Find companies:
Columbus Consolidated Government
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

Columbus Consolidated Government Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee), columbus gaDecember 4, 2014
Secreterial work has been many years since I worked there. unable to remember many things, but the manager was great to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Mail Clerk (Current Employee), columbus, gaNovember 12, 2014
needs to be full time, it can get really crazy, but for the most part it can be an enjoyable job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good job overall but it got to be too physical for me.
Survey Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, GAOctober 27, 2014
Pros: being off on fridays .i worked four ten hour days
Cons: having some citizens talk down to you
A typical day at work consisted of signing in at the office getting your Job orders and working on them until it was time to go home.The day usually consisted of surveying the City's Storm Water lines and mapping the pipes sizes,the pipe's material and get a azimuth for the directions. The day's also consisted of surveying Columbus' Intersection's. – more... surveying Boundaries and Topos. The Management was decent. They overall were good people. I liked my co-workers and i still am friends with a few of them. The hardest part of my job was the physical part.Lifting of manhole lids. The most enjoyable part of my job were the friends i made and all the citizens i got to interact with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small town city gov for small town people
GIS Intern (Current Employee), Columbus, GAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: flexable work hours and some in-city benefits
Cons: low pay; low job security
Columbus Consolidated Government is a good place to find entry level work and some training in the ability to progress in your career path. You learn useful skills in terms of managing projects and preforming various field work tasks for the city. However, do not expect to find a sustainable living within the confines of working with the City of Columbus. – more... Raises are on a political basis, and not knowing the right people may mean you either see an increase in pay or a decrease in job security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive on the go job with different areas to gain expirience.
Aquatics Laborer (Former Employee), Columbus, GASeptember 25, 2014
Answer customers calls.
Apply data into computer or on a chart.
Drive cement truck.
Chlorinate pools.
Check Pressure and temp of water.
Any Maintenance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Columbus Consolidated Government
Administrative Clerk I (Current Employee), Columbus, GASeptember 24, 2014
I learned how to keep records and do more data entry work. I learned to how do accounting and pay sales taxes for the city. I most enjoy just being able to brainstorm and keep up with financial records.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented feel to the working environment
Waste Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Columbus, GASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: incentives, benefits, and experience
Cons: short brakes, physicality
The Columbus Water Works is a great place to work for any individual (man or woman) in which choose a profession in the waste water industry. A typical day at this organization consist of orders either drawn up from coordinators or managers, involving the renewal of sewer/water lines. The work is typically of high dexterity and physical. As an employee – more... of the Columbus Water Works, I learned every phase of the Field Services Division which include: Television of Sewer lines, replacement of sewer/water mains, administrative work which involves analysis skills, oral & written communication skills. Management with the Columbus Water Works make sure all employees in the Field Services Division are cross trained to take on any task. However, the room for growth with some managers are limited because of educational purposes, therefore, others feel as if some in management knowledge of today's new technology limits their subordinates in doing his or her job. The morale among co-workers are great. After working with many of the other employees for close to five years, it felt like being around family 5 to 6 days a week, and many are still close friends that I would trust with my life. The hardest part of the job would become the physicality of some of the positions in which the work need to be performed, however, after gaining experience you soon find out if properly supervised it is not that hard at all. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing the individuals that you are working with care just as much as you do about the safety and wellness of their fellow co-worker as much as you do! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE, FAMILY FRIENDLY
Electrician (Former Employee), CUSSETA RDJune 16, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation, awards for over the top work.
Cons: working with inmates, lack of traing in doing so
GREAT WORK ENVIROMENT, PLENTY OF CLASSES TO TAKE AND LOTS OF CROSS TRAING.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY GOOD SITE
Crew Leader (Former Employee), Columbus, GAMay 20, 2014
VERY GOOD JOB JUST TIME TO MOVE ON THE MORE OPPORTUNITY MAINTAIN & REPAIRED THE CITY SEWER SYSTEM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bullies, lack of leadership and politics
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Columbus, GAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: real life mindset- the true boss was understanding, supportive and kind
Cons: awful co worker, bullying, lack of leadership, power hungry unorganized, mean, unprofessional, self appointed "boss" worker made it a hostile environment
I experienced bullying in the work place and nothing was done about it. I took continuous detailed record but it seemed to get the person a slap on the wrist and they were able to continue with harassing. There was a lack of professionalism too. The correct leaders were not allowed to lead. Felt like people were too afraid to step on certain toes to – more... do the right thing.
Worst job experience in my life. Learned how NOT to run a dept by observing what was happening. And learned what a leader shouldn't do. Thinking back on it raises my anxiety level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of my time
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), MCPDecember 21, 2013
Pros: a few great coworkers, not many
Cons: everything else
A few great co-workers..thats the only reason I stayed 3 months....Prior to starting work here, I had almost 2 years experience as a Correctional Officer in NC, already graduated from an academy, this place was making me go to another JUST to be allowed to have handcuffs on my person.

