 6, 2012
A typical day at work is working on Microstation designs of new bridges and repairs of in-service bridges. For repairs I go to the field to inspect, take pictures and assess repair work that needs to be done. Working with engineers, attending FIR and FOR meetings, Quantity Calculations, Bridge Geometry Calculations are also things I do. I am responsible for the initial set of drawings. They are then looked over by the lead engineer on the poject and redlined if necessary. I complete the redlines, quantities before the submittal date.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture