Columbus Center for Human Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get consolation from the fact hat you are helping the incapacitated..
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 2, 2012
Monetary compensation is nothing to write home about. Co-workers are from divers cultures and you learn a lot from them
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
not a lot of money paid. no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff training every month
Direct care professional/ Team lead (Former Employee) –  Westerville, OhioMarch 4, 2015
Cleaning, cooking, passing meds
Experience working with seniors.
Great medical benefit and training. Lifting and transferring people. Made good friends.
Pros
Great medical benefits.
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CCHS Review
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 4, 2014
My typical work day includes engaging with the individuals we serve and their families as well as other stakeholders. I learned so much working in the field with the developmentally disabled population. Everything from advocating for others to learning intimate details of the field. Our management team is very well structured. They allow us to grow and work on our own. My coworkers and myself are a true team. We have each others backs and help each other out when needed. The hardest part about working in the field can sometimes be not being able to complete tasks without another department and waiting on them. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I am making a difference in others' lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching others
Health Care Provider (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 20, 2015
a typical day at work was preparing meals cleaning and helping induviduals with everyday living tasks like teaching them how to prepare a meal and self hygiene
Pros
lots of overtimw
Cons
not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frankly they no longer compensate enough to justify the job expectations
Direct Service Provider (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 11, 2015
The job is by no means the most difficult in the world. However it does require a level of patience, and ability to deal with weird/awkward/dirty situations and people that is not required of many jobs of equivalent pay.
Cons
Pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Records Clerk (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 17, 2014
On a typical work day I answer the phones at the reception desk, file paper work, input applications into our computer system, and do employment reference checks. The hardest part of my job is time-management because my duties rely on other departments giving me their paper work in a timely manor. I enjoy my coworkers and the opportunities this position has created for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , Relationship making work enviorment
Direct Service Provider (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 30, 2012
Provide training to individuals with developmental disabilities
Bathe, groom, and dress individuals
Supervise individuals during Activities of Daily Living
Program Training for individuals
Prepare meals
Charting
Transfers
Catheters
Feeding Tubes
Creating extremely close relationships with the individuals in your work space making it feel as much like home as possible.
Pros
it feels like your at home, doing laundry, cooking, cleaning (ect). with eight guests all the time!
Cons
not your usual 8am-5pm job. hours are unusual.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 24, 2015
A typical day at work was to provide meals, activities of daily living (hygiene, laundry, life skills, etc. ) and teach skills based on individualized learning plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting work experience
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 13, 2012
I learned how to use a two person hoyer lift, Cpr, the most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the individuals.
Pros
my co-workers, my residents, the environment, etc
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
nmt driver (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 24, 2014
CCHS is a good place to work with great intentions, its just kind of a dead end job with not so great pay.
Pros
Working wth individuals with disabilities
Cons
not so great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but challenging population
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 7, 2013
enjoyed working with adult MRDD population but challenging environment
Pros
hours conveint
Cons
distance from home
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OKay place to work
Scheduling Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 22, 2014
Just need to be able to professionaly take care of people with disabilities
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Columbus Center for Human Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

Columbus Center for Human Services Reviews by Location