Find companies:
Columbia University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
160 reviews

Columbia University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 18, 2014
I enjoy my time working at Columbia University. My co workers are very friendly and welcoming. They're the most enjoyable part of my job! I learned an enormous amount about literature research, data entry, and grant proposals. I also learned new software programs. My workload varies weekly, but is never too overwhelming. Overall, I've had an amazing – more... experience working at Columbia University. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working place
Research Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 9, 2014
Group meeting
Experiments
Analysis
Discussion
Modified experiments
...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good deptq
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 7, 2014
Worked with a lot men. great work. The job required to be on call 24/7 Dealing with the fire systems not only for a university but also its off-campus locations including dorms/
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Ability to learn a lot
Associate Director, Student Services Center (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: could overwork if you don't plan properly
Very busy days dealing with student services. You have the ability to learn a lot. Need the ability to work independently with great coworkers. The hardest part of the job is when to stop working to take time for yourself. The most enjoyable part of the job is to see students smiling when they get their problems resolved
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work in.
Administrative Financial Assistant (Current Employee), ManhattanMarch 20, 2014
Columbia is very good place to work in.
travels
invoices
phone calls
facilities
students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being assistant to the dean allowed me to grow professionnally. I simply loved that job!
Executive Assistant to the Dean (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 13, 2014
• Key member of the Dean’s Office staff responsible for the central coordination of all functions and activities of the office and the overall executive support to the Dean
• Organized the Dean's administrative and scholarly endeavors
• Ensured the cultivation of relationships with University constituents
• Managed access to the Dean
• Communicated – more... the goals and priorities set by the Dean to the Dean’s Office staff
• Liaised with the Office of the President, the Provost, and the Secretary, Deans and Academic Program Directors, Board of Visitors, senior academic officers and staff of the University, and student group leaders
• Facilitated the working collaboration with Vice Deans, Associate Deans, and Department Heads
• Assisted the Dean with confidential department chair searches and tenure reviews
• Coordinated all development-related matters with the Office of Development and Alumni Relations
• Planned, implemented and managed high-profile events, including annual conferences with engineering ivy league deans and international deans, biannual retreats for senior staff and department chairs, executive committee meetings, annual faculty meeting, and presentations
• Drafted sensitive or high-level correspondence and facilitated resolution of matters requiring the Dean's attention – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and teamwork
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 11, 2014
Professor I worked with is highly responsible. This inspires me to be more responsible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and productive environment
Matching Gifts Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 3, 2014
Good place to work and learn. Also, great place to network and make valuable connections with people of diverse backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Program Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 3, 2014
Pros: opportunity to move into different areas.
Cons: too much red tape.
Wonderful place to work, flexible schedules, nice benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Deputy Director of Communications, UDAR (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: lots of intellectual stimulation
Cons: so many schools sometimes meant duplication of effort
Enjoyed working with communications professionals and educators at some 16 different schools in the university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place and pay
Cafeteria Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 18, 2014
Got payed good, good vacation and sick days. Full benefits and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Technician (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: excellent physicians & student body
Employee benefits are great.
Diverse and offers many opportunities for medical professionals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 14, 2014
Collaborated with PhD students from Sociology Department and Speech Lab in Columbia University, it's a great experience. I communicate with sociology students to know about the requirement, under the help from Comp Sci Phd, I developed two systems for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment good job to be involved with
Facility Floater (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 10, 2014
It was a good working environment , a good job to be involved with and great experience . As a Facility Floater it kept me busy with plenty of overtime and miscellaneous jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academia
Client Solutions Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: casual culture
Cons: low market compensation
The academia world is one I've enjoyed the most in my career. However, with that benefit comes the downside of staying current on technologies and competitive compensation. The most challenging part of my job is clarity of my job duties, fluidity among various departments and consistency from management. The perks of working here are flexible work schedules – more... and a dress down attire culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Research Scientist (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: free continuing education
This is high level university in the USA.
I was able to solve, refine and deposit 260 protein structures
for 11 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: campus work life is exciting
Working on campus is a joy. The atmosphere is great. Columbia University is ever growing and changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All over the place
Housing office Communications Officer Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: manager and some of the employees rude behaviors
I did not have a very good time working there, and because I was only a temp, the manager was just waiting to end my time there as soon as the opportinity arised.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding, challenging, most rewarding job
Director, Benefits Service Center (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 28, 2014
Demanding customer culture (Professors, Dcotors, Unions); learned the most, most challenged, most career rewarding job I ever held.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all great co-workers and friendly customers.
Retail Service/Porter (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 26, 2014
Making coffee drinks, stocking beverages, and maintenance of cafe. I have learned food handling, sanitation methods. liked my co-workers we were a good team.

About Columbia University

Founded in 1922 as one of the first three public health academies in the nation, Columbia University's Mailman School of Public – Read more

Columbia University Photos