Find companies:
Columbus Consolidated Government
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Columbus Consolidated Government Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY GOOD SITE
Crew Leader (Former Employee), Columbus, GAMay 20, 2014
VERY GOOD JOB JUST TIME TO MOVE ON THE MORE OPPORTUNITY MAINTAIN & REPAIRED THE CITY SEWER SYSTEM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bullies, lack of leadership and politics
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Columbus, GAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: real life mindset- the true boss was understanding, supportive and kind
Cons: awful co worker, bullying, lack of leadership, power hungry unorganized, mean, unprofessional, self appointed "boss" worker made it a hostile environment
I experienced bullying in the work place and nothing was done about it. I took continuous detailed record but it seemed to get the person a slap on the wrist and they were able to continue with harassing. There was a lack of professionalism too. The correct leaders were not allowed to lead. Felt like people were too afraid to step on certain toes to – more... do the right thing.
Worst job experience in my life. Learned how NOT to run a dept by observing what was happening. And learned what a leader shouldn't do. Thinking back on it raises my anxiety level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of my time
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), MCPDecember 21, 2013
Pros: a few great coworkers, not many
Cons: everything else
A few great co-workers..thats the only reason I stayed 3 months....Prior to starting work here, I had almost 2 years experience as a Correctional Officer in NC, already graduated from an academy, this place was making me go to another JUST to be allowed to have handcuffs on my person.

Told me I was going to have to be pepper sprayed at the academy – more... but there is no pepper spray usage at the prison.. strange.

Management was horrible from top to bottom. The warden was clueless. I asked my immediate supervisor at least 4 times for extra uniforms (WAS ONLY ASSIGNED ONE). Was told it was my place to get my own uniforms.

Inmates were allowed to smoke and every dorm had DIRECTV with an HD tv. Unbelievable.

I was placed on the night shift and the only fights I had to observe or problems was between officers.

I said Goodbye. Walked out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good while it lasted
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), Columbus, GADecember 16, 2013
At the time was not a bad place to work. Management was ajoke . There was a lot of favoritism and supervisors did not take care of there subordinates. Had some very great co-worker who watched out for each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with great people.
Laborer (Current Employee), columbus gaSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: no o/t
A typical day consist of hard work, great people, and dealing with weather
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, knowledge, some fun
Sales Associate/Junior Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Columbus, GASeptember 4, 2013
process business license, answer telephone, maintain file have knowledge of local and state laws. Working at governmet center can be fun, love working with my co-workers. The hrst partf my job is when business wait until the last minute to get there busiess license and the all come in at one time. The ejoyable partabout my job is thatI'm blessed t hve – more... one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Establishment
Public Works (Current Employee), Columbus, GAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: benefits pacakage, my boss
Cons: low starting pay
Overall decent place to start out working if you are looking for a place with great benefits then this will be the place. Very low starting pay for this area and with the extreme workload placed it sometimes can be unbearable. The management at the city level is a bit abrasive otherwise. Outside of that level at local management in each department varies. – more... You have a work load that can be overwhelming. No room for advancement at all. Some employees were good to work around, however there are some indiduals out for themselves and are not a team player. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits/should have stayed
Successfully lead (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJune 29, 2013
Pros: all good
Cons: there are a lot of people to compete with.
Great company to work for and good life balance.Work days where good and the co-workers where good too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Climate due to change in the part of the country I was used to living in.
Stormwater Data Technician--Lead (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJune 18, 2013
Pros: finding problems, solving issues pertaining to the infrastructure of the complete city of columbus ga.
Cons: having to relinquish this position due to family problems in indiana.
Very interesting position, new for my experience and challenging. I was very happy with the learning curve and my ability to adapt to the new environment. My duties consisted of monitoring the storm infrastructure and documenting it for the engineers of the city. I was able to bring my expertise to play due to the lack of experience of my co-workers. – more... Hardest part of this position was organization of areas being studied by city engineers. The most gradifying aspect of this position was finding problems in the infrastructure and pointing them out to the proper persons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with children & parents and keep updated money records
Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus,GAJune 14, 2013
I have shorts meeting every day with my staff,creating weekly and
monthly activity plan and always review how to improve children
safety. Every Monday collect,count and keep record of payments
and delivery to main office. I enjoyed to creat art and handcraft for
children to keep them busy and teach them science.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, critical thinking, fast paced and rewarding work environment
Police Officer (Former Employee), Columbus, GAMay 20, 2013
Pros: length of the shift, compensatory time, having my own patrol vehicle
Cons: slow days in terms of the dispatched emergency call volume, having to go to multiple court hearings on my duty days
As a Police Officer on patrol duty every day was different in terms of the people that I would encounter, my work environment, or a special detail that would take me from my routine duties. Some aspects of the job was routine because of policies and procedures in terms of how things would have to be done. There was always an element of danger and a – more... level of officer safety that made my career exciting. Critical and fast thinking was a must and time was always of the essence in order to complete lengthy incident reports. Making judgment calls on what was ethically, morally right and following laws/policies/procedures. The most difficult part of the job for me was servicing domestic violence situations and incidents that involved juveniles in very sensitive situations. The most enjoyable parts of my career was the bond between my fellow officers, actually making a difference in a victim's life by my help, being able to be an influence/role model to juveniles, and being able to grow in terms of being promoted within an agency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love kids,
Recreation Center Leader, (Part-Time) (Former Employee), Columbus, GAApril 4, 2013
Pros: kids, senior citizens
Cons: not great benefits for part-time employees
Great place to work for a college student. A typical day is going to work at 11:00 am playing bingo with the senior and going to lunch and waiting on the kids to get out at 2:30pm. I love and enjoyed my co-workers. I would love to go back with better benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer friendly atmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Columbus, GASeptember 21, 2012
A typical day at work consists in talking with citizens on the phone in reference to household garbage being missed or overgrown yards.,

I have learned that you have to be patient and listen to what the citizen is saying in order to ensure them that the problem will be resolved.

My coworkers did not take in consideration of others when logging off – more... the phone.

The hardest part of the job was trying to make sure all call backs was done before the close of business.

The most enjoyable part of the job was hearing the citizen on the other end of the phone very thankful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Police, Fire, Ambulance Dispatcher (Former Employee), Columbus, GAAugust 16, 2012
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: cold environment all year long
The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing you are there to lend a helping hand to someone who is in need of police, medical, or fire attention.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to start your career with, good benefits low starting salary.
Administrative Specialist II (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJune 26, 2012
Pros: working with the public
Cons: to many bosses and not enough employees.
Was an ok place to work.
Working with the public was good u can learn alot about a city by the people who run it.
Management could use revamping to many chiefs and not enough employees working together.
Some employees were good to work with but on the other hand some were out for themself and not team players.
Low starting salary when I was employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever to work
PC Tech (Former Employee), Columbus, GaJanuary 28, 2012
Pros: good working hours
Cons: corruption all about
This city is controlled by the "Good ol' Boy" system and if you aren't part of it they WILL find a way to get rid of you by any means nessesary, legal or illegal. Most departments controlled by Office Bullies.