Find companies:
Columbia University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
177 reviews

Columbia University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic benefits.
N/A (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 18, 2014
Pros: tuition benefits (for yourself and your children)
Cons: salary closer to a non-profit than a corporation
Each Dept/Group/School/Division/Etc. operates, seemingly almost, autonomously. There are plenty of great entities within the University to be employed by. If you discover you have chosen incorrectly, at least you'll be an internal candidate when looking for other opportunities, within the relatively massive Columbia University system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Medical Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 18, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: under staffed
Good benefits, but under staffed and no growth opportunity.

when I first started thought it was a union based company. co-works are a team we all worked together and stayed on task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Education Environment
Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 9, 2014
I learned a higher awareness of the "higher education" culture. The campus and student body is very inspiring and alive. A typical day at work is very diverse yet exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great small work environment
Senior Data Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 5, 2014
Small hospital; personal with staff. Great learning environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ivy League University
Administrative Coordinator, Film (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 3, 2014
Excellent place to work and good tuition and vacation benefits. Stellar faculty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated and hard working staff.
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 24, 2014
Pros: free classes!
Love my bosses and my colleagues. I am learning patience, which is the hardest part of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactively taking assignments and identifies issues to determines the most appropriate action to achieve the optimal result.
Manager, Pension Financial Reporting (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 15, 2014
By taking assignments and responsibilities proactively I always eagerly and willingly build and develop strategic relationship with my colleagues, peers and senior level management to achieve the department’s & overall University’s goals. I consistently exercised well-balanced thought process and proper research to identifying the core issues and their – more... solution in my decision-making process. This resulted in a smooth external audit and Form 5500 filing for all the plans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for doing research
Research assistant as Ph.D. student (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 12, 2014
As a Ph.D. student, I would like to say Columbia University is a nice university. More to add...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and harding working environment
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 8, 2014
Pros: close to home, great hours
Cons: out dated building, however they were in the process of updating while i was there.
I was hired as a temporary assistant to cover the Operations administrative assistant who was out of the country for a month. The team was friendly and welcoming and needed a temporary assistant to handle the rhythm of their office while she was gone. The Chief Operating Officer appreciated my work so much he recommended me to the HR Director for his – more... division.

The most important thing I learned on that assignment is no matter how short or long the contract it is important to treat every assignment as if it were my own full-time position and/or business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great collaborative and creative work environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 6, 2014
I really appreciate the chance to be able to study and work at Columbia Chemistry department with outstanding professors and talented students. The highly interactive environment in our department brought up many new ideas to my research. Most of my PhD work is done here, including the very exciting perovskite solar cell projects. I especially thank – more... the post-doc of our group who worked with me to initiate this project. I also got help from two other postdocs of our group and one out of our group. I learned that in scientific research, team work and collaboration is very important, especially for very challenging projects. You will never know who will help you in your success. Talking with people, discussing what you get and asking for suggestions can accelerate your progress a lot.

The hardest part of the project is at the end. We needed to repeat some experiments but had no fresh samples. The previous sample preparation set-up was removed. Even my professor was thinking about giving up trying new samples and using the old one which was probably still 'alive'. But I insisted to try to make some new samples to make sure our data are reliable. I worked very hard with my co-workers for two weeks and finally prepared some new samples and got the results we need. This is actually the most enjoyable part of this project. You know what you need to support your idea and work hard with co-workers and finally you got it, as you expected! As for graduate study and research, I think the most attractive and enjoyable part is the problem-solving process. You ask why and think about how to know the 'why', design experiment procedure and do experiments to solve your questions. Of course, during this process you will encounter lots of accessions which is not as you expected. Through discussing with the professor and co-workers, you have to figure out your own way to solve these problems and finally get the answer. These struggling days and nights are actually the most treasurable moments in my graduate studies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent stimulating collaborative
Associate research scientist (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 5, 2014
Excellent
Stimulating environment
Collaborative
Resourceful
Cutting edge
Career advancing environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coursework Project
PROJECT EXPERIENCE (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 2, 2014
Coursework projects in Columbia University for Communication Circuit, Advance Communication circuit, and MOS Transistor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can do attitude
Managing ERP Infrastructure (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2014
I enjoy my work. My co-workers support my initiatives and ideas. I provide solutions. I manage projects efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT ATMOSPHERE AND dOCTORS
Senior Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits, union job
Cons: always has budget cuts
Great coworkers and great doctors in the Pediatric G.I. division
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: lunches
Cons: short break
Typical day at work
-Clocking in,Preparing the fafsa applications,Fixing bins and folders,Being attentive with the students that need a loan,preparing packages.
-Learned about applying loans and applications
-Management was always busy
-Coworkers were great
-Hardest part of the job was the bins
-Most enjoyable was helping the students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structured place to work
Clerk Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 28, 2014
Everything flowed there. Everyone had there duties. They came in and did them. Everyone moved well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 28, 2014
Great university to work for. The most enjoyable part of the job was the gorgeous campus!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place
Lab technician (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 5, 2014
I worked part-time here, and I worked in a small team. My colleagues, which are actually PhD candidates, are friendly. The working environment is good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place depending on building some are very outdated
Technician II (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 4, 2014
Pros: good place
Cons: to much drama
overall good depending on the facility you are in some buildings are vey old
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school
Faculty house management (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 4, 2014
Learned a lot from college graduates in the job field. temporary internship

1 2 3 4 5

About Columbia University

Founded in 1922, Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health pursues an agenda of research, education, and service to – Read more

Columbia University Photos