Find companies:
Columbia University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
210 reviews

Columbia University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication Skills Improved
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 12, 2015
Pros: flexible working time
This is a great opportunity to improve my communication skills. Helping the professor and the students is a lot of fun. And the working time is quite flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Porter/Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 5, 2015
Pros: equal opportunity for all.
It's a great place to work, provides employment opportunities for everyone without prejudice and provides a safe enviornment for others to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually riveting environment, fast paced and friendly
Executive Assistant to the Special Advisor (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 25, 2015
Pros: flexible hours, i learn a alot everyday, i meet incredibly powerful and successful people daily
Cons: can be overly stressful at times, indecisiveness is my worst enemy, bureaucracy and politics can be frustrating when trying to get things done on a deadline
Working at Columbia University has given me a steady job which not only demands intellectual growth, but has also provided me with a great team, support network and fantastic managers who I am thankful for every day. The work is hard, complex and unending, but it is building the necessary traits in me that will guide me to a path to success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bleh
. (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 23, 2015
Pros: relatively safe place to work
Cons: some skills aren't transferable to other industries.
Good place to hide if you don't want a challenging job. No sense of urgency on project work. Change directions of goals in a blink of an eye. Management needs a face lift - on all departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice lace to work
Fire Safety Officer (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 15, 2015
Nice place to work, people are friendly . Good benefits and time off. Nice co-workers, management a little stiff. Learned a lot about various EHS functions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic place to conduct research
Postdoctoral researcher (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 14, 2015
Columbia is the place that you can efficiently work with experts from many fields. It is easy to find resources that is critical to your work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great collegial environment
Consultant, Education Leadership Program (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 13, 2015
Learn from some of the best scholars in education. Diversity and difference are welcomed as well as reflective thinkers and change agents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy university professional work
Associate Dir., Alumni Relations, Graduate School (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 3, 2015
Pros: professional development opportunities for staff
Cons: in need of more coordinators to support; 6 hour commute daily
*Direct all graduate student and alumni programming and community engagement
*Create and manage all large-scale events
*Enjoy colleagues
*Most difficult is the 6 hour commute daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Student Event Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 2, 2015
Pros: free lunches
• Assisted with all aspects of event planning and facilitation including pre- and post-needs;
• Liaison with student groups on campus to identify opportunities for collaboration, and events;
• Researched materials/supplies for events and other programming within a budget;
• Provided on-site support at events and on event days.
• Chair or co-chair planning committees for larger scale events;
• Meet weekly with Campus Life staff and Student Advisors as needed
• Performed related administrative tasks;
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive/ employee oriented company
TECHNICIAN ASSISTANT (Animal research) (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 1, 2015
nice opportunity to grow in a different job field, learning process was constant; management was caring about employees. i am very proud of saying that i worked for 7 years in one of the best Universities of the United States.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice school
Student (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 1, 2015
Columbia is a very nice school where you get to learn from serious still kind professors and work with talented fellow classmates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to study
Gomoku Game Agent & Sokoban Puzzle AI Design (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 27, 2015
The best school in New York, Computer science courses are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Portfolio Management for S&P 500 (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 27, 2015
great school, great culture, nice campus, learn a lot, great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in a public school setting
Teacher, Grade (Former Employee), 133th St & Amsterdam AveJanuary 26, 2015
Pros: part time, summer job
Cons: program was discontinued
Great company to work for. I enjoyed working in with positive staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, isolating work environment
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: isolated work environment
Worked in a cave for over a year with very little human contact, other than with a very demanding and sometimes demeaning supervisor. Benefits are excellent though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place for learning
Associate Research Scientist (Current Employee), CUMCJanuary 22, 2015
Columbia university medical center is great place to work and to learn. There are lots of educative talks and seminar series that one can attend and know about the recent endeavors of science. Had a chance to work with great co-workers. Had an amazing PI as my mentor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive, good teamwork, professional, good benefits, and they encourage you to take courses that may lead you to job advancement.
Grounds (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: support education and support staff.
I have been able to put in practice my past work experience since my job is related to previous employment. It is busy but this helps for the day to go fast. I made friends.My co-workers work together we are a good team.Management encourages employees to take classes to get certify and take test to have more advancement opportunities. The benefits are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Rewarding
Book Editor (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 17, 2015
Gained superior editing and proofreading skills. Learned how to organize and schedule my work more efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just A summary
Senior Altiris Administrator (SME) (Current Employee), New York, New YorkJanuary 13, 2015
Pros: excellent life and work balance, paid tuition and flexiable schedules
Implementation and support of the Altiris/Symantec Client Management Suite Environment for Columbia University IT.Desktop and Classroom engineering, Develop Engineering processes for Desktop administration that included, software deployments, Imaging, inventory, Hardware refresh.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
motivating
Assistant Research Scientist (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 12, 2015
motivating, inspiring, academic environment, reputation

1 2 3 4 5

About Columbia University

Founded in 1922, Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health pursues an agenda of research, education, and service to – Read more

Columbia University Photos

Columbia University Salaries

Research Scientist
$55,000 per year
Porter
$16.50 per hour
Administrative Assistant
$48,000 per year
Research Assistant
$41,000 per year
Associate Director
$75,000 per year