Find companies:
Columbus Metropolitan Library
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Columbus Metropolitan Library Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be awesome if it were full time
Security Officer (Current Employee), Driving Park BranchSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: great bebefits
Cons: only part time
A typical day at work starts with me doing an interior rounds; while engaging with patrons and at times re-iterate the rules and policies of the library. This is continuous for most of the day. I unlock doors and secure others. I conduct a walk around the exterior and parking lots to ensure no damages or incidence are present. At closing after I or – more... another co-worker has made the final closing announcement; I began a building sweep to ensure all patrons have exited.I then lock doors and escort all staff at same time to cars. After all workers have left the lot; I proceed home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding work environment
Vehicle Operator/Customer service (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 27, 2014
Pros: the library is a wonderful place to work all around.
Cons: job title and department are being dissolved so i must move on.
Able to provide children with the opportunity to learn and grow. On any given day I prep my assigned vehicle (maintenance check) and I gather equipment (computers, scanners, library cards, reciept paper, books and book bags) to visit schools and daycare centers.

Each day I learn something new about ways to help particular children understand letters, – more... words, behaviors, and how to use them together.

The job is minimally supervised. Any issues are texted or e mailed to my direct team lead.

The 'hardest' part of my job is watching the kids that we've grown to know and help move on to the next level of elementary school. The 'most enjoyable' part of the job is watching the kids that we've got to know and help move on to the next level of elementary school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
c
Customer Service Asst (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 25, 2014
Get place to work and good retirement plan. All that you love about a library is the same for working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioFebruary 16, 2014
A typical day at work involved helping people and their children sign up for the summer reading program. i learned social skills and i learned how to work under some pressure. i enjoyed the the managers taught us and treated us. my co-workers were quite relatable. the hardest part of the job was the chaos sometimes. the most enjoyable part was the contact – more... with other people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace helping Kids
Customer Service -Volunteer (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 6, 2014
Helping kids sign up for summer reading program, helping them read and get ready for the next school year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK
Security Specialist (Current Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 26, 2013
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: more pay
GREAT PLACE TO WORK FOLKS AT MY BRANCH HAVE YOUR BACK. TYPICAL DAY IS PRETTY QUIET. GOOD MANAGEMENT HARDEST PART DEALING WITH NOT COMPLAINT CUSTOMERS. BEST DAY SEEING REGULAR CUSTOMERS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, surrounded by information and facinating people
Front Desk Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: feeling part of the community we served
Cons: theft of purses left by customers on tables
Welcoming library customers and issuing library cards to hungry minds I learned how to help customers find information in the library and work with a diverse population of people and cultures. My coworkers were interesting and welcoming.
The hardest part of my job was ibnforming people of their overdue fines sometimes to the point of them not being – more... able to check out the materials they has spenr time selecting.
The most enjoyable part of my job was the people who came in on a regular basis that I became familiar with on a first name basis, the volunteers and having access to a diverse collection of books. I didn't realize fully how awesome CML was until I moved to Arizona, it is one of the best library systems in the country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CML
Application Project Manager (Former Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 11, 2013
Needed managerial improvement, overal nice company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its not very stressfull job
Driver (Current Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 2, 2013
Cons: its hard to take breaks
A typical day is check out truck, then load I get along with the people at the library .branches. Then at the end of the day I unload
and sort the boxes for other drivers to take out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Library with a Heart
Homework Help Center Specialist (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJune 19, 2013
My day is filled with providing assistance and resources for customers of all ages. Enjoy great co-workers that work along side me to bring hope to a diverse community. We develop family, children and teen programs that are fun but resourceful. We also establish relationships with local school administration, provide class visits, and college/career – more... workshops. The most enjoyable part of my day is mentoring children and teens. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning, new experience, and positive challenging environment of work.
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 30, 2012
It is easy to get along and work with my co-workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive and goal oriented.
Coordinator of the Homework Help Center (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 16, 2012
The Columbus Metropolitan library is an excellent place to work. There are many changes happening to modernize it's purpose and become the forefront of information technology.