Find companies:
Columbia University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
165 reviews

Columbia University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
advanced research facilities
Senior Staff Associate (Current Employee), Department of OphthalmologyMay 15, 2014
Pioneer in many biomedical research fields. Well-organized research facilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with some great people
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: weak management
The patients I cared for was by far the most amazing part of my experience at Columbia.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great graduate school
Ph.D. Dissertation with Wayne Hendrickson (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 24, 2014
I had an amazing experience at CU. Every Professor's door was open, I interacted with some of the best and brightest in the country. We had 2 nobel prize winners in the dept. And my boss is thought to be on "the maybe in the future list". I got to learn, discover and create my own research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 23, 2014
My peers and colleagues were highly qualified and intelligent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Department, Bright people
Post-doctoral Research Scientist (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 21, 2014
Very busy days at work
Nice and talented people to work with
extremely challenging
Learning new things everyday
Expected to see a more vibrant environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 18, 2014
I enjoy my time working at Columbia University. My co workers are very friendly and welcoming. They're the most enjoyable part of my job! I learned an enormous amount about literature research, data entry, and grant proposals. I also learned new software programs. My workload varies weekly, but is never too overwhelming. Overall, I've had an amazing – more... experience working at Columbia University. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working place
Research Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 9, 2014
Group meeting
Experiments
Analysis
Discussion
Modified experiments
...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good deptq
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 7, 2014
Worked with a lot men. great work. The job required to be on call 24/7 Dealing with the fire systems not only for a university but also its off-campus locations including dorms/
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Ability to learn a lot
Associate Director, Student Services Center (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: could overwork if you don't plan properly
Very busy days dealing with student services. You have the ability to learn a lot. Need the ability to work independently with great coworkers. The hardest part of the job is when to stop working to take time for yourself. The most enjoyable part of the job is to see students smiling when they get their problems resolved
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work in.
Administrative Financial Assistant (Current Employee), ManhattanMarch 20, 2014
Columbia is very good place to work in.
travels
invoices
phone calls
facilities
students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being assistant to the dean allowed me to grow professionnally. I simply loved that job!
Executive Assistant to the Dean (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 13, 2014
• Key member of the Dean’s Office staff responsible for the central coordination of all functions and activities of the office and the overall executive support to the Dean
• Organized the Dean's administrative and scholarly endeavors
• Ensured the cultivation of relationships with University constituents
• Managed access to the Dean
• Communicated – more... the goals and priorities set by the Dean to the Dean’s Office staff
• Liaised with the Office of the President, the Provost, and the Secretary, Deans and Academic Program Directors, Board of Visitors, senior academic officers and staff of the University, and student group leaders
• Facilitated the working collaboration with Vice Deans, Associate Deans, and Department Heads
• Assisted the Dean with confidential department chair searches and tenure reviews
• Coordinated all development-related matters with the Office of Development and Alumni Relations
• Planned, implemented and managed high-profile events, including annual conferences with engineering ivy league deans and international deans, biannual retreats for senior staff and department chairs, executive committee meetings, annual faculty meeting, and presentations
• Drafted sensitive or high-level correspondence and facilitated resolution of matters requiring the Dean's attention – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and teamwork
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 11, 2014
Professor I worked with is highly responsible. This inspires me to be more responsible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and productive environment
Matching Gifts Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 3, 2014
Good place to work and learn. Also, great place to network and make valuable connections with people of diverse backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Program Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 3, 2014
Pros: opportunity to move into different areas.
Cons: too much red tape.
Wonderful place to work, flexible schedules, nice benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Deputy Director of Communications, UDAR (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: lots of intellectual stimulation
Cons: so many schools sometimes meant duplication of effort
Enjoyed working with communications professionals and educators at some 16 different schools in the university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place and pay
Cafeteria Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 18, 2014
Got payed good, good vacation and sick days. Full benefits and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Technician (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: excellent physicians & student body
Employee benefits are great.
Diverse and offers many opportunities for medical professionals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 14, 2014
Collaborated with PhD students from Sociology Department and Speech Lab in Columbia University, it's a great experience. I communicate with sociology students to know about the requirement, under the help from Comp Sci Phd, I developed two systems for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment good job to be involved with
Facility Floater (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 10, 2014
It was a good working environment , a good job to be involved with and great experience . As a Facility Floater it kept me busy with plenty of overtime and miscellaneous jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academia
Client Solutions Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: casual culture
Cons: low market compensation
The academia world is one I've enjoyed the most in my career. However, with that benefit comes the downside of staying current on technologies and competitive compensation. The most challenging part of my job is clarity of my job duties, fluidity among various departments and consistency from management. The perks of working here are flexible work schedules – more... and a dress down attire culture. – less

About Columbia University

Founded in 1922, Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health pursues an agenda of research, education, and service to – Read more

Columbia University Photos