Find companies:
Columbia University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
171 reviews

Columbia University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactively taking assignments and identifies issues to determines the most appropriate action to achieve the optimal result.
Manager, Pension Financial Reporting (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 15, 2014
By taking assignments and responsibilities proactively I always eagerly and willingly build and develop strategic relationship with my colleagues, peers and senior level management to achieve the department’s & overall University’s goals. I consistently exercised well-balanced thought process and proper research to identifying the core issues and their – more... solution in my decision-making process. This resulted in a smooth external audit and Form 5500 filing for all the plans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for doing research
Research assistant as Ph.D. student (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 12, 2014
As a Ph.D. student, I would like to say Columbia University is a nice university. More to add...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and harding working environment
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 8, 2014
Pros: close to home, great hours
Cons: out dated building, however they were in the process of updating while i was there.
I was hired as a temporary assistant to cover the Operations administrative assistant who was out of the country for a month. The team was friendly and welcoming and needed a temporary assistant to handle the rhythm of their office while she was gone. The Chief Operating Officer appreciated my work so much he recommended me to the HR Director for his – more... division.

The most important thing I learned on that assignment is no matter how short or long the contract it is important to treat every assignment as if it were my own full-time position and/or business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great collaborative and creative work environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 6, 2014
I really appreciate the chance to be able to study and work at Columbia Chemistry department with outstanding professors and talented students. The highly interactive environment in our department brought up many new ideas to my research. Most of my PhD work is done here, including the very exciting perovskite solar cell projects. I especially thank – more... the post-doc of our group who worked with me to initiate this project. I also got help from two other postdocs of our group and one out of our group. I learned that in scientific research, team work and collaboration is very important, especially for very challenging projects. You will never know who will help you in your success. Talking with people, discussing what you get and asking for suggestions can accelerate your progress a lot.

The hardest part of the project is at the end. We needed to repeat some experiments but had no fresh samples. The previous sample preparation set-up was removed. Even my professor was thinking about giving up trying new samples and using the old one which was probably still 'alive'. But I insisted to try to make some new samples to make sure our data are reliable. I worked very hard with my co-workers for two weeks and finally prepared some new samples and got the results we need. This is actually the most enjoyable part of this project. You know what you need to support your idea and work hard with co-workers and finally you got it, as you expected! As for graduate study and research, I think the most attractive and enjoyable part is the problem-solving process. You ask why and think about how to know the 'why', design experiment procedure and do experiments to solve your questions. Of course, during this process you will encounter lots of accessions which is not as you expected. Through discussing with the professor and co-workers, you have to figure out your own way to solve these problems and finally get the answer. These struggling days and nights are actually the most treasurable moments in my graduate studies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent stimulating collaborative
Associate research scientist (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 5, 2014
Excellent
Stimulating environment
Collaborative
Resourceful
Cutting edge
Career advancing environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coursework Project
PROJECT EXPERIENCE (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 2, 2014
Coursework projects in Columbia University for Communication Circuit, Advance Communication circuit, and MOS Transistor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can do attitude
Managing ERP Infrastructure (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2014
I enjoy my work. My co-workers support my initiatives and ideas. I provide solutions. I manage projects efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT ATMOSPHERE AND dOCTORS
Senior Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits, union job
Cons: always has budget cuts
Great coworkers and great doctors in the Pediatric G.I. division
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: lunches
Cons: short break
Typical day at work
-Clocking in,Preparing the fafsa applications,Fixing bins and folders,Being attentive with the students that need a loan,preparing packages.
-Learned about applying loans and applications
-Management was always busy
-Coworkers were great
-Hardest part of the job was the bins
-Most enjoyable was helping the students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structured place to work
Clerk Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 28, 2014
Everything flowed there. Everyone had there duties. They came in and did them. Everyone moved well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 28, 2014
Great university to work for. The most enjoyable part of the job was the gorgeous campus!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place
Lab technician (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 5, 2014
I worked part-time here, and I worked in a small team. My colleagues, which are actually PhD candidates, are friendly. The working environment is good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place depending on building some are very outdated
Technician II (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 4, 2014
Pros: good place
Cons: to much drama
overall good depending on the facility you are in some buildings are vey old
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school
Faculty house management (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 4, 2014
Learned a lot from college graduates in the job field. temporary internship
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, flexible environment,generally nice co-workers
HR Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 30, 2014
Pros: environment, location
Cons: not centralized, lack of concrete classification system in comparison to public sector.
Depending upon the area/department, Columbia can provide a good work/life balance and has many employment options/flexibility for certain situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Assistant
Office Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 20, 2014
Pros: team work
A typical day at work was filed all patients records, scheduled meetings and luncheons, coordinate parties for the office, and answered all phone calls.

I learned how to multitask and prioritize.

Both my co-workers were a great team; we were like family and anything that we needed we cover each other. Overall it was a great team.

I enjoy this job – more... because of my physicians and my-co workers. It was an amazing experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coworkers friendly work place environment
Office Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 19, 2014
Pros: gaining work experience
Cons: seasonal position
start the work day at 9am till 5pm each day mail assortment opening mail and pick ups/ delivery mail for columbia university office of admissions. i learned how to alpha order with mail assortment and being on time for work is important in life. i never met the management at columbia university. there was nothing hard at my job because it was seasonal – more... position. free food and parties for the staff was my most enjoyable part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical postdoc experience
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 9, 2014
All in all good work experience. Offers typical soft-skill courses for post docs. Access to postdoc housing makes living in NYC affordable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and busy during admissions season
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 1, 2014
Pros: free lunch and tuition reimbursement
Cons: lack for professional growth, hiring usually done from within
A typical day at work would be to scan, file and enter credentials of confidential matter into various computer application systems. Processed thousands of graduate applications and processed decisions generating decision letters. Answering emails and phone calls from students, staff members and departments. Required to sit as a receptionist various – more... times during any month where I answered questions and directed guests to other departments, schools or staff members.
The best part of this job was the large diversified group of people I worked with continuously. The hardest part of the job was the long hours during admission season. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work. Low pay. Few opportunities to promote. Poor mentorship
Associate Research Scientist (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 30, 2014
Pros – Columbia has good benefits and gives the opportunity to interact with bright people.

Cons – The mentorship is poor or inexistent with lack of motivation. Very low pay, even below NIH recommended pay rate. Lack of opportunities to promote and to develop as an independent researcher.

Advice to Senior Management – If you work in science look up – more... your PI before you join a lab. Look for productivity and originality. Some PI's are stuck and it is hard to understand how are they still there or who review their performance – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Columbia University

Founded in 1922, Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health pursues an agenda of research, education, and service to – Read more

Columbia University Photos