Told me I was going to have to be pepper sprayed at the academy – more... but there is no pepper spray usage at the prison.. strange.

Management was horrible from top to bottom. The warden was clueless. I asked my immediate supervisor at least 4 times for extra uniforms (WAS ONLY ASSIGNED ONE). Was told it was my place to get my own uniforms.

Inmates were allowed to smoke and every dorm had DIRECTV with an HD tv. Unbelievable.

I was placed on the night shift and the only fights I had to observe or problems was between officers.

I said Goodbye. Walked out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good while it lasted
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), Columbus, GADecember 16, 2013
At the time was not a bad place to work. Management was ajoke . There was a lot of favoritism and supervisors did not take care of there subordinates. Had some very great co-worker who watched out for each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with great people.
Laborer (Current Employee), columbus gaSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: no o/t
A typical day consist of hard work, great people, and dealing with weather
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, knowledge, some fun
Sales Associate/Junior Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Columbus, GASeptember 4, 2013
process business license, answer telephone, maintain file have knowledge of local and state laws. Working at governmet center can be fun, love working with my co-workers. The hrst partf my job is when business wait until the last minute to get there busiess license and the all come in at one time. The ejoyable partabout my job is thatI'm blessed t hve – more... one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Establishment
Public Works (Current Employee), Columbus, GAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: benefits pacakage, my boss
Cons: low starting pay
Overall decent place to start out working if you are looking for a place with great benefits then this will be the place. Very low starting pay for this area and with the extreme workload placed it sometimes can be unbearable. The management at the city level is a bit abrasive otherwise. Outside of that level at local management in each department varies. – more... You have a work load that can be overwhelming. No room for advancement at all. Some employees were good to work around, however there are some indiduals out for themselves and are not a team player. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits/should have stayed
Successfully lead (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJune 29, 2013
Pros: all good
Cons: there are a lot of people to compete with.
Great company to work for and good life balance.Work days where good and the co-workers where good too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Climate due to change in the part of the country I was used to living in.
Stormwater Data Technician--Lead (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJune 18, 2013
Pros: finding problems, solving issues pertaining to the infrastructure of the complete city of columbus ga.
Cons: having to relinquish this position due to family problems in indiana.
Very interesting position, new for my experience and challenging. I was very happy with the learning curve and my ability to adapt to the new environment. My duties consisted of monitoring the storm infrastructure and documenting it for the engineers of the city. I was able to bring my expertise to play due to the lack of experience of my co-workers. – more... Hardest part of this position was organization of areas being studied by city engineers. The most gradifying aspect of this position was finding problems in the infrastructure and pointing them out to the proper persons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with children & parents and keep updated money records
Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus,GAJune 14, 2013
I have shorts meeting every day with my staff,creating weekly and
monthly activity plan and always review how to improve children
safety. Every Monday collect,count and keep record of payments
and delivery to main office. I enjoyed to creat art and handcraft for
children to keep them busy and teach them science.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, critical thinking, fast paced and rewarding work environment
Police Officer (Former Employee), Columbus, GAMay 20, 2013
Pros: length of the shift, compensatory time, having my own patrol vehicle
Cons: slow days in terms of the dispatched emergency call volume, having to go to multiple court hearings on my duty days
As a Police Officer on patrol duty every day was different in terms of the people that I would encounter, my work environment, or a special detail that would take me from my routine duties. Some aspects of the job was routine because of policies and procedures in terms of how things would have to be done. There was always an element of danger and a – more... level of officer safety that made my career exciting. Critical and fast thinking was a must and time was always of the essence in order to complete lengthy incident reports. Making judgment calls on what was ethically, morally right and following laws/policies/procedures. The most difficult part of the job for me was servicing domestic violence situations and incidents that involved juveniles in very sensitive situations. The most enjoyable parts of my career was the bond between my fellow officers, actually making a difference in a victim's life by my help, being able to be an influence/role model to juveniles, and being able to grow in terms of being promoted within an agency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love kids,
Recreation Center Leader, (Part-Time) (Former Employee), Columbus, GAApril 4, 2013
Pros: kids, senior citizens
Cons: not great benefits for part-time employees
Great place to work for a college student. A typical day is going to work at 11:00 am playing bingo with the senior and going to lunch and waiting on the kids to get out at 2:30pm. I love and enjoyed my co-workers. I would love to go back with better benefits.