Columbia University Medical Center Employee Reviews

Found 142 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Center exploits workers
Finance (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2017
The Medical Campus is very different from Morningside Campus. They overwork you and expect you to work pass 5pm everyday. Senior Management bullies anyone outside of their inner circle. The department I worked in was so disorganized not to mention that they were in a deficit. There was no financial structure in place. The Senior Director had no interest in working with the finance team to implement a better financial process. The previous incumbent deleted all the electronic financial files because they left the department on bad terms. The Senior Director was of no resource to me. I had to contact people from outside departments to assist me with internal questions. My overall experience at the Medical Campus was horrible!! My only advice is; don't work in a department that is in a deficit. Also, beware of IDX reconciliation if your applying to a nonbiller position. To save money, some departments like the one I worked in will combine finance and accounting tasks into one position.
Pros
23 vacation days and unlimited sick and tuition benefits
Cons
Poor management and decentralized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced but easy going
Data Entry Administrator/Clerk (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2017
The work place is very fast paced since you have to keep up with a large workload. Although once you get the hang of things the work becomes automatic and the stress levels get reduced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 9, 2017
Recommends
I have been working at Columbia University full-time (More than 3 years)
Pros
-New York
-Top place
-Easy to find collaborations
The postdoc experience mainly comes down to: did you correctly choose your PI. If you did not, it might be a living nightmare. If you did, like me, you spend a very great 4 years working on your ideas with a lot of support.
Cons
I read a comment about salary. Well, it is a postdoc, there is no such thing as "market" value. Postdocs salaries sucks everywhere but still higher here than many other places. But New York is more expensive than other places.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Clinical Research Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 7, 2017
This is a productive workplace where having a grand understanding of clinical research coordination is greatly learned. Management can be improved and building a culture for staff, along with incentives to grow, can be better streamlined.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has it's pluses and minus, but not a place to build a career
Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 7, 2017
Pros:
- Prestige
- Good benefits
- Generally nice people
- Pay is good

Cons:
- Not terribly forward thinking
- Poorly organized
- Some senior staff not easy to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Coordinator
Clinical Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2017
Very stressful surgical oncology unit. Time management is extremely important. A typical day starts at 8 and finishes at 6 and it is constant patient care. A day involves seeing new patients, followup patients, post operative patients and telephone triage.
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unclear job description
Management (Current Employee) –  surgeryMay 30, 2017
A lot of people working here in my experience are here for the 9-5. I am looking for growth and to work with people who want to change and improve healthcare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the entity
Lead Ac / Refrigeration Service Mechanic (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 25, 2017
Always on pins and needles wondering who is watching you looking to report something to someone to put you in problems with regards to discplinary action.
Pros
none
Cons
alot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job w/great benefits
Office/Event Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort Lee, NJMay 23, 2017
Fast pace environment. New challenges every day. Great people to work with. Great benefits but many changes within the department all the time. No real job security.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
A lot of departmental changes- no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Medical Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 22, 2017
Been working here for 6 months and I like it m. I'm still look to Expand my horizons and find another job. I would love a clinical supervision position
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about Columbia University Medical Center?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Pediatric Dental Resident (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 17, 2017
I enjoy working here. People are nice. I like my coworkers. We have good hours and positive supervision. The clinic site is clean and safe. Our hours are reasonable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bit disorganized
Executive Assistant/HR Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 8, 2017
The organization is a bit disorganized. Long working hours make it difficult to do anything else after work. Training is not provided for new task under your job description.
Pros
Decent benefitd
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've ever worked for
Clinical Nurse III (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 8, 2017
In my career as a nurse, I never felt more appreciated until I worked here. I wish I started here years ago. Management supports my goals and the company wants you involved.
Pros
Nurturing environment, supportive management
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unengaging
Billing Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 4, 2017
Every day same tasks very little opportunity for growth. Heavy micromanagement, no leadership development, revolving door of employees. Very poor communication between management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 30, 2017
Good working environment with friendly administration. The environment allows for a lot of growth opportunity and access to personal and professional development.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 26, 2017
Restrictive environment with the opportunity to grow within the agency. The hardest part of the job is maintaining interdisciplinary communication. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the patients overcome their illness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job work/life is creative but does stale after a while
Accountant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 25, 2017
Columbia University Dental School is a wonderful place to work. Employees treat each other with kindest and respect. Management tries to be down to earth but somehow a feeling of working in a government office environment does set the mood.
Pros
working with many talented people, diversity of thought, positive attitudes
Cons
sometimes feels like working in government office, little room to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prestige, Not Pleasure
Clerk (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 21, 2017
The management style at CUMC is much different than prior workplaces I've been to. Working with all of these professors means you indirectly get treated like their students (less than them intellectually) and as such, face varying degrees of disrespect. It's a good place to work in terms on benefits, and putting Columbia Medical on your resume, but not a good place to build an entire career unless you're managing yourself.
Pros
Prestige of name
Cons
Management, respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are motivated and ambitious
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 18, 2017
Working in a challenging environment with excellent co-workers.
I learned a great deal about neurology and patient care
Work started at 8 and stopped when you finished.
Culture was to work tirelessly
Hardest part of the job was keeping up with all the work.
Best part was caring for patients and families and being a part of their life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Coding Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fort Lee, NJMarch 9, 2017
I have been here for 4 months and like my work and people. it is very professional environment.. extensive training is provided to help transition into your work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Columbia University Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 143 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7

Columbia University Medical Center Reviews by Location