Find companies:
Columbia Memorial Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Columbia Memorial Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total compassionate patient care.
Intern (Former Employee), Astoria, ORJuly 22, 2014
Pros: warm and friendly. no one leaves their job.
Cons: i can't get a job there, there are no openings.
Total team work employees, The least amount of years employed in HIM department was 7 years. Most employees have been there close to twenty years. Hard to get foot in door, everyone loves their job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the community
Orthopedic Attending Surgeon (Former Employee), Astoria, ORJuly 21, 2014
Pros: beautiful community hospital updating and making changes
Cons: changes weren't made until i left
As to any complaints I had when working there, I think that my leaving fixed those. Everything I asked for while I was there was provided for the new recruit almost immediately. I respect that they made the changes and would consider going back there if there was a need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassion and understanding were the necessary ingredients to succeed at this high paced, multi operating facility.
Financial Counselor (Former Employee), Hudson, NYJuly 16, 2014
The clients needs were always priority no matter what the situation. The staff was trained in handling stressful situations that arise out of a life lived in unfortunate circumstances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5
Communications Specialist (Former Employee), Hudson, NYJune 5, 2014
Communications between Doctors and Staff including patients
HIPAA
Was great
Where great
Answer the phone and directing the calls
Everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy ER
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Hudson NYFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: low staffing, cutting the budget wherever possible
Small town ER that is often very busy with a wide variety of patients. There are a number of strong, very experienced emergency medicine nurses, but more and more they are leaving due to the unstable nature of our hospital and the budget cuts. Management is not a strong suit in this ER or the hospital as far as I have seen. There is a general feeling – more... that we nurses are disposable and that the hospital will do what makes financial sense before considering the overall quality of care being presented to our patients and community. The hardest part of the job is this issue with not feeling that we have strong leadership. The best part of the job is working with a team to take care of patients during a busy day and feeling like we got the job done. I have learned a lot in this ER about caring for critical patients who come into the ER after cardiac arrest, caring for septic elderly patients, pediatric patients and everything in between. It has been a great learning experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a desirable place to work
Would rather not mention (Former Employee), Hudson, NYFebruary 6, 2014
Overworked, political, favoritism, worked overtime without compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Valatie, NYDecember 11, 2013
My typical day at work involves speaking with patients, booking/canceling appointments and filing paperwork. I have learned many new computer programs and healthcare terms. My manager and coworkers are very pleasant to work with; we all try to help out each other as much as possible. I believe the hardest and the most rewarding parts of my job are the – more... same. It's difficult when patients come in very ill but it's rewarding to know that I can make a slight difference in the way they feel by my positive attitude and concern for their health. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work. Had the chance to learn and practive advanced skill under the supervision of a RN.
Certified Nursing assistant 2 (Former Employee), Astoria, ORSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: small hospital size
Cons: short or no breaks
I worked Med/Surg. It was a great place for a new CNA to work. It helped me reaffirm that I want to continue my studies and get my RN
Patient pass down
start taking vitals, make sure patients are happy and comfortable
Chart patient vitals and inform RN if there is a change in vitals, or patients behavior or appearance.
Get patients ready for dinner
check – more... to see how they are, if in pain ask what level of pain
Take patients vitals and chart them into computer
Get patients ready for bed. Help with ADLs, assist with walker to the bathroom – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Positive Workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee), Hudson, NYAugust 17, 2013
Pros: great co-workers and environment
Cons: little to no advancement opportunities
A typical day at work consists of doing 2 sets of rounds throughout the hospital. There are approx. 75 stations that need to be hit twice per shift. One round the first 4 hours of your shift and another round the last 4 hours. 7.6 hours is what you get paid for per shift. So far i have learned a great deal about Customer Service and dealing with a wide – more... variety of different people. Many different races,nationalities, religions and cultures. I have learned when to use force, when and how to use Verbal De-escalation. The job sometimes takes a great deal of self-control and patience. It demands you to try and think of yourself or a loved one in a patients or visitors situation and you ask yourself how you or a loved one would want to be treated if you were in that particular situation. That value alone has allowed me to learn a great deal in this field of work, but also in life in general as well. The management here is okay. Like most large companies, the management has its ups and downs. But as it is here so far, i cant really complain too much. I enjoy working with all my co-workers. I have to trust all of these people with my safety as they have to do with me. The hardest part of the job is seeing so many people come and go. By that i mean patients. Some you can get close with from working in certain areas more often. Whether the patient simply leaves the hospital or ends up deceased it can be difficult, but its just another part of the job. Helping and keeping people safe makes it all worth it in the end. The most enjoyable part of the job is simply working closely with the other staff throughout the hospital and working with the patients. Helping and seeing people on a daily basis. If you practice good customer service then 99% of the time you get a great response from staff, patients and visitors. Its a very social job and i enjoy that type of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice inviroment
Office Medical Technician (Former Employee), Hudson, NYNovember 30, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: pay for your parking, and expensive!
the worst part is that they charge their employees to park, and not have a reserved spot for you! Union will not fight for you.
lots of on the job training,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Patient Care Assistant-ER (Current Employee), Hudson, NYJuly 16, 2012
There is no typical day at work. I have learned how to work with people with different expectations. Management has been changed 3 times in the past two years. Some of my co-workers are great.. others need to rethink their career choices.