Find companies:
Columbia Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Columbia Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job with friendly environment
Insurance-Escrow Analyst (Current Employee), Fair Lawn, NJAugust 18, 2014
Pros: charity events, company picnics, benefits, good management
Cons: repetitive work, not enough opportunities for advancement
The typical day at Columbia Bank as a insurance/tax analyst involves tracking various expiration reports to make certain all tax and insurance payments are applied in a timely and accurate manner. The managers answer any questions that are posed throughout the work day, considering that the same type of questions are not repeated. The organizational – more... behavior is very eclectic and involves a multitude of personalities and cultural differences which are integrated for the purpose of performing various duties. The hardest part of the job is reconciling the general ledger through which all insurance and tax payments are posted because multiple amounts are pulled from hundreds of accounts within a daily workload and lumped into a complete subtotal. The challenge therefore lies in pinpointing any differences (to the penny) that might have occurred throughout the posting or pulling of various payments. Although the job maybe tedious and come with its difficulties, the most enjoyable part would have to be simply exchanging a few words or conversing with the co-workers about their day. Such communication gives the company a setting in which people are genuinely concerned with the well-being of others to the point where the work place as a whole has a very family oriented feeling. In general, although the workload can be long and tedious at times, the overall environment of the bank projects an aura which is indeed very customer and family oriented. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Facilities Supervisor (Former Employee), Wilsonville, ORAugust 5, 2014
Columbia Bank is a quality company growing a bit too fast to keep up with itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment
Teller (Former Employee), Poulsbo, WAJune 24, 2014
Pros: local community bank
Cons: local community bank
In Store bank in a fast paced work environment
Not a lot of room for advancement.

local Bank Growing Fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly stressful.
Bank Teller (Current Employee), Astoria, ORMarch 31, 2014
Highly stressful position. The pay does not compensate the responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incentives were great, recognition for what you do at your job
Banking Support Representative (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: employee incetives
The ability to grow within a company to expand your knowledge, opportunity to transfer internally to other areas. Weekly staff meetings were held and incentives were received. So many other positive staff activities were in place, golfing tournaments, year end staff gatherings, spend a day at Emerald Downs for the horse races, company picnics and Christmas – more... Party. Such a fun place to work...
People there are like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Overdraft Specialist (Former Employee), Salem, ORMarch 21, 2014
Good company overall. Spent my days closing overdrawn accounts, reporting them to collections, posting payments, and entering data into data bases. Great coworkers and management who worked well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well..
Teller (Former Employee), Portland, ORJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches, a great training environment, a great trainer, and long lunches
Cons: management
The job was a great pleasure to enjoy, but the management wasn't well at communicating with one another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Quality Control Specialist (Former Employee), Tacoma, WANovember 8, 2013
Pros: free entry to the puyallup fair due to being a sponsor.
They are a good company to work for in that you are a person and not a number.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviornment horrible pay
CSR (Current Employee), Tacoma WASeptember 12, 2013
Pros: good benefits, good work values and advancement opportunities
Cons: pay
There is opportunity to advance and learn but the pay is just horrible I am a CSR but make less than a teller at Sound Credit union its depressing but everything else about the company is great. If you dont care about pay this is a great awesome company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work at with great benefits
Head Teller/Branch Supervisor (Former Employee), Fair Lawn, NJAugust 19, 2013
Customer service is a plus but with great team work every job duty is accomplished and a great family team oriented environment as support is always great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing professional atmosphere
Customer Service Representative/Platform Teller (Current Employee), Fair lawn NJJuly 10, 2013
On a daily basis my job at work is to process banking transactions through our software while also attending customer inquires and needs. Basic filing, basic outlook, generating letters to customers, answering of the telephone, proving the coin machine, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and family oriented
Teller (Current Employee), Cedar Grove, NJMarch 6, 2013
Pros: opportunities to progress within the company, all individuals from corporate to the actual ranch are very welcoming
Cons: none that i have encountered
Columbia Bank has to be among the bets banks to work for. It is very welcoming to the employees and very customer service oriented for the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I left Bank of America because I loved the fact Columbia Bank was a community bank that stood for the people.
