Find companies:
COLUMBIA SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

COLUMBIA SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Faculty
Adjunct Professor Occupational Safety and Health (Current Employee), Orange Beach, ALSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: growing university
CSU is a growing, reputable University. I enjoy the coursework and opportunity to facilitate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Course Technologist (Former Employee), Orange Beach, ALMay 31, 2014
Great benefits! Has some good ideas and learned a lot with this organization. Owners provide fun days to keep workers motivated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Academic Advisor (Current Employee), Orange Beach, ALMarch 3, 2014
I love working at CSU! I discovered that I loved helping people meet their goals; therefore, my job became more of a passion.

Great family culture!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Online University
Instructor (Former Employee), Orange Beach, ALJanuary 10, 2014
Grading of Online Music Appreciation tests and assignments. Communication with students through email, and grading comments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A SCHOOL! This is a FOR-PROFIT BUSINESS!!
Instructor (Former Employee), Orange BeachDecember 25, 2013
Cons: diploma mill, non-accredited, uneducated management
And, not a very good one at that. They should be reported to the Department of Education and investigated. This place is worse than ITT-Tech, and that's pretty bad!!! In fact, why waste my time on here? I think I AM going to report them to the DOE and let the feds intervene and investigate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Title IV Specialist (Former Employee), Orange Beach, ALDecember 5, 2013
Processed Financial Aid funds to student's accounts, did the return of Title IV funds, meaning when a student withdrew from the course, I would get the calculation of the funds the student did not earn and send back to the government.Great environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont waste your time
Ciriculum Development (Former Employee), Orange BeachAugust 21, 2013
Pros: leave early on friday
Cons: management is uneducated and related to one another
Very uneducated people run the school. Its not a regionally accrediated university. Its not worth your time or effort to work there.People with degrees are a threat to them and you will be treated like cr**p. I concur with the other reviews that this school is a cult. They want to be so much like a real school its pathetic (they can't and will never – more... be like a real school). If you go to upper management with a problem they will turn the situation around and blame you for it because they can't resolve the issue or don't want too. HR, Accounting, Development, CS, etc. (all departments) are all related to one another so they are going to always take up for one another. If you aren't part of the "team" you will be an outsider and they will treat you as such. This school has people (management) in place to grin in your face and stab you in the back so that they can keep their own jobs and make you look bad on a consistant basis. I hope one day that someone will take notice to the mess they put people through and a light is shinned on them. People that live in the area all of their lives have never heard of the school. That's a big RED LIGHT that something is wrong! Another thing is some people that work there are like puppets. And they will go along with everything and anything that goes on there even compromising their own dignity to satisify the family that owns the school! I am so glad that I got another job 6 months after I worked at CSU and got the heck out of there before they could get me tied up in the junk that they had going on! Anyone that is there at least a week will notice the foolishness that they have going on. They have their priorities in the wrong place and don't think they should get with the program. That school and the people that work there need to stay just where they are in that contemptible place they call Orange Beach, AL! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Enrollment Representative (Current Employee), Orange Beach, ALJune 5, 2013
Pros: activities
This company is outstanding. They rate very high on my favorite job list. I would recommend this company to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover
Representative (Former Employee), Orange Beach, ALMay 14, 2013
Pros: starting pay is ok
Cons: micro management/ fake employees/ cold calls
Management needs more training on how to manage their employees.

Hires family members ( they are the ones who move up the ladder)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a horrible place to work. It's like a cult. Management is awful & disrespectful
Admissions Representative (Former Employee), Orange Beach, ALApril 29, 2013
Cons: everything about that place is negative
I have never worked for a place that was so horrible. They treat u like a child. Management is uneducated, inexperienced and has no respect for ppl. This place has a high turnover rate bc of the shady way they do things. They get u in trouble for foolish things and monitor every aspect of your life down to your FB page. There is young kids placed into – more... authority and the treat elders like doormats. The school education is a sham and admissions is a joke. They shouldn't be allowed to operate. Don't work there or waste your money on a sorry education there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable Place to Work
Admissions/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orange Beach, ALNovember 30, 2012
Pros: the facility is nice... that was about it.
Cons: micro-management, fake employees, ever changing policies, and telemarketing for a fake college.
The management sucks because they have people with no degree managing people WITH degrees at a college. The management loves to spy on everything you do ( including spying on anything you do at your computer, even over lunch). They also claimed to be a "family-friendly" school, but they are not. If you are even late 30 seconds, you still get in trouble – more... with managers. SO many people with families got fired because of being "late" or having family emergencies. All of the people I grew to like in my time there eventually left. They hated the department as much as I did. Between the micro-management, fake employees, and sucky managers, it's no wonder they told eveyone they had to freeze the department so no one could move up or over to another department. No one wanted to be there.

The first day is all about fun and getting to know the school. People SEEM happy when you go visit departments but later, you realize that this is not a "happy" work environment. Policies were changing so often for students, even three times in one day! It was hard to do admissions work with ever-changing requirements of students. They were confused. Another thing that really did not make sense to me was all of the telemarketing that they have the admissions department doing for the school. Real colleges and universities do not cold call random people and then keep stalking them. Columbia Southern University PAYS for leads, and then they have admissions call them. That is not a college. The biggest thing for me was that they aren't regionally accreditted, so many people were getting "degrees" that they could not even transfer to another college. I ended up talking to so many angry people. I felt like I was wasting my life in a cubicle doing a job that I was not told I would be doing. I moved for this job. I really believed all the fluff they told me when they hired me. I regret ever working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of colleagues, and sharp technology.
Transfer Credit Evaluator-Office of the Registrar (Former Employee), Orange Beach, ALSeptember 20, 2012
Pros: great workplace environment, rewarding work
Cons: human resources, nepotism, inflated mission statement
I loved my team, and they loved me (Registrar Superstar June 2011). A very professional environment, with people who work hard and laugh hard. Everyday was fun and rewarding. I learned so much about US Department of Education guidelines regarding higher education.
I also learned alot about registrar and admission procedures in higher education. With – more... up-to-date technology and a great IT team, it was a fun place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmosphere, Friendly place to work
Supervisor, Applications and Online Systems (Current Employee), Orange Beach, AlAugust 6, 2012
CSU is a great place to work with a Senior Leadership team that truly cares about their employees' success and happiness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
bookstore (Former Employee), orange beach, alFebruary 27, 2012
Pros: get off early on friday
Very nice place to work! I really enjoyed working here, Very loving people in a family oriented place.