Find companies:
Columbus City Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

Columbus City Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioJune 20, 2014
I transport kids to and from school, you have really good managers and co workers, they treat u like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See previous review
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 8, 2014
see previous review from the 2013-2014 school year. Worked for one year as a long term sub for 7th grade science. I enjoyed teaching and the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for retirees
School bus driver (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMay 2, 2014
Pros: highest paid district in columbus
Cons: bad orginization
Poor organizational skills, no communication, no team players
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast paced environment
Secretary 2 (Current Employee), Columbus, OHApril 4, 2014
My typical work day may consist of: Various administrative functions, handling the discipline and attendance data, medication distribution, IT issues, billing, ordering supplies, parent and teacher's conference, provide complete and accurate data for reports and may require some traveling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and challenging
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 31, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: not knowing what to except daily
Almost everyday I worked at a different school within the city. This created a challenging, because every grade level and school are ran differently. I learned how to become more patient and understanding. Each child learned and responded differently, which created a acceptable challenge to find new was to get a point across. And because fellow co-workers – more... knew this could be a challenge, they were willing and able to assist in anyway possible. One of the hardest part was trying to gain attend consistently and not causing the children to become bored. However, I enjoyed meeting new people and being able to make an mark on their lives in a good way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lot of programs, fun in the summer
CUSTODIAN II (Current Employee), columbus,ohioMarch 30, 2014
it use to be a great place to work ,but with all the changes it not the same
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Openly discriminates against older workers
Teacher Observer (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioMarch 23, 2014
Columbus City Schools openly discriminates against male teachers and older teaching employees. This is not a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Career
Educator Positions (Former Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: finiancially rewarding
Cons: not much room for promotions
Instructor in Engineering Education

Work with High School Students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it's a nice place to work
Custodian (Current Employee), Columbus Downtown High SchoolFebruary 20, 2014
Cleaning classrooms, restrooms and offices. You have to be self-motivated because for the most part you're working alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work environment
Highly Qualified Educational Assistant (Current Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: working with children
Cons: n/a
Columbus City Schools is committed to ensure the best possible learning environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very engaging work environment.
Intervention/Instructional Assistant (Current Employee), Columbus, OHFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: excellent place to work.
Cons: difficult to excell within certain positions.
Good place to work. Working with children in Special Education is a great feeling. It's an experience of a life time. I love it, and would continue to work there even if I had a job in my area of profession.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very productive atmospher with plenty of room for advancement and growth
Cheerleader Advisor (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: working with a great group of kids
Cons: getting to work with a great group of individuals then watching them move on
Through this position I have learned how to work with a deverse group of individuals I have also leaned a greater appreciation for the difficulties of being a young adult facing decisions such as College, Peer pressures and discovering self
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect company to grow with
Secretary/Receptionist (Current Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 18, 2013
Pros: great benefits, great work hours, great employee relationships
A typical day at work comes with its challenges and its blessings. While handling the needs of students, staff, and parents can sometimes be challenging, knowing that you are a part of helping the next generation to learn and succeed makes it worth it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I teach the children what the teachers leave in the lesson plans for the day.
Teacher (Current Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 9, 2013
Pros: i love teaching.
I teach the children what the teachers leave in the lesson plans for the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpdesk analyst day
Technical Support Analyst (Former Employee), Columbus OhioNovember 11, 2013
Manangement was good
Typical day was to take calls help if you can, route out what you can't fix
Co workers were easy to get along with
The most enjoyable part was being able to solve the users issue
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lunch time
Food Service Helper (Former Employee), Columbus, OHNovember 11, 2013
Work the kids serve lunches to all the students.
Clean after all the children, then your day was done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational environment during monthly meetings.
Parent Consultant (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 14, 2013
Pros: free lunch, and being able to make up my own schedule.
Cons: not enough team players, and professionalism.
The job was not hard at all, and I could make up my own hours. A typical day for me at work was to make phone calls to parents for upcoming events, and handling the concerns of the parents. I also did filing work, mail sorting, and copying. I helped teachers with their everyday tasks with their students. Management was non professional, but the staff – more... were enjoyable to work with. The hardest part of the job was being around non professional, and immature people at times. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping the students, and the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere all around, flexible classroom curriculum for special educationn
Substitute Teacher/Special Needs Assistant Teacher (Former Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: very friendly staff, monthly lunches, great rapport with other teachers
Cons: unrealistic expectations from some teachers that i was a glorified babysitter, who was at their beck and call, when mainstreamed students had difficulties in the regular classroom
Took daiiy attendance in the classroom, attended any tardy to receive breakfast from cafeteria, due to law stating every student is entitled to free breakfast. Assisted Head teacher with scheduled learning activities, lead reading groups, tutored students in math, writing, and social studies, and test preparation, including PSAT, ACT, and SAT Testing. – more... Attended classes with some students mainstreamed in regular classes Helped teacher with IEP Reports, and attended the meetings. Calculated and input interim and 9-week grades for report cards. Attended faculty meetings, and Parent/Teacher Conferences after school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, low stress place to work. Satisfying to help kids.
Computer Operator I (Former Employee), 1091 King ave Columbus ohio 43212August 15, 2013
Pros: great benefits and the freedom to choose lunch and break times.
Cons: false alarms were frequent and time consuming.
Print reports, daily backups, associate requests, ran some production. Also did student updates with addresses and student id's. Warehouse responsibilites. On call for building, fire and security alarms response. I learned to be patient with adversity. Didn't like the REALLY slow days but there were not many. I enjoyed my co-workers the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Employee (Current Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 4, 2013
Okay place to work, better for an employee if you play their games.