Find companies:
Columbia University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
153 reviews

Columbia University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and busy during admissions season
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 1, 2014
Pros: free lunch and tuition reimbursement
Cons: lack for professional growth, hiring usually done from within
A typical day at work would be to scan, file and enter credentials of confidential matter into various computer application systems. Processed thousands of graduate applications and processed decisions generating decision letters. Answering emails and phone calls from students, staff members and departments. Required to sit as a receptionist various – more... times during any month where I answered questions and directed guests to other departments, schools or staff members.
The best part of this job was the large diversified group of people I worked with continuously. The hardest part of the job was the long hours during admission season. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work. Low pay. Few opportunities to promote. Poor mentorship
Associate Research Scientist (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 30, 2014
Pros – Columbia has good benefits and gives the opportunity to interact with bright people.

Cons – The mentorship is poor or inexistent with lack of motivation. Very low pay, even below NIH recommended pay rate. Lack of opportunities to promote and to develop as an independent researcher.

Advice to Senior Management – If you work in science look up – more... your PI before you join a lab. Look for productivity and originality. Some PI's are stuck and it is hard to understand how are they still there or who review their performance – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
allowed to work at my own pace
Office Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 25, 2014
While working at the admissions office at Columbia I helped a number of offices with many clerical duties such as filing, organizing, and data entry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a friendly atmosphere, and very student oriented
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 17, 2014
Pros: very rewarding of the feeling with helping students
Cons: very busy environment
Prepared financial documents for Accounts Payable (cash advances, petty cash, deposits and stop check requests)
Recruited, interviewed, supervised, scheduled hours, tasks and processed payroll per diem employees
Reconciled all purchases made on the department purchase card and verified all transactions were valid
Sent out Letter of Offer/or scholarship – more... information. Organized travel arrangements for visiting scholars
Prepared new student orientation materials and scheduled meetings between students and advisors
Maintained prospective, incoming, active student databases, and master of class schedule
Assisted in coordinating department events (i.e. graduation parties and conferences for faculty and students)
Updated the Unify online system and department bulletin with changes of curriculum, courses and programs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice environment
Outreach Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 11, 2014
Productive and nice environment to work for. Coworkers are friendly and management is fair enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Egg Donor Program Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 11, 2014
Pros: 8 + weeks vacation, benefits
Cons: limited budget
I manage a team of people that help connect anonymous egg donors with potential recipients/intended parents. My role is to manage cases for both parties and make appropriate matches. I also do supportive counseling for individuals, couples, and groups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for.
Public Safety Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 7, 2014
Pros: kind faculty
Cons: big company people don't know you by name.
excellent company to work for, great supervisors and the kids are wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment
Revenue Cycle Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Lee, NJJune 4, 2014
I did not work at Columbia long because it was a temp position. I was transferred by the temp agency to a closer job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Learning environment you can never get tired of.
Media Services Tech (Former Employee), NY, NYMay 25, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Great talking to the teachers and students. updating computers, set up and break down computers. Learned how to socialize and have fun at work. It was a great feeling walking into work everyday, i didm mind long shifts because i loved the environment as a whole. Study for IT field and if hiring i suggest apply. If you get hired, Congratz!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
advanced research facilities
Senior Staff Associate (Current Employee), Department of OphthalmologyMay 15, 2014
Pioneer in many biomedical research fields. Well-organized research facilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with some great people
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: weak management
The patients I cared for was by far the most amazing part of my experience at Columbia.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great graduate school
Ph.D. Dissertation with Wayne Hendrickson (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 24, 2014
I had an amazing experience at CU. Every Professor's door was open, I interacted with some of the best and brightest in the country. We had 2 nobel prize winners in the dept. And my boss is thought to be on "the maybe in the future list". I got to learn, discover and create my own research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 23, 2014
My peers and colleagues were highly qualified and intelligent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Department, Bright people
Post-doctoral Research Scientist (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 21, 2014
Very busy days at work
Nice and talented people to work with
extremely challenging
Learning new things everyday
Expected to see a more vibrant environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 18, 2014
I enjoy my time working at Columbia University. My co workers are very friendly and welcoming. They're the most enjoyable part of my job! I learned an enormous amount about literature research, data entry, and grant proposals. I also learned new software programs. My workload varies weekly, but is never too overwhelming. Overall, I've had an amazing – more... experience working at Columbia University. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working place
Research Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 9, 2014
Group meeting
Experiments
Analysis
Discussion
Modified experiments
...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good deptq
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 7, 2014
Worked with a lot men. great work. The job required to be on call 24/7 Dealing with the fire systems not only for a university but also its off-campus locations including dorms/
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Ability to learn a lot
Associate Director, Student Services Center (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: could overwork if you don't plan properly
Very busy days dealing with student services. You have the ability to learn a lot. Need the ability to work independently with great coworkers. The hardest part of the job is when to stop working to take time for yourself. The most enjoyable part of the job is to see students smiling when they get their problems resolved
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work in.
Administrative Financial Assistant (Current Employee), ManhattanMarch 20, 2014
Columbia is very good place to work in.
travels
invoices
phone calls
facilities
students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being assistant to the dean allowed me to grow professionnally. I simply loved that job!
Executive Assistant to the Dean (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 13, 2014
• Key member of the Dean’s Office staff responsible for the central coordination of all functions and activities of the office and the overall executive support to the Dean
• Organized the Dean's administrative and scholarly endeavors
• Ensured the cultivation of relationships with University constituents
• Managed access to the Dean
• Communicated – more... the goals and priorities set by the Dean to the Dean’s Office staff
• Liaised with the Office of the President, the Provost, and the Secretary, Deans and Academic Program Directors, Board of Visitors, senior academic officers and staff of the University, and student group leaders
• Facilitated the working collaboration with Vice Deans, Associate Deans, and Department Heads
• Assisted the Dean with confidential department chair searches and tenure reviews
• Coordinated all development-related matters with the Office of Development and Alumni Relations
• Planned, implemented and managed high-profile events, including annual conferences with engineering ivy league deans and international deans, biannual retreats for senior staff and department chairs, executive committee meetings, annual faculty meeting, and presentations
• Drafted sensitive or high-level correspondence and facilitated resolution of matters requiring the Dean's attention – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Columbia University

Founded in 1922 as one of the first three public health academies in the nation, Columbia University's Mailman School of Public – Read more

Columbia University Photos