Teller/ Customer service rep (Former Employee), Spanaway, WAMarch 3, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: mentally challenging at times, but you learn that way.
I absolutely loved my job at Columbia Bank. I learned something new each and every day, be it from my job, or the customers. I was there just shy of 6 years and was a teller mentor, and had the priviledge of taking care of my customers, and working for the most part , with some really great people. The hardest part was getting a new manager , who didn't – more... care for the older, maybe a little more hands on people, and she decided to let me go. I was DEVASTATED... Most every single day was a great day at that job. Except when we got robbed and I was injured by the gun man. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Very caring work place
Teller (Former Employee), Midland Park, NJFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: very positive work place.
Cons: no complaints
On a daily basis I was responsible for making deposits, withdrawals, and transfers for customers. Sometimes I had to open or close an account. I improved my arithmetic and communication skills while working for Columbia Bank. I learned how to deal with all sorts of situation involving customers personal and sensitive information. They also trained me – more... on dealing with difficult customers and phone communication. The management was extremely impressive very supporting and helpful as well as my co-workers. I had no fear asking anyone for help with anything. Overall the job was very enjoyable I met a lot of great and inspirational people, getting to talk to them on there small get away from the office was always a pleasure. The hardest part of the job was just getting use to the system which took me roughly about a week to grasp fully. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A descent job but not a final step for me.
Float Platform Bank Teller (Current Employee), Middletown, NJJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits, mileage covered when i have to travel to other branch locations, good hours
Cons: working saturdays, short notice when being assigned to branch in a different location, lack or no advancement opportunity.
Typical routine to opening the bank according to company policy. I am a float employee and is assigned to locations that require me to cover branches that need staff coverage. Learned alot about good customer service and how to deal with both easy and difficult customers. Co-workers at my company can be hit or miss. Some are great team players and are – more... willing to share knowledge. Others are not so open to sharing their knowledge and lack people skills that I feel is important when dealing with the public. My experience at this bank is really just another example how corporate America has created lack of abundance. Columbia Bank is definitely one of the best banks that any customer should bank at. They offer better accounts and better interest rates than most. I have found that whether or not you have skills unless you are liked by certain staff you will not advance into a management position. When seeking advancement, the management that are conducting the interviews will find petty things and use that against you to stop you from advancement
The hardest part of job can be dealing with very difficult customers and having to take abuse by them.
I can't think of anything enjoyable at the moment but so far my lunch break. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for. Amazing employees and customers
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Tacoma, WADecember 17, 2012
Pros: a warm environment with coffee all day!
Cons: low hourly wage
I loved working for Columbia Bank. I felt very safe there. There was always room for advancement and new opportunities. My easily fit in with all my co-workers and management. I loved working with all our customers. It seemed like there was always a problem to fix or a puzzle to figure out, I enjoyed that the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with customers
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kent WAOctober 4, 2012
I really enjoyed working and building relationships with customers. It was highlight of my day to know that I did everything I could to provide best customer service and just make someone's day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out great
ATM SPECIALIST I (Current Employee), Tacoma, WASeptember 15, 2012
Pros: free tickets to the puyallup fair
Cons: no raises
I have been happy working here for the most part. I have a ton of great co-workers and I have learned a lot. As the years have passed and the bank has grown management has changed from an attitude of trying to help employees grow and advance to only hiring employees who have already been doing the job they are being hired for which means no room for – more... growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a great environment to become a part of.
Part-Time Bank Teller (Former Employee), Midland Park, NJAugust 3, 2012
Overall it was a great environment to become a part of. Loved helping customer find the right answers to all there problems or even the right products to offer them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank is now trying to find its way
Senior Vice President - Chief of Special Assets (Former Employee), Lake City, FLMay 12, 2012
Columbia Bank is now trying to find its way. Will not post negative comments.